Pre Qualifying Final. Pies v. Cats. All comments please.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:59 pm

Cam Guthrie out for the Cats is a big out: underrated player.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:21 pm

I reckon we'll smash the pussies. We have selected a fast and skillful side, with heaps of X factor up forward. It's probably the first time ever, we've gone into a game with a fit and an in-form Elliott playing alongside JDG, Stephenson and WHE. Pies by 38 points.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:22 pm

When I posted my potential defensive lineup yesterday I formed it on the scenario Roughead would remain forward and Noble would be omitted.

At the end of the exercise I questioned myself whether we could really do without a Noble or Aish.

With us seemingly making the smart decision to return Roughead to defence it makes total sense when you look at the potential match ups that we've retained Noble and omitted both Scharenberg and Madgen.

It comes with a risk attached no doubt but trying to shoehorn a Scharenberg or Madgen into a role against a physically stronger key forward or far more nimble Geelong small would also be a risk.

I like the balance personally.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:24 pm

Personally, I consider your analysis very balanced swoop. Wink
dalyc Scorpio

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:57 pm

dalyc wrote:
90 nice wrote:
What’s the go with Will kelly and the 2 Irish lads

One of them kicked Sidey in the balls so eager to play at least

What? nothing? Not even a god damn tennis clap?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:01 am

melliot wrote:
Can't say I'm thrilled with the selections.

Shaz and Madgen. Out. thought one needs to stay.

With both those taller backs out, it'll make it tough should one of the three "talls" not get through the game (thinking of one in particular, but I dare not test the footy gods by mentioning his name Wink ). This may be the biggest gamble that was made at the selection table, although I see the reasoning behind it.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:16 am

We came within a bees dick of winning the flag last year with Howe and Scharenberg as our key defenders. With Roughy and Moore we are in much better shape this year.

With a fit Pendles and Treloar, our midfield is much improved this year, especially given the jump in class from Grundy. As for our forward line, we are without Cox, but we have a fit and in-form Elliott, so we'll have to see how we go.

Overall, I reckon we are in much better shape compared to last year when Howe was rushed back from a shin injury, Treloar was rushed back from double hamstring surgery, and Pendles played with a back injury.

This time around, the players returning from injury seem to be in ship shop shape.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:32 am

Gees Eidey I’m glad I read your post, gives me morde confidence,

I hate playing these bastards,

Woods Capricorn

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:39 am

dalyc wrote:
90 nice wrote:
What’s the go with Will kelly and the 2 Irish lads

One of them kicked Sidey in the balls so eager to play at least

What? nothing? Not even a god damn tennis clap?

They're a morbidly tough mob these Nicksters. If jibes about a popped knacker can't raise a laugh nothing will.

Maybe try a bit of tit or fart humor?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:51 am

Great inclusions. Just hope all three players are fit and raring to go.

Not bothered by Varcoe being dropped as I prefer JT over him.

bokka Cancer

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 1:26 am

Rick wrote:
I’m nervous Wills will be omitted.

He’s been so vital for our midfield, enabling Treloar and Pendles to be more damaging just outside of the pack.

Yeah thank Dog he wasn't omitted, but I think could be a big mistake leaving Reid out althogh hipefully it will be slippery which will mean the one-tall forward line prob the best option, also Reid could still be used in other finals since his role would be primarily structural to prevent intercept marks so wouldn't have to hit great form right away to be effective.
Not true of Wells who has to get possies/goals to justify his inclusion so might be too late for Wells now.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22
Page 22 of 22