#41 Brody Mihocek

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19  Next
Collingwood 4 eternity 

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:11 pm
Post subject: #41 Brody MihocekReply with quote

https://mobile.twitter.com/CollingwoodFC/status/935027427402588160

With our second selection in the Rookie Draft, it�s a big welcome to Brody Mihocek! A 23-year-old, 192cm defender, Mihocek has made his name with @PortMelbourneFC in recent times #FOREVER

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:18 pm

Really strong finals series for Port last year.

Good size. I think we have been keen on him for a while.
Hopefully he can take the next step up.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:20 pm

While I was reasonably happy with the performance of Schade last year I feel this guy may have been the better option to recruit, as I really liked his performance with Port Melbourne this year. Think we have done well.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Brody has been trying for a while Gets his chance now.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9n30V4fjW5k from a few years ago and last year https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F-e7tpFtZRI
MightyMagpie 

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:39 pm

Brody Mihocek (Port Melbourne)

Position: General Defender
2017 VFL Numbers: Averaged 18 disposals, 9 intercept possessions, 7 marks (4 intercept), 4 score involvements and 86 Champion Data ranking points from 14 games.
WE profiled Mihocek this time last year, but he was ultimately snubbed despite strong interest from Collingwood and GWS. But the gun defender has done little over the past 12 months to keep him out of draft contention — in fact he’s enhanced his chances. Mihocek had 17 or more disposals 10 times this season, including an impressive 20-touch, seven-mark performance in Port’s thrilling grand final win over Richmond. The boy from Tassie, who stands 192cm and 97kg, is a ready-made AFL defender that’s in the perfect age bracket to slot into a professional AFL environment. https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/the-matureage-vfl-stars-that-afl-clubs-should-consider-at-the-2017-national-and-rookie-drafts/news-story/0d3d29eafd0874d643d1974bc26b25a8

Brody Mihocek (Port Melbourne, 23, 192cm, 97kg): Collingwood and GWS are rumoured to be interested in the ex-Tasmanian and the son of 13-game Essendon player Jack. Key backman Mihocek had two seasons with Werribee, crossed to Port Melbourne this year and won the best and fairest, his marking a feature of his game. Captain Toby Pinwill was even moved to compare him to legendary Borough defender Sam Pleming. Mihocek more than held his own when standing Travis Cloke late in the season, but he also showed he could play as a forward. http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/localfooty/best-vfl-players-in-line-to-be-drafted-to-the-afl/news-story/57290b5a4d1bff2f61ebab8a47c2e19c

Might need to see his birth certificate - Club is claiming him as 23.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 7:15 pm

Bit of a surprise, but I'm happy with his selection.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:05 pm

“He is quite emotional about his selection and that gives us real heart. He has waited for five or six years for this to come. As with Flynn, he’s going to give it everything he can.

Love Reading That

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2017-11-27/rookies-that-fit-the-mould

mgh3536 

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:37 pm

son of Jack Mihocek...Essendon legend!!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:12 pm

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2017-11-27/the-unwanted-phone-call

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:43 pm

Has earned the opportunity with his performances at state league level and I like it when we award these types.

At the very least he'll add plenty to the spine of our VFL side and help keep them playing finals which as we've seen in recent years is a healthy recipe for AFL level success also.

You've got your chance now Brody so don't die wondering and give it your all at the pies.

Welcome and best of luck.

MJ23 

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:53 am

I like this selection.

Won a best and fairest as a key defender 2016.
Missed some games injured last year but came back and stood up in a GF.
Takes the best forward every week without any AFL talent around him for support.
Coached by one of the best defenders to play the game.

At worst, handy depth but I cant help but feel he will give it everything he has. I like that he has Linden Dunn around for support.

ad4eva Pisces

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:40 am

If it doesn't happen during the pre-season, Mihocek will leapfrog Dunn before the half way mark of the season.

This selection gives McLarty more time to develop too.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:54 am

I reckon this bloke will be good will give Dunn and Chop a chop out. Good name sounds like a 70s crook from the wharfs.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:17 pm

He's a great story of perseverance and commitment.
Personally, I have long felt that we have under utilised the VFL as a recruiting resource, so I really hope he makes it and possibly encourages us to look at VFL footballers a bit more closely.
It's certainly been kind to Hawthorn over the years.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 4:40 pm

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/video/2017-11-28/mihocek-receives-lifechanging-call

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19  Next
Page 1 of 19