Farewell #13 Taylor Adams

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 85, 86, 87 ... 121, 122, 123  Next
Greeny2968 

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:08 pm

Great gutsy aggressive player, and stands up for his mates. But his disposal is consistently bad.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:09 pm

Fair dinkum, Shane O'Bree MKII, a goer of the highest order, but that disposal

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:10 pm

You flogs who criticise him will be praising him next weeek. Get a life.

Possibly, but if I do it'll be because he changes his game. He really was disastrous today on many occasions, and it is structural. He has courage and commitment and he should be a leader, but it is hard to be a leader when you repeatedly create easy turnovers and goals for the opposition.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:11 pm

He had a bad day out along with a few others.
BUNG Capricorn

pies forever

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:15 pm

i used to call possum, " turnover toovey ".........these days its " turnover taylor "....dunno how he gets a game each week, disposals are shocking

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:16 pm

He's a poor kick, they said it before GWS drafted him, they said it when we drafted him, the bloke is just an average kick.....the real issue is that he gets it such potentially damaging positions for either team, hit the target and we get a goal, miss and they take it down the other end.....

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:17 pm

He is an 80s standard footballer, in a modern day scenario. It's just not working.
kymbo5@yahoo.com.au 

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:20 pm

Far too many being far too harsh on Tay.

There is truth in the fact that his disposal by foot is not his best suit but he plays the team game, knows how to get the footy and knows how to tackle and run hard both defensively and offensively.

We'd be worse off without him.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:25 pm

^ has many good qualities, but he's like a meat cleaver in an operating theatre. He really did cost us that game today. Several times when we had them on the ropes he launched a haymaker that knocked us out.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:27 pm

He wasn't alone.

Do the names Grundy and Pendlebury ring any bells ? Both under 60% DE.

Also Crocker, Greenwood, Brown and Smith.

Haff Capricorn

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:28 pm

Sigh. Having calmed down, he's disposal still cost us the game. He would have been directly involved in 4 goals against from his turn overs in the back half. He had mates, our mids stopped running which is understandable after the trip back from Perth but when your season is on the line you have to find something.
Booking a holiday in September.

jatsad 

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:34 pm

Let's get something straight.

It wasn't only Adams who butchered the ball and cost us goals.

Smith - 3 goals
Sidebottom - 1 goal
Crisp - 1 goal.

There is a problem with ball in hand when the pressure is really on and that today was glaring.

I tried very hard not to mention the umpires, but I can't help myself. Apart from missing a number of frees, there were 3 that I remember that were softer than melted butter that directly contributed to goals.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:40 pm

Any backman in modern footy will give up a goal here and there - it just goes with the territory of essaying difficult skills under great pressure. Smith and Adams today, though, were both a bit nightmarish. Smith is usually ok, but it's Adams that really worries me as it seems very structural. For all his excellent qualities, where do you play a footballer who cannot kick the ball with reasonable accuracy ?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:41 pm

jatsad wrote:
Let's get something straight.

It wasn't only Adams who butchered the ball and cost us goals.

Smith - 3 goals
Sidebottom - 1 goal
Crisp - 1 goal.

There is a problem with ball in hand when the pressure is really on and that today was glaring.

I tried very hard not to mention the umpires, but I can't help myself. Apart from missing a number of frees, there were 3 that I remember that were softer than melted butter that directly contributed to goals.

Any backman in modern footy will give up a goal here and there - it just goes with the territory of essaying difficult skills under great pressure. Smith and Adams today, though, were both a bit nightmarish. Smith is usually ok, but it's Adams that really worries me as it seems very structural. For all his excellent qualities, where do you play a footballer who cannot kick the ball with reasonable accuracy ?

In the VFL for 45K a year......

sportingtragic 

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:45 pm

You flogs who criticise him will be praising him next weeek. Get a life.

Yeah, that's what football is pal. Perform well & you get credit. If you don't, you get held accountable. If you continue to make the same errors game after game, your worth and future get questioned. Simples.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 85, 86, 87 ... 121, 122, 123  Next
Page 86 of 123