Coronavirus (COVID-19) Pandemic

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 107, 108, 109 ... 250, 251, 252  Next

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:30 pm

Wokko wrote:
https://disrn.com/news/coalition-of-small-us-businesses-sues-china-for-8-trillion-for-coronavirus-cover-up?fbclid=IwAR3jMnmB07b9GYe9gTjHRWVoSeRMyBJ8lgtViUbD_X3znkWoFi5WXIhfcOI

i hope they succeed!

Me too!!!!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:28 pm

But why visit your mum? To deliver her some groceries? You could be endangering her life!

Re. groceries, please everyone tell us what your supermarket shopping experience is like now. What times are you shopping and is it busy?

I shop at all different hours depending on what I need. I have been doing the weekly shop for my grandmother and aunt who are self isolating together. We drop the groceries off, then step back and they take them in and leave the money on a table outside then we chat through the door.

So today I did their shop, it was busy but not too bad, then on the way home stopped elsewhere to do my own shopping, got to the checkout and there were lines everywhere and whilst I was waiting at the checkout I looked to the entry and it was out the door as they had reached capacity. By the time I left there was probably at least 20+ waiting just to get inside the supermarket, timed that trip to perfection! That was about 4:30.

As TP said, toilet paper seems to be back, except for Coles seems a bit rare so far but Woolies has heaps in each store I've been too, but they are only selling smaller packets. Saw people leaving the local IGA with the big packets today but we already got some from there on Monday.

Now supermarkets are back to 10pm closing, I've found going after 9 is good. They had no hand soap the other night, but then I saw the trolley had a box of it so kindly asked one of the workers if I could have some and he opened the box for me.

The biggest thing I'm finding with the items in short supply is they will sometimes have stuff, but its limited so if you have a preferred brand or flavour its luck of the draw really.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:11 am

Tucker with a great take as usual.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HQakEfWC14&feature=emb_logo

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:00 am

eddiesmith wrote:
I shop at all different hours depending on what I need. ...

So today I did their shop, it was busy but not too bad, then on the way home stopped elsewhere to do my own shopping, got to the checkout and there were lines everywhere and whilst I was waiting at the checkout I looked to the entry and it was out the door as they had reached capacity. By the time I left there was probably at least 20+ waiting just to get inside the supermarket, timed that trip to perfection! That was about 4:30.

Now supermarkets are back to 10pm closing, I've found going after 9 is good. ...

The biggest thing I'm finding with the items in short supply is they will sometimes have stuff, but its limited so if you have a preferred brand or flavour its luck of the draw really.

Thanks. It sounds like late afternoon is likely to be bad. Maybe Easter holidays made it worse. It's the checkout that's the big danger. Self-checkout should be quicker, but unless they've closed every second one (which will make it slower) you're standing close to others doing self-checkout.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:06 am

** Now I see this: "A recent study, published in the British Medical Journal, suggested that 78% of people with COVID-19 have no symptoms." Shocked Can it really be that high?...

78% Shocked

The other day, Dr Anthony Fauci from the USA suggested that asymptomatic carriers of the disease could be up to 50%.

If it's 78%, then the true rate is automatically way over 5 times the officially confirmed rate the way US/UK/AU do it. Even if it's 50%, it's way over twice the confirmed rate.

It needs to be 35% and everything else very good for AU's true rate to be just under twice the confirmed rate. That's the reality of the testing.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:07 am

Latest numbers

Confirmed (Deaths) - Recoveries

USA = 435,726 (14,854) - 24,213
Spain = 152,446 (15,238) - 52,165
Italy = 139,715 (17,722) - 26,491
Germany = 113,753 (2,280) - 45,172
France = 112,950 (10,869) - 21,254
China = 81,866 (3,335) - 77,376
Iran = 66,220 (4,110) - 32,309
UK = 60,733 (7,097) - 1,918
Turkey = 38,226 (812) - 1,846
Belgium = 24,983 (2,523) - 5,164
Australia = 6,109 (51) - 2,987

1,538,019 confirmed cases
89,942 deaths
342,835 recoveries

Australia:
- Confirmed cases = 6,109
---- New South Wales = 2,773
---- Victoria = 1,228
---- Queensland = 953
---- Western Australia = 495
---- South Australia = 421
---- Tasmania = 111
---- ACT = 100
---- NT = 28
- Deaths = 51
- Recoveries = 2,987
- Case fatality rate = 0.83%

Active Cases = 1,105,242
- USA = 396,659
- Italy = 95,502
- Spain = 85,043
- France = 80,827
- Germany = 66,301
- UK = 51,718
- Turkey = 35,568
- Iran = 29,801
- Netherlands = 19,116
- Belgium = 17,296
- Australia = 3,071

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:12 am

AUSTRALIA

Date = Confirmed Cases (New Cases) = Percentage of new cases

2/04/2020 = 5,136 (272) = 6%
3/04/2020 = 5,362 (226) = 4%
4/04/2020 = 5,552 (190) = 4%
5/04/2020 = 5,693 (141) = 3%
6/04/2020 = 5,800 (107) = 2%
7/04/2020 = 5,919 (119) = 2%
8/04/2020 = 6,024 (105) = 2%
9/04/2020 = 6,109 (85) = 1%

2,987 recovered, 51 deaths.

Cases doubling every 13 days.

586 cases of community transmission nationwide.

VICTORIA

Date = Confirmed Cases (New Cases) = Percentage of new cases

2/04/2020 = 1,036 (68] = 7%
3/04/2020 = 1,085 (49) = 5%
4/04/2020 = 1,115 (30) = 3%
5/04/2020 = 1,135 (20) = 2%
6/04/2020 = 1,158 (23) = 2%
7/04/2020 = 1,191 (33) = 3%
8/04/2020 = 1,212 (21) = 2%
9/04/2020 = 1,228 (16) = 1%

806 recovered, 12 deaths.

Cases doubling every 12 days in Victoria.

110 cases of community transmission in Victoria.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:47 am

"The World Health Organisation says there’s not enough evidence to say the virus can jump from person to person in small or aerosolised particles. ...

A growing number of scientists, including infectious disease expert Professor Raina MacIntyre and aerosol scientist and WHO advisor Professor Lidia Morawska, now say the risk from aerosols may have been underestimated. Warning signs are piling up, Professor Morawska says - the virus rips through a cruise ship even after passengers are isolated in their cabins, a choir meets in Washington and 45 out of the 60 singers leave the two hour rehearsal infected even though none have symptoms.

“It’s old medical dogma from the 1930s that they only travel a metre,” Professor Morawska said. “But we know more now. We've already shown other viruses like the flu [that mostly] shed in droplets can also spread from breathing. [In a] pandemic, we need to assume the worst."

... Like cigarette smoke, the virus will disperse in open spaces. And, just like smoke, it can build up in enclosed areas without ventilation.

"We don’t know how much you would have to inhale to get infected, the smaller particles at least carry less virus, but it’s possible," she said.

Other experts such as infectious disease physician Associate Professor Sanjaya Senanayake say the virus is unlikely to be spreading frequently in the air. If it were, the shape of the pandemic would likely look different- spreading faster and amongst more people without close contact to known cases.

On paper, early studies into the new virus show mixed results - some found it in the air of hospitals treating patients, some didn’t. Even if the virus stays airborne, that doesn’t necessarily mean it stays infectious, Professor Morawska noted, as all viruses start to die once they leave the body."

https://www.theage.com.au/national/scientists-divided-over-key-coronavirus-question-20200409-p54iot.html

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 2:36 am

eddiesmith wrote:

Now supermarkets are back to 10pm closing, I've found going after 9 is good. ...

Thanks. It sounds like late afternoon is likely to be bad. Maybe Easter holidays made it worse. It's the checkout that's the big danger. Self-checkout should be quicker, but unless they've closed every second one (which will make it slower) you're standing close to others doing self-checkout.

They have shut every second self serve checkout, that line was about 10-12 deep stretching back through the deli! Yeah Easter definitely made it worse especially with tomorrow being a public holiday.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:43 am

The lines are a real hazard. Maybe the express 8-items-and-under checkout?!

Even if people in the line are 1.5m apart (I doubt it, though if they tape crosses on the ground maybe they did measure it), it's not just distance but time. The more time, the greater the distance has to be to be "safe".

Some have suggested they should just have those ticket machines they have at deli counters, etc. You take a number and they call your number over the PA system when it's your turn and they can check you out. Sounds like the best idea.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:08 am

"Canada's Chief Public Health Officer Theresa Tam said the most likely scenarios suggested that between 11,000 and 22,000 people would die.

The projected total infections ranged from 934,000 to 1.9 million.

The officials told a briefing that they expected between 500 and 700 people to die by April 16. The death toll so far is 435, with 18,447 positive diagnoses. Canada has a population of 37.5 million people."

"Trudeau told journalists there would be several waves of the disease.

But he said testing, tracing and social distancing would enable the country to manage each onset while partially reopening some parts of the economy.

"Normality, as it was before, will not come back full-on until we get a vaccine for this, and as you say, that could be a very long way off," Trudeau told journalists in Ottawa.

"We will have to remain vigilant for at least a year," he added in French."

(Fairfax)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:26 am

"In the fight against coronavirus, New Zealand had two key advantages: geography and time.

On February 28, New Zealand confirmed its first case of coronavirus... And on March 29, the country confirmed its first -- and so far, only -- death.

"I think we had a little bit more time to think about it, and we could learn from the experience of China," said Professor Michael Baker, from Otago University's Public Health Department, who helped advise the government on its response.

Baker said he had been "really disappointed" that countries like the US and the UK which had some of the world's top science resources had not fared better than countries like New Zealand which have comparatively limited resources. "We have the same access to the same knowledge as you do -- the whole world has seen this coming, it's like a slow-moving tsunami, it hasn't changed its characteristics at all, and the virus is very stable."

Another thing New Zealand has that is working to its advantage is the relative youth of those who have been infected with coronavirus.

People aged 20 to 29 make up just under 25% of New Zealand's confirmed and probable cases, while those aged 30 to 39 make up 15%.

The reason why young Kiwis may have a higher rate of coronavirus is travel. Just over 40% of New Zealand's cases are still connected with overseas travel. Many young people hurried back to New Zealand after Ardern announced border restrictions.

Baker said that was the "healthy traveler effect.""

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/04/09/asia/new-zealand-lessons-intl-hnk/index.html

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:39 am

On a per capita basis, Australia is still testing more than New Zealand.

https://ourworldindata.org/covid-testing#australia

The CNN article above says NZ has now had 51165 tests.

So...

NZ: 51165 tests, population 4,822,233, 1.06% of population tested.
Vic: 62000 tests, population 6,490,000, 0.96% of population tested.
AU: 330134 tests, population 25,499,884, 1.29% of population tested.

Looks like they have done a huge amount of testing in the last week or so and have overtaken us or soon will.

It's not just tests per capita though. It's also tests per infected... which of course is not properly known. You can look at the percentage of tests that are positive, though... The lower the percentage, the more comprehensive your testing is (as long as you're not wasting them all on rich sports stars and celebrities).

NZ: 51165 tests, 1.06% of population tested, 1.9% positive (992 confirmed cases).
Vic: 62000 tests, 0.96% of population tested, 2.0% positive.
AU: 330134 tests, 1.29% of population tested, 1.8% positive.

Gives same ordering. Cool What about other countries...

UK: 232,708 tests, 0.34% of population (67,886,011) tested, 27.97% positive (65,077 confirmed cases). Evil or Very Mad
US: 2,189,766 tests, 0.66% of population (331,002,651) tested, 20.79% positive (455,243 confirmed cases). Evil or Very Mad

28% and 21% are a %)(*#!! disgrace. They are not testing enough. They need to be testing at least 10 times more. There will be tragedy on a horrific scale. You can fool the people, but you cannot fool COVID-19.

Last edited by K on Fri Apr 10, 2020 7:21 am; edited 3 times in total

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 7:18 am

Boris is out of IC and has been moved back to the ward. Good news.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 7:59 am

eddiesmith wrote:

They have shut every second self serve checkout, that line was about 10-12 deep stretching back through the deli! Yeah Easter definitely made it worse especially with tomorrow being a public holiday.

I wentaround 11am on Tuesday, it was great, I went to the more local store as I wanted to go to bigW too, it’s usually too busy. About 5 last night I popped in To big W for a work thing and it was PACKED in big W, they had the line thing, but were letting everyone in, then I saw all the Easter stuff was half price. $$%^%%$ stupid, I grabbed the memory card and got through the self serve as quick as I could. With mask and gloves On! Saw about 10 dickheads in a court playing footy, the cops were around the corner, I wonder if they caught them.

And this people, is why the draconian measures are necessary! Just do the right thing!

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 107, 108, 109 ... 250, 251, 252  Next
Page 108 of 252