How a drinker trains for a marathon.

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17  Next

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 11:50 am
Post subject: How a drinker trains for a marathon.Reply with quote

I'm starting this 13 weeks into an 18 week program. Todays the day when things get serious! I'm about to set off on a 30k run @ 5:30/km pace.
How did I prepare myself for today?

Well it started out pretty well, got up yesterday and did the 5km slow jog around the lake, no issues there. Got home and Kelly had the ; mushrooms, beans & egg on toast almost ready. Yumo Smile
Then it was off to the shops, got myself the new asics Kayano 21, very nice, picked up a few things and headed home.
We left home about 12 and headed to the stables to visit Joyous Harmony, here I downed 4 XXXX golds while talking horses with the trainer.
Next stop is Bassendean Oval for the WAFL game.
Straight up to the members and a couple of pints of Millers to wash down my fish 'n chips. Then it's over to the can bar on the hill to catch up with all the crew.
I lose count of how many Carlton Draught cans I knock back... maybe a dozen Confused . A good win to the Black & Whites and we head back home to the Daicos Bar for a few more ales. I think I had 3 or 4 Coopers mild and we order 2 X Family Pizzas, a supreme and an Aussie. 3 or 4 cones of the evil weed have me searching the fridge for chocolate, Bingo! There's a couple of 100gm Chockies, I make short work of those and munch on a Paddlepop for one last bite before crashing around 8pm.

feeling very average this morning, I've had a banana, an Endura hydration drink and plenty of water.

Setting off now, will let you know how I went in about 3 hours
Shocked Shocked

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 12:12 pm

Dude, I like pretty much everything about that training regime except for the running bit. Laughing Laughing Laughing Razz

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 3:18 pm

is he done yet?? been three hours!!

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 3:26 pm

Well, that was brutal Exclamation

I put the hydration belt on, 1 bottle of water and 1 of endura, 1 gel and a dozen sheets of dunny paper. Turned the ipod on and off we go to some AC/DC.
The first 6k's I'm feeling pretty good considering. Heading north along Wanneoo Rd I settle into a nice rhythm, around the 5:10 per k pace, putting some seconds in the 'bank'.
I hit Ocean Reef Rd and head west, my 7th k I slip into the red as I battle a long steady incline. The next 6 k's I'm back in the black as I get a look at the Ocean.
13k's down and I hit Mullaloo beach, this is where I start heading south along a hilly, winding track through the dunes. Plenty of people around and the fresh ocean air gives me a bit of a lift. I stop at a drink fountain at the 16k mark and have the gel.
I get to Hillarys boat harbour, that's 20 clicks down and I'm starting to feel the pinch as I turn East. There's a slight head wind to contend with now as I approach the biggest hill on this journey.
My next k is my slowest, 5:44, which see's me eat into my bank for the 3rd time. To make matters worse, my ipod tells me she's getting low on battery.
Dreadlock Holiday will be one of the last tunes I hear.
I've got 6k's to go, the legs are getting heavy and now every k is in the red. I dig deep and run the 24th, 25th & 26th just under 5:30.
My mind is a little fuzzy as I try to work out if I'm going to finish in 2:45, the calculations tell me I have to pick it up... there's nothing left in the tank.
With 1 k to go I know I'm going to be close but can't muster anything, I'm totally spent.
I stop the clock 30k's in 2 hours 46 minutes, an average pace of 5:32. I'm happy with that.

A nice long shower, plenty of water and about to throw a nice big steak on the barby. First beer for the day isn't far away now Very Happy

That concludes a week that saw me cover 65k's, next week is a recovery week with only 32k's. The longest run is only 14k's.

Stay tuned for further diet and training tips from the Skidmeister Cool

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 3:39 pm

Gees well done! (Dare I ask what the toilet papers for?)

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 8:45 pm

Gees well done! (Dare I ask what the toilet papers for?)

C'mon TP .... a mans had a day on the piss, eaten almost the lot of a supreme family pizza, 200gms of chocolate and an icy pole the day before running 20 miles.... maybe a shit Confused

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 8:46 pm

I had 2 but both were in nicely placed shit houses on the coast so the paper is still in the belt:)

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 9:16 pm

I thought blokes could go all day on 1 shit

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 9:31 pm

I thought blokes could go all day on 1 shit

Gentlemen????

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 9:49 pm

Anyway, back on topic thankyou TP.

I was struggling after that. Drank heaps of water whilst the T-Bone sizzled. Kelly made her absolutely delish beetroot salad. It's got beetroot, spring onions, celery, Boiled egg & mayo.

Cracked my first beer after the feed, halfway through the dismal first quarter. Had nails in that beer. 2nd beer during a very dismal second term... pondering switching over to the cartoon channel and having a snooze at half time.

Big Stretch rocks up with more beer. He's a D's fan (like his Dad), grew up down the road. He knocked on my door one day when he was 15 asking for work experience. He's 28 and running his own little show now.

We're out the back, look in and shit, we've kicked a couple. Anyway the rest is history... how easy is it to digress???

So food this arvo after the barby? A Funoicken amazing spag bog that Kelly whipped up, very nice.

On top of that, well, the beers started tasting better after half time... maybe 10 or 11 ??? not a lot. A few more nicely packed billies, 4 or 5 .... or 6 or 7 .... maybe another one before I hit the hay. It's not even 7 here but i'm not far out of bed. Might finish up with a Milo.

3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 9:56 pm

Thanks for that Skids.
Your run through nth Perth brought back some memories.
I went to live in Perth (&WA) for a couple of years back in the late 70's early 80's (Hilary's boat harbour was just that, a jetty with a few sjops nearby).
(Bassendean, Sth Perth, Freo Broom Karratha etc).
WOW have those places changed
ALL the houses I lived in and pubs I hung out at are gone (mostly Crying or Very sad/ Cool

...In 79 bought 5 acres, 2 k's from Broom for $200... and sold the lot a few later for 7k... and thought I got a good deal.
My brother tells me 3 years ago those blocks (25 or so) are worth on average 1.5 million each!
Crying or Very sad Embarassed

Good luck with the next run.

Last edited by 3.14159 on Sun May 31, 2015 10:00 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 9:58 pm

Tell me more about your family.
3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 10:09 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 11:25 pm

5 acres in Broome. Mate, that'd be 10's of millions now.

Had the Milo, a paddlepop, 2 home made shortbread biscuits and a little bag of chips.

In bed now, goodnight.

Nick - Pie Man 

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 8:27 pm

Holy crap

I walked forty today. Two less than a marathon. And I am completely ruined. How anyone can run that distance is beyond me

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 1 of 17