Pre Match. Magpies v. Bombers - All comments please.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
King Malta Leo

RIP Flip

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:44 pm

Stiff to drop anyone after the performance in Adelaide, unchanged team for me.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:35 pm

please Pies do not let that little grub Josh Green kick a bagful

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 5:24 pm

^ Fantasia will be one of our bigger problems, he's quick and can kick straight. A Job for Murray I recon. If we can win in the midfield and around clearnces it will go along way to winning this match. I just watched a replay of the Crows game and could'nt help but notice how good Thomas was. Clean , hard and some skill in delivering those handballs. If we keep getting games out of josh like this one with Adams coming back we will be a force.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 5:49 pm

Darcy had solid 90 minutes test today

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:03 pm

Well isn't this set up to be a cracker!
Both sides having beaten 2 of the flag favourites, the G will be packed!

Can't wait to get there! See ya next Monday Melbourne.

Skids - get there and get loud for those of us that can't! Razz

Not sure who else noticed this last week, but both ours and Essendon's final score finished on 16.10.106, leading into this game! I wonder if that's ever happened before?

And first time since 2015 that both teams have gone into ANZAC day game, having won the week before. Just a useless stat I thought I'd throw at you...

So yeah, looking forward to this game for the first time in years then.

No changes to the 22 for mine; not one player deserves to be dropped after the result in Adelaide, as it was a complete and total buy-in.

Adams can come back through the VFL like everybody else, and try to actually hit some targets by foot in the process.
He'll be right to go against the Tiggers, as some of you have pointed out, when we swing some changes to avoid soft tissue injuries after the 4 day break.
This will be critical player management, and be executed most scientifically under the circumstances.

Senior players actually having to compete to regain their spot in the 22 after injury, due to the fringe players performing above expectations.
When was the last time we were afforded this luxury? In years gone by we'd have thrown them back in with minimal recovery time, just to field a side!

To be W3/2L after round 5 would have us right in the mix, in what is panning out to be a very even season across the board.
Win ANZAC day and we are back in the eight, where we deserve to be!

Great to see the wheels almost falling off Melbourne and st.Vomit so early in 2018, as I expected them to be around the mark with us; keep up the good work you flogs.

Payback time Pies!

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:04 pm

And another good performance in the ruck / forward role was Sam McLarty
Too early I reckon for Anzac Day but a future Anzac Day mebbee

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:12 pm

Daniher is the one we got to shut down who goes to him? Dunn after his job on Walker? Or does Howe take mark of the year over him?

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:00 pm

3rd degree wrote:
Daniher is the one we got to shut down who goes to him? Or does Howe take mark of the year over him?

Howe could come down from the clouds with the ball, and they'd still pay the mark to Daniher. Confused

Number 35 

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:42 pm

@ mattdally

Mate, Varcoe set up the first 3 goals. He ignited the Storm

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:15 pm

The only change would be Moore in and Langdon out for match up purposes.
Moore would be ideal to play on Daniher and Howe to Stringer.
Dunn or Scharenberg could play 3rd man up role.
If Fantastia plays forward give Varcoe or Crisp that job
But if Moore can't train every season then don't risk him save him for the Tigers game. Sooner or later Moore will be back and rightly so but we need him to play the remainder of the season not just 1 game and then be out again
foreigner Aries

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:20 pm

Quote from the Collingwood website,

"With this in mind, General Manager of Football Geoff Walsh says hamstrung quartet Taylor Adams, Jamie Elliott, Darcy Moore and Josh Smith are all in the frame to return “around the Richmond game”."

So it doesn't seem that any of them will be selected for Anzac day. Most probably we'll go in unchanged.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 10:14 pm

Whichever team doesn't turn up hungry will get pantsed. If both teams show up its anyone's game. Hopefully it's ours.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 10:21 pm

Whichever team doesn't turn up hungry will get pantsed. If both teams show up its anyone's game. Hopefully it's ours.

We will shit it in. Cool

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 10:21 pm

foreigner wrote:
Quote from the Collingwood website,

"With this in mind, General Manager of Football Geoff Walsh says hamstrung quartet Taylor Adams, Jamie Elliott, Darcy Moore and Josh Smith are all in the frame to return “around the Richmond game”."

So it doesn't seem that any of them will be selected for Anzac day. Most probably we'll go in unchanged.

Wells is not on that list.....

LaurieHolden Aquarius

Floreat Gymnorhina tyrannica

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 10:53 pm

Match-ups before romanticism.
Fasolo lacks desperation on the training track let alone in the VFL to make a claim for inclusion in such an important match. He's a downhill skier, lacking second efforts where he goes to ground too often, taking himself out of contests. So leave him to build a case in the VFL for several weeks.

The Bombers present a strong spine with big bodied key position players. First use of the ball out of the middle will be critical. It's going to be a beauty.

Backs ~
Reid goes back to add structure to our back six alongside Howe to combat the 6'6 Stewart and 6'7 Daniher.
Dunn to Hooker. Shaz to Begley. Crisp to Stringer. Langdon and Maynard to the best match-up. Maybe Maynard on Tipungwuti.

Maynard is hanging on to his spot by a thread. He panics under pressure, giving away scragging frees and places teammates under pressure through panicked disposal. More headless displays lacking football nous will see him have a 3 week spell in the 2's to get some well overdue coaching.
I don't see him having the discipline to play a game out on say Stringer but I'll give him one more week.

Mids ~
Murray to Myers, rotate Phillips & Varcoe to Parish & Langford. De Goey, Aish, Treloar on rotation off the half-forward line.

Forwards ~
Thomas to Saad. Stephenson to McGrath, Cox likely matched up by Hartley. Brown to Merrett. Mayne in as a defensive forward.

Followers ~
Sidebottom to Smith. Pendlebury to Heppell. Rotate Treloar, De Goey, Aish off the half forward line.
Grundy and Bellchambers.

Interchange gets rotated as required.

Ins : Mayne gets a call up for Crocker. Offers greater versatility and experience. Has earned his spot.

Keep a winning unit together as much as possible. Keep pressure on to earn spots. And look ahead to the next match in 4 days to bring in fresh players.
Don't risk Adams, Moore, Wells before they're ready. Bring them in for the Tigers.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 3 of 13