Doing a good deed

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2024 4:17 pm

Goodonya.

I couldn't tell you the names of more than 3 people in my court and barely speak to any of them except in passing to say G'Day, but the bloke next door knows everyone in the area, names, families, life stories, everything. Mum refuses to tell him anything, she reckons he's a sticky beak. Razz

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2024 5:00 pm

^^Ha ha, I've been here 17 years and my neighbor 2 doors down has been here since they built and they know everything about everyone and who's having affairs, etc. I make sure the GF has a remote key to drive straight into the garage so the Mrs doesn't find out. Razz Our street/court (we are the corner house entering the court) is pretty friendly. Most look out for everyone, we are not in each other's faces but we say hello, check mailboxes, put out bins, and bring them in. Someone is away we mow lawns, park cars in driveways so it looks like someone is home.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2024 5:57 am

Winter and the holidays means means I haven't seen as many neighbours of late, but I did check in on one of the oldies. Given how cold it is you can see why everyone here goes away during winter hols.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2024 1:52 pm

An update on Lachie. We’ve had to make the call and it’s really hard as he’s still happy. The skin where the cyst is has died and it’s time.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2024 12:32 am

An update on Lachie. We’ve had to make the call and it’s really hard as he’s still happy. The skin where the cyst is has died and it’s time.

Oh honey I’m so so sorry.
Hug him til the end, you both deserve it.

Thinking of you all xxx

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2024 6:04 am

^Oh damn. Sorry to hear, Culprit. It's hard to lose an old mate like that Sad

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2024 7:12 pm

Bugger. Sorry Culprit.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2024 4:21 am

Speaking of canine companions, we're still walking our neighbour's cocker. Just booked her in for Sunday when her owner's home. She's a little doll, but by gawd she can pull the lead for a little thing when she sees a squirrel!

Speaking of squirrels, I still automatically call them 'possums'! I guess that's because they occupy the same environmental niche and I've filed them accordingly. They are pretty funny things; our resident squirrel even buried hazel nuts (?) in our pot plants this year. Why hack through all that grass for a feed when you dig up a soft potting mix instead?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2024 5:47 pm

Thank you for your thoughts. It's been a real struggle without my little man. He's been by my side for nearly 15 years. I am back home from camping down at Rye and it's just little things that hit me. Leaving the door open a bit so he could stick his nose in the gap and open the door. He always sat on the front porch and watched the world go by and of course, barked at some people/dogs who dared to walk past his house. Little moments have had me in tears.
KenH Gemini

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2024 7:10 pm

So sorry to hear Culprit, very sad to lose our precious pets.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2024 2:45 pm

aww, mate, what a cutie xxx hugs

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2024 6:03 pm

aww, mate, what a cutie xxx hugs
Thank You. It's been a struggle.
I've cried a bit in the past week as it's just not the same. Walking without him got to me. I've never been like this with any other dog I've owned. I will be OK, it will just take time.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2024 6:25 pm

Clearly you bonded with him strongly so it's like losing a family member.

Take it easy mate, you gonna get another dog?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2024 3:53 pm

Back to the good deeds briefly.

Went to Royal Bundoora after lunch to do some practice on the driving range. I think I cracked the code Very Happy Got the driver going long and straight. Stance and swing, everything the same as what I'd been doing but I just relaxed my grip and wrists and put less power in the swing and it worked. Very Happy

So heading back to the ute and putting the clubs back in, there's a voice called out, "Hey mate, can you give us a lift?"

Looked over and there's 2 old blokes with their golf buggy on their trailer. Only problem, when they'd driven it on, the front wheels had gone right over the guard rail.

After 10 minutes of dicking around with a jack and trying to reverse it back over the rail, we resorted to brute force.

I got in the front where I could get a decent grip, they got a wheel each, and just lifted over the rail back into the trailer.

Of course no good deed goes unpunished. As soon as we got it in properly, it started rolling toward the back of the trailer. I leaned forward to try to grab the front and stop it rolling not realising it's a tilt trailer and as soon as the buggy got to the back, the front of the trailer tipped up, the rail hit me in the guts and I sprawled face first into the fkn trailer. Embarassed Mad

Anyway, no damage done, only bruised pride. After checking I was OK they both thanked me profusely and I left.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2024 4:02 pm

^^Swing good, lift bad. Laughing Laughing

Page 6 of 8