Boycott round

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 11:07 pm

Presti35 wrote:
Again, how will you get the message through to everyone?

Out of 40,000 to 50,000 people that will be at Marvel Stadium, how many are going to care about this?

Has anyone actually witnessed a fan ejection?

More than enough protests and social action campaigns have been launched through the various social media platforms (facebook, twitter, instagram) and are probably the easiest and most effective way of engaging people.

Fan forums like this one are another

Talk back radio

Launch a website

Engage with fans at stadiums

We would need an action group with enough know how and resources to launch a mass protest.

I'm sick to death of being dictated to by a corrupt organisation that only cares about $$$ and (not us - the fans). We make the game. It belongs to us - not Kim Jong Gil and his merry band of circle jerkers.

We're told when to smile, when to cheer, when to dance, when to hug, when to kiss. We're told that gambling is wrong but subjected to gambling ads. If we don't like someone in the audience then we can dob them in. We're told that alcohol is fueling violence but subjected to its advertising for 2 and a half hours. We have cops and security looking out for any unruly behaviour as well as forced fan evictions from stadiums for anyone cheering above a certain level.

If that's not enough to make you want to lose your sh*t then I don't know what is.

It's time we told them to go and get f***ed and make a statement that hits them where it hurts: their pockets!

I'm going to start by not purchasing anymore food or drink at stadiums. I know it's not a lot, but it's a start.
Kill for Collingwood 

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 11:19 pm

Stui Magpie sums it up perfectly for me.
Only have to tolerate the TV verbal diarrhoea but can fix that easily enough.
BT in particular just shits me.

thesoretoothsayer 

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:42 pm

https://wwos.nine.com.au/afl/collingwood-cheer-squad-leader-joffa-corfe-boycott-ultimatum/25c0132a-b46e-40a0-ad0b-624c93420835

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 7:07 pm

Well that does it. I'm with WarrenerraW and Joffa.

The boycott starts today. I'm not going to another game until Kim Jong Gil (nice one WW) apologises to fans.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:42 pm

The AFL denies any crackdown, but I'd personally support one. I don't think I've been to a game of footy without seeing idiot supporters taking it too far. With the rise of fan violence something needs to be done.

I notice that an alcohol ban is not being considered. Something about "pre loading" which is simply countered by not allowing drunks in. I guess the real reason is profits, but there's no doubt it's the single simplest thing that could be done to improve crowd behaviour. I'd be all for it.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:44 pm

BEAMER09 wrote:
I'm for it as they are arrogant and have been for a long time.

I made this suggestion in a thread back in Sept 2009.

A Supporters Association just like the AFLPA...

Like these guys? Learnt they existed this week.

https://www.aflfans.org.au/

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:54 pm

I am with Joffa, maybe potentially target the Collingwood v Richmond Friday night blockbuster as a boycott game. If we can get enough interest through social media it might get a bit of traction, everyone just spread the word.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:06 pm

I've been boycotting the AFL since 2015. Nothing's changed because too many of you continue to go.
tbaker 

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:04 am

Johnno75 wrote:
I am with Joffa, maybe potentially target the Collingwood v Richmond Friday night blockbuster as a boycott game. If we can get enough interest through social media it might get a bit of traction, everyone just spread the word.

Would it not be more logical to target a Collingwood away game, where the club isn't hurt financially?

tbaker 

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:07 am

I've been boycotting the AFL since 2015. Nothing's changed because too many of you continue to go.

Oh shame on us fans who go week in, week out....If we had stopped going then the AFL would be so much better for it....NOT

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:41 am

BEAMER09 wrote:
I'm for it as they are arrogant and have been for a long time.

I made this suggestion in a thread back in Sept 2009.

A Supporters Association just like the AFLPA...

Like these guys? Learnt they existed this week.

https://www.aflfans.org.au/

Yep! This is precisely the reason they exist. They seem like something of a niche outfit at present, but I respect them for getting the ball rolling, and the more supporters join up, the stronger they’ll become.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 11:04 pm

Lots of people getting ejected from the scum v dogs game by the stasi security forces who are literally kicking anyone out for saying or doing anything out of line. kim jong gil must go!

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 11:19 pm

tbaker wrote:
Johnno75 wrote:

Would it not be more logical to target a Collingwood away game, where the club isn't hurt financially?

this!!

i reckon melb collingwood, 10/8 is the best bet (ill be in Cologne, Germany!!)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 11:38 pm

Beware the behavioural awareness officers patrolling a stadium near you!

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2019 12:56 am

Gillon McLachlan Its not your game, its OUR game.
Without us PAYING fans there is NO GAME!
you sir, are a massive FLOG!
Now sit down, shut up, and let us enjoy OUR game!