What made you sad today?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 53, 54, 55 ... 68, 69, 70  Next

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2020 10:19 pm

It sure is mate, xxx cheers

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2020 9:02 pm

Rod and his sisters let me take a turn to visit today, I spent 2 hours with my FIL, it was a shock to see him, I had a garden visit with him just 2 weeks ago, he was walking and knocked back the 2 jim Beams I gave him. His remaining kidney is at 30%, and he looked jaundiced to me so I guess his liver is struggling too. 90 is a good age I know, but still.. if this is it at least I got to say goodbye. I made him laugh, talking about his pain in the butt missus, and I told him the doggies beat the Maggie’s in the grand final! His only question, how did Buckley play! He says I always liked Buckley, damn good player! Cheers Bill, your one in a million.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2020 12:37 pm

Took Mum out from her Aged Care Facility for coffee this morning before going to work this arvo.

Wow, the memory ( as you’d expect with Alzheimer’s) is getting worse. She forgot Mrs WPT & I took her out Monday week ago ( although she recalled she had some calamari but was unable to contextualise it) she remembered Mrs WPT taking her to get her hair done last Saturday but didn’t recall that I took her to get a “facial” two days beforehand.

It’s a terrible affliction. Hard seeing ur Mum decline like that. At the same time she’s still got some things intact and can talk about a lot of things but she doesn’t want to paint ( she was a pretty good painter) still does some crochet 🧶 I think she’s forgotten how to knit.

When we took her out for lunch / coffee nearly two weeks ago she wanted to take some plant cuttings from the cafe’s many indoor plants. Of course I was oblivious to most of this sort of rushing ahead to pay so Mrs WPT had to keep on distracting her as she was trying to rip most of the plant out & got extremely frustrated with Mrs WPT trying to distract and trying to move her on in the busy cafe: A Ruth Cracknell moment from “Mother and Son”

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2020 10:36 pm

My nan when she moved out for a few months told us we could not throw out the bookcases in the back room because Grandpa bought them and we can’t get rid of anything he bought. When she came back she’s complaining about those bookcases saying they were never there before she left...

However, she is complaining that we got rid of a green bookcase. In the 34 years I’ve been alive I’ve never seen a green bookcase in her house yet shes adamant there was and we threw it out.

She’s probably at the stage she should be in a home but that will be an impossible task.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2021 8:55 am

I walked down to the Town Beach this morning and had a swim. Yesterday it was chockers with campers, 2/3 of those have now left and most of the rest were packing up.

Yesterday you couldn't get a parking spot in the main street, this morning you could fire a cannon up there.

The economy of the town relies on the tourist trade, so sad to see.

At least the population is increasing, demand for houses is exceeding supply as more people seek to escape Stalag Melbourne.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 2:33 pm

An update on the crazy old woman, had all the assessments done via Telehealth over the last week.

She’s still trying to tell them she cooks, cleans, does her own washing and showers herself and needs no help...

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 8:04 pm

sounds like a husband

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2021 8:41 am

eddiesmith wrote:
An update on the crazy old woman, had all the assessments done via Telehealth over the last week.

She’s still trying to tell them she cooks, cleans, does her own washing and showers herself and needs no help...

So why are you getting her assessed when she’s so capable and competent? 😉

My Mum told Mrs WPT she had millions 😂😂😱. Mind you we just change the subject & she doesn’t remember what was just said. The memory is going south rapidly which in some ways is a good thing but in others sad. It is what it is.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2021 8:42 am

sounds like a husband

😂😂😂

I resemble that remark. Have you been talking to Mrs WPT?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2021 10:14 am

I think we married the same man!

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2021 11:21 am

Wait, are you Mrs WPT? Mrs W... TP? 🤔

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2021 12:14 pm

LOL!!

i dont do men in lycra!!

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2021 12:21 pm

LOL!!

i dont do men in lycra!!

I actually LOL'd. Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Razz

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pc1am3KyYgA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 3:12 pm

LOL!!

i dont do men in lycra!!

You don’t have to wear Lycra 😉 Razz

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 3:14 pm

The family in Tullamarine: hugely sad and distressing.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 53, 54, 55 ... 68, 69, 70  Next
Page 54 of 70