Buckley's weekly interview with Gerard Whateley in 2018

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 12:57 am

Well done Bucks!!! Classy, wise and dignified, but defiant and steely. I would imagine that the players would be gratified to know that he has the backs of every one of them, even those that make stupid mistakes.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:49 am

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/buckley-denies-drug-problem-at-magpies-20180830-p500pm.html

"In an at-times testy interview with Gerard Whateley on SEN on Thursday morning ..."

I heard that interview, Bucks was real cool, so dignified, and he put Whateley right back in his box, over sam murray. Gerard went a bridge too far, and Bucks just coldly said, " Mate, to you notice a different atmosphere in this studio now, since you keep at this line ?" Great stuff Bucks, well said. Very Happy

Rd10.1998_11.1#36 

rd10.1998_11.1#36

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:03 am

^ Your Buckley quote is about as accurate as your Kennedy quote i.e. close but no cigar. If youre going to put quotation marks around something -especially in your signature - get it right
Woods Capricorn

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 11:49 am

Was wondering whether last weeks interview was the last for the year given it was the end of the home & away rounds, but Buckley was back on-air this morning.

Topics discussed included:

Tennis and Millman's upset win over Federer;
Finals preparations at Collingwood - really calm at the moment, just professional.
Is Treloar a chance to play this weekend? - definitely a live chance - hell play in Sept, just a matter of when; Buckley doing sprints with him at training; Bringing a long injured player back for finals footy - people like to pontificate without knowing the inner details; Its not about Adam Treloar - weve got what we need with the team that played Freo; VFL side being out of comp makes a difference for players needing match practice - looking at options to replicate match day contest.
Is Rnd 17 against the Eagles relevant? - yes, lessons taken; The Bye - team has handled it well; Not pondering possible Eagles selections too much; The challenges presented by the Eagles - key players and structures;
Varcoe - has enjoyed being back with the team, hes a footballer and hes keen to play
Player movement talks and AFLs proposed anti-tampering rules - need to clarify grey areas but media arent mature enough to deal with the info.
Stephensons Rising Star award - a really impressive young man and a worthy winner who spoke well on the night - hes what we wanna be; the paternalistic relationship that can develop between young players wanting to win the coaches approval.
Buckley and his dad watched VFL together on Fathers Day - footy conversations with dad pointed and robust, but less and less now than during Nathans playing and early coaching days - normal father/son stuff. Reflections on Buckleys first finals game as a player against Eagles in Perth - a lesson in missed opportunity.

Audio podcast: https://player.whooshkaa.com/episode?id=270940
Woods Capricorn

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:38 pm

Topics covered in this mornings interview included:

Remarkable performance of Pies VFL player Alex Woody Woodwood [after returning from his 4th knee reco he polled 16 votes from seven matches in the Liston Trophy - more info here for those interested: http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2018-09-11/woodwards-remarkable-voting-performance ]. Woodward was runner for the Pies AFL team during his recovery and is again now.
Recap on Eagles game - beaten but not bowed and werent as daring as we could have been. Have reviewed lapses with the team and will get it right next time. Individual performances: Varcoe - a stayer and meritorious given the circumstances; Goldsack - Goldy kept a very good player out of the match and Tyson has never not given his best; Mason Cox - for a large part Mason was beaten for his position but has capacity to dust himself off and return to form. Hes feeling it and I dare say youre going to get a response. Wet games over weekend. Pressure was high against Eagles who imposed their style. A marginal game of 16 points.
Eddies outrage at finals fixture - Buckley doesnt agree. The reality of Eddie being a media figure in front of a microphone.
GWS - played well against Sydney, been thereabouts the last few years, and a legitimate challenge.
Toby Greens studs-up fend-off - up to umps to decide, something for AFL to rule on at end of year. Buckley doesnt want to discuss in detail this week (but is quite expansive nevertheless).
Will Josh Kelly play? - he didnt look great - but its finals, he might.
Game against GWS is at our home. Finals are about testing your weak points and belief in each other. Physicality and mentality - sacrifice for team needs 100% or you are beaten.

Audio podcast here: https://player.whooshkaa.com/episode?id=274510
Albert Parker 

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:01 pm

Good summary Woods. It was an interesting discussion as usual. I particularly enjoyed the Woodward perspective.
Woods Capricorn

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:02 am

Topics discussed in this mornings interview (including some pretty hot topics - expect spin-off headlines in other media):

David Kings story that Dustin Martin has a crook knee and Neil Balmes response that its OK - No doubt that well see a fit and charged Martin on Friday night;
Recap on win against GWS - no edge to the day by winning a final but a chance to go deeper, and still finding out who we are as a team;
Reviewing Rnd 19 game against Richmond, dont feel the need to change too much, looking for some tweaks and ripples. Personnel, tactical all worth looking at; There are trends to be found in past encounters but every game stands on its own.
Buckleys reflections on the last time he was involved in a Prelim Final, and handling the J Mac tragedy.
Rejects notion that Pies are similar to the Bulldogs of two years ago, Richmond last year, and Pies of 2007 - have no comparison to Collingwood now, we are unique.
2002 Prelim was the loudest game Buckley played in.
Darcy Moores physical state - Buckley a bit narky on Moores manager Pickering, says he needs to talk with his client more often re his medical status; Decision on Moores selection will be based on whether he says hes right to go and he is an acceptable risk and his selection is better for the team; Similar situation to recent selections of Howe, Goldsack etc - decision to be based on his block of training. Will Sier play? Hes right to go, and hes built for finals.
SANFLs decision on the current 19th player controversy.
Serena Williams controversy - cant believe she hasnt apologised for her behavior, my skin crawls.
Closing remarks re. anticipated crowd numbers at Friday nights Prelim against Richmond.

Audio podcast here: https://player.whooshkaa.com/episode?id=276297

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:13 am

My take re: Darcy? He doesnt want to put his hand up to play. He cant trust his body, especially in an elimination final, and doesnt want to be held responsible if he breaks down and we lose due to lack of rotations. That fair enough, but also unfortunate, too.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:20 am

Was Reid mentioned?
burnsy17 Virgo

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:59 am

My take on Moore is this:

Hes looking for a new home. The knock on him is repetitive injuries. He doesnt want to play because another injury will virtually mean no one will want him.

So he sits out, and at the end of the year accepts a lucrative contract elsewhere that he wouldnt have got had he fallen over again.

Think player Leonard in the NBA...

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 12:28 pm

But do you think he'd want to give up the chance of a premiership?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 12:56 pm

I think he is mentally weak.
Deja Vu 

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:01 pm

I think thats harsh
BBHS Cancer

bbhs

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:16 pm

Mentally weak in the Hamstrings

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:13 pm

I think he is mentally weak.

Excuse me?

You might wish to reconsider your post from the vantage point of being an outsider.

Sheesh Shocked Rolling Eyes

Page 8 of 10