Post Match. Pies beat Bombers . All comments please.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 14, 15, 16  Next

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:17 pm

Collingwood 10.13.73
Essendon 10.9.69

Goals: De Goey, Cox 2, H-E, Stevo, Sidey, JT, Adams, Checkers 1,

Disposals: Pendles 38, Treloar 30, Crisp 29, Beamer 28, Sidey 24, Flip 26, Grundy 24, Adams 23, Howe 20, Langdon 18, Brown, Moore 16, De Goey 15, Stevo, JT, Maynard, H-E 14, Levi, Varcs 10, Cox 9,

AF points: Pendles 148, Grundy 123, Adams 120, Crisp 116, Treloar 103, Beamer 100, Howe 98,

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:19 pm

Settle people. If we were on the wrong end of that umpiring display we would have embarrassed ourselves much more. They were emotional and rightly so. It wasn’t against Pendles, it was anger against the umpires. We won and we take the 4 points and move on.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:19 pm

derkd wrote:
Roughhead was great .

I think Moore was very good.

Varcoe struggled.

We missed Elliott.

Hoskin-Eliott was alright for first game back.

Pendles brilliant and well deserved winner.

Thomas was poor I think. Really lucky to be holding his spot

fair call on all the above.
but you can add Sidebottom to the last sentence.

and before all the Sidebottom coat tail holders come at me, Thomas kicked a goal too you know.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:21 pm

Settle people. If we were on the wrong end of that umpiring display we would have embarrassed ourselves much more. They were emotional and rightly so. It wasn’t against Pendles, it was anger against the umpires. We won and we take the 4 points and move on.

any chance we get those three again.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:22 pm

derkd wrote:
Roughhead was great .

Varcoe struggled.

We missed Elliott.

Agree

Wonka 

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:22 pm

We were lucky Shiel lacked polish today. I barely saw Merrett.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:23 pm

ronrat wrote:
That DH still booing after Bucks called them out on TV must be proud because now millions know he is a fair dinkum wanker.

They forget they got a bs goal after Langdon was denied a mark and then freed in a 50/50/

Not the greatest performance by the human highlighters.

The umpires were awful and made weird decisions going both ways. However, yes, the stupid Essendon supporters seemed to forget that they were gifted two free goals because of umpires awarding free kicks that weren't there. I think the other from memory was Brodie being awarded against for pushing a player who went to ground in the back!!!! it was BS.

So glad and proud of Bucks for pointing out what shameful behaviour it was!!!!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:25 pm

mattmc33 wrote:
After all the crap Essenscum have done over the last few years, their dickhead fans are the last people that should be booing anyone. What an absolute disgrace. Disgusting. Nathan was spot on. Shame on those pieces of trash for booing one of the best players who has ever played the game.

Anyway. That was a game that was a lot closer than it should have been. Our set shot kicking was deplorable. We could lose a final if that isn’t cleaned up. Other than that, it was another one of those games early in the season that we could easily have lost, but showed enough toughness and composure to get the win. That’s what I’ll take out of it more than anything.

Excellent post, IMHO.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:25 pm

simon tonna wrote:
derkd wrote:
Roughhead was great .

Varcoe struggled.

We missed Elliott.

fair call on all the above.
but you can add Sidebottom to the last sentence.

and before all the Sidebottom coat tail holders come at me, Thomas kicked a goal too you know.

That is just a stupid post. Sidebottom was our second best player to half time. If you couldn’t see that, you should think about following a different sport. What did he have - 18 disposals and 390 metres gained to half time playing as a forward wing, before going back to help out on the ground when the going got harder in defence in the second half? He was close to being in the votes.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:27 pm

ronrat wrote:
They forget they got a bs goal after Langdon was denied a mark and then freed in a 50/50/

Not the greatest performance by the human highlighters.

And that total charity in-the-back free [against Grundy] and goal to Gwelfy in 1st quarter to keep them in the game.

As fans, we need to bank the four points, quietly celebrate, and move on to next week.
The selection committee and brains trust need to analyse why we can't win a centre clearance, that isn't made to look like we're giving birth...
If Wells is fit - pull the trigger and get him in the middle.

Why did any of you think we were going to flog a side that has kicked 100+ points per game for the past few weeks, with relative ease?

Christ, we miss Mayne with his clean hands and vision...

If Elliot happens to be a one week only miss from selected then WHE a certain to hold his spot and I’d be nervous if I was Thomas
He can kick a goal but his quiver doesn’t have too many arrows—trying to outrun a player who is a league speedster

woodys_world69 

srsly we should of been many goals up, the scoreboard flattered essendon.

the amount of shanks we had infront of goal. and brown should of kicked that goal at the end for a 9 point+ win.

Dont get sucked in by the crowd reactions during the game, we also got dud decisions against us

simon tonna wrote:

any chance we get those three again.

They must all be Pies supporters.

Seriously though; most on here are so quick to blame the umpires for every loss but few acknowledge when we get the good end of it. Well I can tell ya; we got it today.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:28 pm

Mr Miyagi wrote:
The Boy Who Cried Wolf wrote:
We didn't deserve to win... very lucky.

Yes we did. We stuck it out, stopped them from getting in front on the scoreboard. We won it.

Exactly!!! Any lesser team would've been run over the top of. Essendon tried admirably for two and a bit quarters and they couldn't do it!!!!
Nearly 

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:28 pm
Post subject: Re: Post Match. Pies beat Bombers . All comments please.Reply with quote

kudos to Josh Thomas. May have gone unnoticed. But when JDG stuck on the bench in final minutes, no one wanted to come off, JT made the team decision. “I’ll cone off, we’re better if he’s on than me’”.

Well done son.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 4 of 16