Rookie 2: Welcome to Pies - Brenden Abbott (Claremont)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Draft & Trade Moot (DTM) forum

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:12 am
Post subject: Rookie 2: Welcome to Pies - Brenden Abbott (Claremont)Reply with quote

Played 15 senior matches for Claremont in the WAFL this year. Kicked 18 goals playing predominantly up forward, including a bag of five and a bag of four. Strong-bodied aggressive forward with a ferocious attack on the ball. He's capable of taking a strong mark and is a thumping left-foot kick. Would make a bullocking midfielder at AFL level but there are question marks over his fitness and discipline. However, he did apply himself well at Claremont this season.

Originally from Albany, WA. Abbott is a powerful, physical half-back flanker with explosive speed, strength and agility. He has a fantastic vertical leap and a hard-nosed approach to winning the contested ball. Abbott played just seven games for Claremont in the WAFL colts competition and one match for the WA U18s before heading home to Albany for personal reasons. Has the ability to play on taller opponents due to his impressive vertical leap. Ran a lightning quick 2.87s in the 20m sprint at the state combine, making him rare in this category.

Former club: Claremont
Height: 186cm
Weight: 92kg
Position: Defender

Video: http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/brenden-abbott

Last edited by Joel on Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:16 am; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:15 am

Has the same name as the Postcard Bandit: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brenden_Abbott (surely a nickname in that?).

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:18 am

Hope the personal reasons he headed home to Albany are in the past and he doesnt do a Beames on us.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:19 am

Thanks for the really quick posts Joel. Really appreciated.

I think this guy is quite a hard nut if I recall my reading just the other day.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:20 am

Hope the personal reasons he headed home to Albany are in the past and he doesnt do a Beames on us.

No chance he's going to Brisbane. Wink

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:21 am

No worries wpt, seems Dave prefers Bigfooty these days, so I thought we should get something on here in his absence.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:32 am

The Collingwood Football Club website has a photo of Abbott under the spiel on Mantiet.

Hopefully rectified soon.

Fatui Attata 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:32 am

Nice gamble selection!! Looking at his footage, he is that mid sized goalkicker we can certainly do with. Like the hardness. Hopefully he settles well and is inspired by the opportunity. Heaps of upside!

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:33 am

Welcome aboard, seems we're obsessed with aggressive HF/mid/HB types with good skills.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:35 am

Fatui Attata wrote:
Nice gamble selection!! Looking at his footage, he is that mid sized goalkicker we can certainly do with. Like the hardness. Hopefully he settles well and is inspired by the opportunity. Heaps of upside!

It is a risky selection but well worth it I reckon. He needs to feel comfortable and settled and the club has a responsibility to do just that.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:37 am

Welcome aboard, seems we're obsessed with aggressive HF/mid/HB types with good skills.

Yeah, you are right Daz.

A tad surprised they didn't go for at least one tall ruckman type but then again, maybe the selections just weren't there OR they feel quite content with the developing talls we currently have.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:39 am

He seems a beast. At 186 cms and 92 ks he's powerfully built. If we can get him super fit he could be a steal. Another tough mid sized player with excellent kicking skills. I like.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:46 am

Yeah, you are right Daz.

A tad surprised they didn't go for at least one tall ruckman type but then again, maybe the selections just weren't there OR they feel quite content with the developing talls we currently have.

We did...Mason Cox.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:49 am

Joel wrote:

Yeah, you are right Daz.

We did...Mason Cox.

Fair enough but I meant someone who doesn't have to learn our game from scratch.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:58 am

His kicking under pressure looks the goods.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Draft & Trade Moot (DTM) forum All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5