Umpiring rants ~ receive our scorn

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 70, 71, 72 ... 74, 75, 76  Next
1eyedpie Virgo

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 12:52 am

aus50ford wrote:
3/4 mins earlier, at a ball up, Steele was the last to get up and left the ball in the spot on the ground. That bald head maggot shook his head ‘because he to pick it up’
That decision was a blatant payback

In other words “CORRUPTION at the highest level”

100% correct it happens with 9:27 on the clock the look of disgust on the umps face says it all!

BARRACK HARD!
lazzadesilva Virgo

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 1:11 am

Brown26 wrote:
Fly looked pissed in his press conference though - took all his poise not to walk out and tell them they're all eating shit IMO. mEveryone knows, Lets see what the AFL has to say about it Razz

Yeah right 😛 😝 😜 🤣 😭 😂 lol lol
I could guess accurately but I want to have a good laugh 🤭

lazzadesilva Virgo

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 1:14 am

Mr Miyagi wrote:
Last few seconds, Freo defender had both arms wrapped around Hill holding him , Nicholls front seat view and didn’t pay it — this after umps have been red hot around defenders arms around waist.,

C’mon all you umpire defenders, explain why the above wasn’t paid? Tell us.

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 1:23 am

Just got home, yep robbed for sure.... but we should have delivered a knock out blow well before then.
Super impressed by the effort, great pressure applied.
The third quarter was one of our best for the season. 5.3 and to hold them goal less with great tackling and pressure.
Richards, Sullivan, Harrison, Dean.... getting games into them, exciting times ahead.
Bring on the dogs!

LaurieHolden Aquarius

Floreat Gymnorhina tyrannica

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 7:11 am

The umpire said that the free was for giving the ball to another player.
Section 18.13b cannot apply because this provision refers to open play, which this was not. At best, it could be for 18.13d which refers to time wasting but this conflicts directly with what the umpire said as he gave the free kick against Lachie and because time had already stopped.

The one they referred to on tele was wrong, that is a rule for when the ball is in play. 18.13b

18.13 OTHER A field Umpire shall award a Free Kick against a Player who: (a) Throws the football; (b) hands the football to another Player; (c) whilst in possession of the football, does not bounce or touch the football on the ground at least once every 15 metres, irrespective of whether such Player is running in a straight line or otherwise. For the purposes of this Law, a Player shall be deemed to be in possession of the football during the period when the Player kicks or handballs the football to themself and regains possession without the football touching the ground; (d) engages in Time Wasting; (e) makes unreasonable or unnecessary contact with an injured opposition Player; (f) intentionally lifts a Player from the same Team to interfere with play; (g) engages in misconduct; (h) uses abusive, insulting, threatening or obscene language; or (i) uses an obscene gesture.

https://resources.afl.com.au/afl/document/2022/03/28/6d92ed7c-efc2-44dc-86bc-9fa1d9b338ad/2022-Laws-of-the-Game-Booklet.pdf

Clearly that section refers to the ball being in play, i.e. you can't hand the ball to another player, you have to handball it.
There is actually no rule to state that you must give ball back to umpire after the umpire calls a ball up, the closest rule would be time wasting, but that would require that time be wasted, and none was here because the umpire always takes a few seconds to let players structure up before bouncing anyway.

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 7:29 am

I long for the good old days, when it was at least arguable (howsoever faintly) that a particular season-ending umpiring decision against us might have been correct.
Lone Ranger 

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 7:42 am

No rule broken … wasn’t wasting time and listening to the audio there was no instruction from the umpire to hand him the ball.
Clifton Hill-Billy 

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 8:03 am

Nosferatu Nicholls you cheating flog. The scumpires waited 1 match after the Adelaide game which the rest of the footy world accused them of "gifting" the game to Collingwood to provide the square up and blatantly get Freo back in the game. Only difference is there is an actual rule stating you need to bounce the ball every 15m , there is no rule stating that you must give the ball back to a petulant bald boutso cleftie after he blows his whistle for a ball up

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 8:06 am

Does anybody remember the one when Luke Parker roosted the ball high into the stands one night and nothing was paid.

I think the bigger gaffe on the night was the missed touch ball by IQ I am more infuriated about that.

Look I am happy to give Laura Kane my home Arlo security cameras if that will help, they do run on wifi.

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 9:40 am

remember guys, this the same umpire that had a fan kicked out for calling him a 'bald headed flog'. he is a pompous twit with a massive ego.

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 9:48 am

You've got to admire him - it takes real balls to give a free kick in the goalsquare for no reason - and with no lawful basis - late in a game when the defensive team is struggling so hard to stay in front. It's easy to be a matchwinner if you're Pendlebury or Nick Daicos - it's just so much harder to get the job done when you're not allowed to kick or handball the ball for Freo (no matter how much you might really want to).

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 10:21 am

I'm guessing he asked for the ball?

umpire not handing2.jpg

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 10:25 am

LaurieHolden wrote:
snip see Laurie’s post

Everything Laurie said! A rules obsessed mate is struggling to find the Nicholls rule anywhere. It was pure ego by Nicholls. It swung the momentum and changed the game — check his bank account or house for a new car or TV. We’ll hear crickets from media though, no one wants to lose their AFL perks.

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 10:28 am

aus50ford wrote:
3/4 mins earlier, at a ball up, Steele was the last to get up and left the ball in the spot on the ground. That bald head maggot shook his head ‘because he to pick it up’
That decision was a blatant payback

In other words “CORRUPTION at the highest level”

You may be right. Freo player did this too. One must go to one knee, avoid eye contact because mere plebs have no right to look at a god, and hand the ball back with a “Your ball, your royal highness majesty.”
lazzadesilva Virgo

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 10:36 am

You've got to admire him - it takes real balls to give a free kick in the goalsquare for no reason - and with no lawful basis - late in a game when the defensive team is struggling so hard to stay in front. It's easy to be a matchwinner if you're Pendlebury or Nick Daicos - it's just so much harder to get the job done when you're not allowed to kick or handball the ball for Freo (no matter how much you might really want to).

Takes balls to show the entire football world that you are just a dipshit umpire with an ego 10 times bigger than any other maggot. I honestly reckon he wanted to look at his own work later on and enjoy the publicity and fame he created while playing with his hands. He would have been in his element.🥹

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 70, 71, 72 ... 74, 75, 76  Next
Page 71 of 76