Ashes Trophy

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Sports Bar

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:32 pm
Post subject: Ashes TrophyReply with quote

What are your thoughts about the Ashes urn being kept in England, no matter who wins the series ?

I have my own thoughts, and will send them to Kristin to post after a while, but would be interested to hear other opinions first.

Also, I'd be happy to be a moderator, after JLC, if needed.

GO THE MIGHTY WOODSMEN !! ALL THE WAY IN 2003 AND BEYOND !!!!
Kristin5 Taurus

Fiery Redhead

PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2002 4:31 am

I think the Ashes urn should be given to Australia (um...sorry, freudian slip, I meant the victor, of course! ) at the end of every series. So the urn can be held aloft by the winning captain - what's the point in playing for it if you don't get the trophy anyway? And the Ashes urn is only collecting dust in the cabinet at Lord's - what's that achieving?

"I'm sure people see me as a screaming redhead with a big pair of boobs, but I like to think I've got things to say." Geri Halliwell, former member of the Spice Girls
couragous cloke Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2002 4:01 pm

arrrrrr, let em have there moments guys! they need something for hope!

footy ROX!
MrsTarrant Sagittarius

I love you Chrissy Tarrant you rock!

PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2002 5:32 pm

I think it's ridiculous that the Ashes urn is kept in England no matter who wins! What's the point of even having it? Crazy stuff!

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2002 5:33 am

The contest for the Ashes is our most famous and important rivalry. This has been achieved without the Ashes ever coming to our shores. Even at an invincible 3-0 up, Boxing Day will see a full house at the Gee, and pretty much the same for the second day. This, despite the fact that the Ashes always remain in England.

My point is, the location of the Ashes does not detract from the contest. In fact, it may well have contributed to its prominence in our national consciousness.

Rule 1. Barrack for Collingwood
Rule 2. See rule 1.
Rule 3. There is no rule 3.

CARN DE PIES!
molloymagic Aquarius

*Thanks 4 the great memorys Jarrod!**miss ya*

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2002 5:09 pm

let them keep it,i have seen it at the lord's cricket ground in '99. It looks cool but kinda small*rofwl*. The people at the ground(who took us on the tour) said 'here is the ashes trophy,now you may look at it but to all the australians here you can't take it'. We all took it pretty well*s*. I say let them laugh!!!!!!. We all know who is the actual winner8

Jarrod Molloy RULES!!!!
*2003:The injury free season for Molloy!!*
*2002 Joint V.C*

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2002 6:50 pm

I reckon the Ashes urn stuff is a big non-issue. Who cares ... really ? The replica urn is a farce. You can see what respect Steve Waugh has for it. Absolutely none.

My suggestion is to create a big trophy or shield that the skipper can hold aloft and the team be photographed with. It could be named the Bradman/Grace Shield, Cup or Trophy after, arguably, the two most high profile Ashes cricketers.

The ashes came about when a bail was burned and put in a small urn to signify the 'death of English cricket', way back. It was never intended to be a reward or the prize for a series win.

Who needs possesion of 'the ashes' to show that either Country won a series ?

Keep the original Ashes at Lord's. I have no problem with that.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2002 11:42 am

"The ashes came about when a bail was burned and put in a small urn to signify the 'death of English cricket', way back"

Well, 'way back' was 1882 and it was the first time Australia beat England in England.

The Test was at The Oval on August 28 and 29. Australia made only 63 in the first innings but managed to stay in the match with an outstanding bowling performance from Fred 'the Demon' Spofforth who took 7 wickets.

The Aussies did marginally better in their second innings, compiling 122. This left England needing just 85 to win.

I could write a long account of what was to follow but suffice to say, 'the Demon' took another 7 and Australia won by 7 runs !!
The Ashes came into being as a result of this match. The following Saturday the Sporting Times published a mock obituary of English cricket which concluded with the words 'The body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia.'

Spofforth was the first bowler to take 14 wickets in a Test. He was also the first to take 13 (including a hat trick)in 1878/9 in Melbourne.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2022 6:41 am

20 years ago. When this was Nick's Cricket Board.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2022 7:58 am

I like the idea of a trophy Donny, maybe the Warne/Gatting trophy?
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Sports Bar All times are GMT + 11 Hours