Best recruit I've seen in a decade.

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
masoncox 

masoncox

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:12 pm
Post subject: Best recruit I've seen in a decade.Reply with quote

If there is one thing that has stood out this year it is jaidyn Stephenson.
Picked up at 6 in last years national draft it has been a great pick by Hine...and as everyone knows I have bagged Hine for quite a while.
I have just been through the draft history of Stevo.
Slated as a number 1 at the start of last year he slipped down the ladder because of his heart condition
Still a number of scribes ranked him at number 1.
Pendles earlier this year said he was a freak, and I reckon he is!
He has blistering pace, great kick and a good mark.
Josh Fraser who was a pick 1 in 1999 never played a game in the VFL until late in his career. I would be very suprised if Jaidyn ever went south to the VFL. I reckon we have the best player from last years draft.
I always thought Hine picked 3 great players in Pendles, Sidey and Beams.
I now reckon we should add Stevo and yes I know it is early days but I rarely ever talk up players. But I just know that this kid is a freak!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:24 pm

Spent his first year in TAC as a key forward which is where he learnt his tricks around goal. In his second year, they pushed up the the ground as an outside mid. He took a while to come good but his second half of the year was a standout.
Different body shape but I reckon he has the balance, skill, pace and smarts of Peter Matera. That would be a great outcome.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:55 pm

Sidebottom?
masoncox 

masoncox

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:59 pm

Sidebottom?

Yep.
A few posters on Nicks might say no but a lot of footy media commentators would say yes.
leonmagic Pisces

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:28 pm

Pretty stiff on Daisy. Absolute dick these days, but don't forget how good he was with us back in the day. Best first 4/5 years I remember seeing by a draftee for us. There's quite a bit of him in Stephenson too

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:30 pm

Yes, except that a decade is 10 years long and Daisy started 12 years ago.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:54 pm

Yes, except that a decade is 10 years long and Daisy started 12 years ago.
Laughing
masoncox 

masoncox

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:58 pm

leonmagic wrote:
Pretty stiff on Daisy. Absolute dick these days, but don't forget how good he was with us back in the day. Best first 4/5 years I remember seeing by a draftee for us. There's quite a bit of him in Stephenson too

Yes I forgot about Daisy.
In the first GF in 2010 he went hell for leather to win the ball.
He was an absolute champion that year.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 11:00 pm
Post subject: Re: Best recruit I've seen in a decade.Reply with quote

masoncox wrote:
If there is one thing that has stood out this year it is jaidyn Stephenson.
Picked up at 6 in last years national draft it has been a great pick by Hine...and as everyone knows I have bagged Hine for quite a while.
I have just been through the draft history of Stevo.
Slated as a number 1 at the start of last year he slipped down the ladder because of his heart condition
Still a number of scribes ranked him at number 1.
Pendles earlier this year said he was a freak, and I reckon he is!
He has blistering pace, great kick and a good mark.
Josh Fraser who was a pick 1 in 1999 never played a game in the VFL until late in his career. I would be very suprised if Jaidyn ever went south to the VFL. I reckon we have the best player from last years draft.
I always thought Hine picked 3 great players in Pendles, Sidey and Beams.
I now reckon we should add Stevo and yes I know it is early days but I rarely ever talk up players. But I just know that this kid is a freak!

He's had a pretty good start!

Reads it AND gets it, his tackling is strong and he moves like a cat. You might have called it early masoncox, but I think you're on to something Cool

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 12:09 am

To see a guy with genuine leg speed in our team, let alone all the other quality attributes and skills he has is bloody exciting.

Will be a major contender for the Rising Star award.

bally12 Aquarius

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 12:31 am

The kid is a ripper. Genuine pace, but also good endurance.
Can kick it from 50 and good skills as well. Leaving aside the heart issue, the main knock on him was his kicking. If you compare his kicking action from his TAC highlights to what it is now, you can see it's improved markedly to the point it looks pretty smooth.
Re-do the draft right now, and he goes no.1 by a street. I know a lot of Pies fans that have stopped going to the footy these last few years because the Buckley factor. This kid's going to bring all those back and more.

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 12:36 am

leonmagic wrote:

Daisy had only 2 good years (2010-2011)

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 12:39 am

Daisy was a solid contributor during the years of 2006-2009 when he was developing, but he stepped it up to another level in 2010-2011. I thought he was also very good in Buckley's first year as coach.

Wasn't the same player after his ankle troubles.

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 4:04 am

^ When an old, haggard-looking Carlton player ran forward and took a mark in the goal-square at the start of the game against us, I had no idea who it was. The ageing process is an amazing thing...

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 8:27 am

The best thing is he knows how quick he is - he often takes off with someone right on his hammer and keeps running, knowing they won't catch him

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 1 of 11