OMG, I'm offended thread

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:54 pm

Heres how this works: 10 people get outraged over nothing, complain to a company and the company changes their branding. 10,000 people then read about it in the tabloids and get outraged ... over nothing.

(Meanwhile, if anyone denigrates Our Soldiers or Our Flag, the exact same PC gone mad types suddenly get very PC themselves. What a world, eh!)

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:33 pm

How long before someone complains that King size beds are bigger than Queen sized? Surely that's sexist too?

Yes, it reinforces the patriarchy Wink

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 7:45 pm

On topic, the Simpsons apparently will dispense with Apu due to complaints about racial stereotyping.

This is one point of view on that from an Indian Australian

AS a kid in India, I was a big fan of The Simpsons.

It was my introduction to adult humour in a quirky cartoon format that anyone could appreciate. Apu was an especially endearing character and he was Indian! While his accent did sound a bit off, it was refreshing to see a brown character take on a major role in many of the storylines. We followed Apus trajectory through his struggle to reconcile his Indian identity with his American one, his marriage to Manjula, raising seven kids, and the misadventures that come with operating a convenience store in a small town where the locals are always up to various shenanigans.

Only after moving to Sydney at 14 did I see anything sinister in the portrayal of Apu. As the token foreign kid or import at school in inner-west Sydney, my mannerisms and accent made me the target of unforgiving bullies. I was constantly asked to repeat the line thank you, come again. There are no 7-11s in India and the convenience store stereotype didnt even make sense until I realised it was a thing in Western countries.

Worse yet, it wasnt just the Anglo kids who were in on the joke. Other Indian kids, many born here, poked fun at my supposedly Apuesque accent and head wobble. Tragically, they seemed to suffer from an inferiority complex, possibly due to their own experiences of racialised bullying which drove home an implicit message the less Indian you are, the higher your status is in this society.

But I also realised that the bullies engaging in casual racism usually dropped it once their victim stood up to them or showed them skills on the cricket pitch or footy field. While shit-talking is a major sign of disrespect in many cultures, its a way of life in Australia. I began responding to the taunts about Apus lines with an exaggeratedly bogan Yeah moite. Come again, larve. I told the kid who called me a curry muncher that curry was delicious, and he could shove a vegemite sandwich up his arse if he had a problem with spice. The redhead kid who compared my skin-tone to mud was called a sun-dried tomato and that probably did more damage to him than his taunt ever did to me.

Id be lying if I said this attitude put an end to the bullying completely. But it was empowering and far more helpful in my self-development and confidence than if I put my head down and whinged. Or worse yet, ran to the teacher or filed an 18c complaint at the Human Rights Commission every time someone made a wisecrack about my heritage or ethnic stereotypes.

The bullies didnt pick on me because of Apu. They picked on me because I was different. And you can either pretend difference doesnt exist, mope that it does, or own what makes you different as a positive, self-affirming force.

Because if Apu is an offensive stereotype who makes Indians look bad, then what does that say about Scottish groundskeeper Willie or Appalachian hillbilly, Cletus who are both portrayed as unstable buffoons to varying degrees?

Unlike Willie or Cletus, Apus struggles with reconciling his Indianness with his American identity are explored with nuance. Simpsons fans of all backgrounds shed a tear as they watched him sitting on the roof of his store, wistfully singing Who needs the Kwik-e-Mart? I do.

Apu is no buffoon. He is a loyal family man with a successful marriage who balances the responsibilities of a large family with running a successful small business that too in a show which centres around Americas most dysfunctional family. Like the archetypal immigrant to the United States, he came from modest origins to establish himself in a successful new life. With the exception of shoplifting schoolkids and the town robber, he is respected by his community and called upon frequently by the shows protagonist and his family members in some of the most memorable episodes of a series that has been an American cultural icon for decades.

If anything, Apus characterisation is a nod to the perceived positive features of the Indian American community, one of the most financially successful immigrant communities per-capita in that nation. We see a begrudging appreciation for even arranged marriages, which though bizarre and undesirable by Western standards, are statistically more stable and successful on average than love marriages. We see an appreciation for enterprise and the desire to fully integrate into a different society while retaining pride in ones own identity and heritage.

What we dont see is the social justice lefts caricature of minorities as homogenous tribal blobs who are easily offended and thin-skinned.

Sadly, the politically correct campaign to put an end to Apu, driven by Indian American comedian Hari Kondabolu and a legion of mostly upper-class, white social justice progressives, has succeeded. The writers will reportedly write Apu off the show entirely.

Congratulations, snowflakes. You havent just killed off a character beloved by hundreds of millions around the world. Youve killed off an American icon. And you have done Indians around the world no favours by doing that.

Satyajeet Marar is an Indian-born, Sydney-based freelance writer and commentator.

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/rendezview/vale-apu-you-never-offended-me/news-story/4977644fa984e1f8f4f507bd1da0eb61

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:07 pm

Honestly, Im just astonished that The Simpsons is still a thing, let alone has any semblance of cultural relevance. Lost its edge 20 years ago and has just been going through the motions ever since. Im sure it wont outlast Apu by very long.

With the greatest respect to that writers personal experiences and affection for the character, Im sure a lot of Indian viewers disagreed (while maybe a lot found the character amusing). The question, then, of whether such a broad racial stereotype was okay in 2018 was ultimately one for the shows creators, broadcasters and audience to resolve, and not exactly on the cutting edge of free speech issues for mine.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:41 pm

Actually fair call on the Simpsons, I don't think I've watched it for 15 years or more.

It is though an interesting reflection on how times change. The show hasn't largely changed in the past decade or so, yet it's become less relevant and now people are latching onto characters citing offence

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:26 pm

i have never watched a single episode, but the simpson ride at universal in LA is one of the best rides ever!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZr_wxWv2vE

went on it 5 times in a row! hubby lasted for 1!!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:18 pm

Heres how this works: 10 people get outraged over nothing, complain to a company and the company changes their branding. 10,000 people then read about it in the tabloids and get outraged ... over nothing.

(Meanwhile, if anyone denigrates Our Soldiers or Our Flag, the exact same PC gone mad types suddenly get very PC themselves. What a world, eh!)

Nail hit head David.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:02 pm

The Simpsons was at its peak from season 1 to 8 (1989-1997). Had it's good moments for about the next five to six years (1997-2003), but by about season 18 it should have been axed.

I loved the show as a child and still watch it occasionally, but it's painful seeing what it's degenerated into these days.

Are they going after Groundskeeper Willie next because he may offend Scottish people?

Bucks5 Capricorn

Nicky D - Parting the red sea

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:50 pm

http://www.bandt.com.au/marketing/nutri-grain-forced-change-packaging-thanks-8-year-old-girl

At least she didn't have a go at them about changing the tagline "Ironman food" too.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:59 pm

Bucks5 wrote:
http://www.bandt.com.au/marketing/nutri-grain-forced-change-packaging-thanks-8-year-old-girl

At least she didn't have a go at them about changing the tagline "Ironman food" too.

I actually don't have a problem with that. Good on the kid.

thesoretoothsayer 

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 5:55 pm

Claims an Australian University has banned sarcasm. Well done, geniuses.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3515747/Australian-universities-ban-
students-using-words-Mr-Mrs-sportsmanlike.html

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:40 pm

thesoretoothsayer wrote:

They also say this.

The guidelines also state that suggesting Aboriginal people have lived in Australia for 40,000 years 'puts a limit on the occupation of Australia'.

Instead, it is more appropriate to refer to it as 'since the beginning of the Dreaming' because it reflects the beliefs of any Indigenous people that they have always been in Australia.

That would work well for someone studying Archaeology or Anthropology or related subjects. Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:08 pm

thesoretoothsayer wrote:

As crazy as some university policies can be, Id take anything reported in The Daily Mail with a grain of salt. They dont cite in what contexts sarcasm has been banned or why. Reckon it could be a beat-up?

thesoretoothsayer 

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:28 pm

I take pretty much anything with a grain of salt these days hence the "claims".
Seems to originate from the IPA. Read into that what you will.

I found the claim Stui refers to the most disturbing.
This country has one unique culture and it should be respected and celebrated.
However, if we're going to start dismissing science because it clashes with belief then your local priest, rabbi, mullah might wish to make a few suggestions.

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/national/pc-gone-mad-on-campus-the-places-where-sportsmanlike-is-a-dirty-rude/news-story/b88a397eed387d7a936d5528bbe8482d

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:43 pm

^ Whats unclear about that article is what forbids actually means. Is it an advisory guide, or is it mandatory? Are there consequences for not following these guidelines? Do they apply to students, or just staff?

Tabloids love a good PC beat-up, and half the time this stuff is either grossly exaggerated or just plain made up. Of course, it all could be true (once student unions get involved, the skys the limit), but, I dunno theres a bit of boy who cried wolf about this stuff.

Page 2 of 7