Which opposition leader would have made the best PM?

Which of these would have made the best PM?
Andrew Peacock (Liberal, 1983–1985, 1989–1990)
14%
 14%  [ 1 ]
John Hewson (Liberal, 1990–1994)
42%
 42%  [ 3 ]
Alexander Downer (Liberal, 1994–1995)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Kim Beazley (Labor, 1996–2001, 2005–2006)
14%
 14%  [ 1 ]
Simon Crean (Labor, 2001–2003)
14%
 14%  [ 1 ]
Mark Latham (Labor, 2003–2005)
14%
 14%  [ 1 ]
Brendan Nelson (Liberal, 2007–2008)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 7

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 1:47 pm
Post subject: Which opposition leader would have made the best PM?Reply with quote

While most prime ministers have spent some time as opposition leader, some opposition leaders never get the opportunity to run the country. Which of these party leaders from the last thirty years do you think would have done the best job if given the opportunity? And who would have been an unmitigated disaster?
KenH Gemini

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 2:48 pm

Kim Beazley I think would have been good Crean maybe, glad Latham didn't get up! No for the rest.

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 5:25 pm

He was never opposition leader, but I think Peter Costello would've made a great Prime Minister.

Pity Howard didn't hand over the reigns sooner.

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 5:38 pm

Okay, fess up – who voted for Latho? Laughing

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 5:38 pm

Shame I only get 1 vote.

Didn't know Peacock and what he stood for. My 'Yes' votes would be

Hewson
Beazley
Latham

Downer is a maybe, is an elitist twat and I've heard some bad things about him but he always seemed a really good pollie. One stupid joke cost him the PMship.

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 5:42 pm

I have to admit I voted for Hewson. Really tough choice – none of the three Labor guys inspire confidence (Crean was a pure faction man, more beige even than Shorten; Beazley was okay but uninspiring; and Latham, well, would have at least been interesting in a Donald Trump sort of way). While I'm sure I would have disagreed with a lot of his policies, you hear Hewson speak now and he seems like a really perceptive and intelligent guy; the kind of politician you don't see much of in the major parties nowadays. He's the only one of the seven that really seems prime ministerly in his demeanour (though, like you, I don't really know much about Peacock, Wokko).
regan is true fullback 

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 5:52 pm

Bill Hayden would have been OK, just came to prominence in the wrong era...

bullets we dodged:

Mark Latham, Alexander Downer, Billy Snedden, Gareth Evans.

bullet we didn't dodge:

Tony Abbott

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 7:09 pm

I was in Canberra when Ansett went tits up. Parliament finished early and Qantas was madly trying to get more planes. I was in the Qantas club waiting to come home and they announced the bar would open early and there would be no flight changes as they had to find spots for the Pollies going to SA and WA via Melbourne. I got on the plane about 5 o clock having spent 4 hours at the airport and Meg Lees was taking up seats 1a and 1B with her laptop occupying a seat. I took one look at her and said "Hundreds of people are stranded and would love to be home with the family for the weekend and you have the unmitigated effrontery to occupy a seat that someone could have used" With that Alex Downer who was about 10 rows back stood up and said "well said, privilege comes with responsibility' And when I walked past he shook my hand and the plane passengers less one cheered. One of my work colleagues was flown to Sydney and got home to Melbourne at 11.00 pm and then had to get a taxi to Fern Tree Gully.

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 7:29 pm

You have some good stories Ron

From the selection above, I voted for Hewson. I reckon he had the stuff to be good but his timing was bad.

2nd vote would have gone to Beasley. Smart bloke, heart in right place, just don't know if he had the stones for it.

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 7:59 pm

You have some good stories Ron

From the selection above, I voted for Hewson. I reckon he had the stuff to be good but his timing was bad.

2nd vote would have gone to Beasley. Smart bloke, heart in right place, just don't know if he had the stones for it.

Sort of the opposite of Latham, huge swinging balls but a bit of a dick who acted before he thought. If Labor could've combined Latham and Beazley into one person they'd have one hell of a PM Laughing

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 8:33 pm

That's a scary thought. The best bits of both would make something special but get the blending wrong you'd get something truly frightening. Shocked

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 2:34 am

ronrat wrote:
I was in Canberra when Ansett went tits up. Parliament finished early and Qantas was madly trying to get more planes. I was in the Qantas club waiting to come home and they announced the bar would open early and there would be no flight changes as they had to find spots for the Pollies going to SA and WA via Melbourne. I got on the plane about 5 o clock having spent 4 hours at the airport and Meg Lees was taking up seats 1a and 1B with her laptop occupying a seat. I took one look at her and said "Hundreds of people are stranded and would love to be home with the family for the weekend and you have the unmitigated effrontery to occupy a seat that someone could have used" With that Alex Downer who was about 10 rows back stood up and said "well said, privilege comes with responsibility' And when I walked past he shook my hand and the plane passengers less one cheered. One of my work colleagues was flown to Sydney and got home to Melbourne at 11.00 pm and then had to get a taxi to Fern Tree Gully.

I remember that weekend mate, I too, was holidaying. Had my own Plumbing gig, had the Gold Ansett Credit card and bought everything for the business, getting lots of points.
Lucky for me 'Kel & Sharnee, I'd done the Business Class thing. We got our flight with some pollies on board from the Goldy. Didn't Leyton Hewitt win Wimbledon or the US open or something that weekend... I watched it, early morning, watching the sunrise. Sharnee was 2... she's now the Mum of 2 of my Grandkids. Time flies.

We gotta win the flag!
Pi Gemini

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 3:10 pm

I still remember the John Hewson birthday cake

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WndWM71-jSQ

Laughing

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 3:51 pm

Should Bill Shorten be added to this poll?

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 3:54 pm

In theory, yes, but who'd vote for him?