Who do you want to be drafted with our pick 6?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 19, 20, 21  Next
Harrysz 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:08 am

Stephenson or Coffield.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:39 am

Big T wrote:
ronrat wrote:
One of the posters on here. Must be someone capable of 20 marks a game. 15 Handballs, 12 goals plus 9 goal assits. 10 defensive forward pressure acts and then switched to Defence to take 8 towering marks or punches that hit our best mid on the tit as he just happens to be surging into the forward line.
Plus the invaluable 30 odd tap outs and then rove to Grundy in his spare time.

I would expect that from our first pick in the rookie draft

That's why Hine is paid the big bucks.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:40 am

I'm hearing this whole draft is a crap shoot ( compared to the usual top 10s )
Even Rayner has some shortfalls as a likely number one ( endurance and stamina )
I reckon this will be the sort of draft where someone lands a ripper in the twenties and another club blows their top 10 pick.
Buckle up, it's going to be a bumpy ride.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:27 pm

Stephenson by all accounts has the speed and an ability to win the ball up forward and through the midfield. Question marks remain over his disposal ability.

Fogarty is your powerful tall midfielder and 3rd tall forward option. He'll provide cover in two areas of the ground and might be the way the game has turned up forward. Struggled with injury this year.

Coffield. Is he the next Pendlebury in waiting and like Scott will jump higher in selection on draft night than expected. Tall, smooth mover, pacey and reliable disposer of the ball. Has played most his football to date off half back an area we've looked to improve on already with Murray.

All of these three seem like great options, though I have more doubts about Fogarty than the other two.

Stephenson looks like he'll be a major weapon, with his mix of height, speed and athleticism. Looks the most damaging. With those weapons, a slight concern over disposal is no concern at all.

Coffield, like Pendlebury is a bit harder to judge. His disposal looks excellent, but does he have he ball winning ability of Pendles? We can trust Hine on this one seeing as he made a great call on Pendlebury.

Fogarty could be a good get as a Stringer type. Just a bit concerned about his acceleration and also his injury history. If we do take him it would make perfect footballing sense of the decision not to chase Stringer (there are already other valid reasons).

These three look much more exciting than any of the KPP to me. Will be surprised if we take a key position player at 6.

GreekLunatic 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:11 pm

i don't want to take that defender from wa he kicks like Nathan brown

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:27 pm

Raw Hammer wrote:
Big T wrote:
Knowing Collingwood we will select a bolter who is an honest hard working nuggety bag of crap.

I actually lold.

And an injury riddled plodder!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 7:08 am

Talk seems to be that we'll take the best available midfielder/flanker that slips to 6 and bypass a key position prospect.

It some ways that would seem like madness given an identifiable need for a quality key prospect is real
but I guess it all depends on how we rate internally the likes of Brander.

Outside speed and/or polished disposal is also another list need.

The fact that Brander is considered the best key tall in the draft and yet not expected by most to be taken within the top 3 is unusual.

That in itself isn't a deal breaker but generally the best kp prospect of the draft is a lock for 1 or 2. Of course as I've stated before Reid was the 4th kpp taken in his draft year and ended up better than all taken before him.

Riewoldt better again and taken 5 picks later.

For Hine when evaluating Brander comparing him to someone like Reid who he also selected would be a good gauge in his mind if he's worth that pick 6.

I've got a gut feel it might be Stephenson who Hine selects though some question marks surrounding his disposal is a concern.

The other two in the mix for me would be Coffield and Fogarty.

P.S-I haven't considered Rayner, LDU, Dow or Cerra as those 4 seem to be consistently featured in draft watchers top 5.

This would piss me off no end. It would feel like w3 are just waiting a year to try and get Lynch, so thats throwing a year on a maybe. I like to at least start the season with a little fresh hope, no matter how quickly it gets extinguished.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 7:27 am

If we use pick 6 on anyone under 190cm I'll scream.
I like the idea of drafting the best available footballer makes sense doesn't it.
We don't need athletes we need footballers because we play football and aren't looking to provide the Olympic team with some talent
Hine you wanker just start drafting footballers for gods sake
Harrysz 

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:17 am

Callum Twomey predicts that we'll take Aaron Naughton from WA.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:26 am

Harrysz wrote:
Callum Twomey predicts that we'll take Aaron Naughton from WA.

My understanding is Naughton plays back. Brander is more versatile being able to play anywhere. He's the one I would prefer though the three Inky mentioned are tempting as well. We need to concentrate on player strengths when we judge rather than their weaknesses because all players have weaknesses.
mattdally 

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:37 am

Hopefully we don't get Brander - he looks bloody ordinary. Fumbles and weak hands. Poor kick.

Have not seen much of Aaron Naughton

Players I would like us to go for pending availability should be:
- Coffield (Pendles clone)
- Bonar (powerful, quick and build like brick house)
- Stephenson (reminds me of a taller version of D Thomas)
- Luke DU - unlikely he would be there at 6
- Patty Dow - like Danger - strong and quick but likely to go early

Others
- Adam Cerra / Darcy Fogarty - both tall mids who can play forward as well. Injury prevented them from showing their talents this season.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:53 am

mattdally wrote:
Hopefully we don't get Brander - he looks bloody ordinary. Fumbles and weak hands. Poor kick.

Have not seen much of Aaron Naughton

Players I would like us to go for pending availability should be:
- Coffield (Pendles clone)
- Bonar (powerful, quick and build like brick house)
- Stephenson (reminds me of a taller version of D Thomas)
- Luke DU - unlikely he would be there at 6
- Patty Dow - like Danger - strong and quick but likely to go early

Others
- Adam Cerra / Darcy Fogarty - both tall mids who can play forward as well. Injury prevented them from showing their talents this season.

If history is to go by, its Bonar for sure, that name fits right, um, in!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 12:08 pm

curious to know if people are basing their selections on highlight reels and / or other people's thoughts or have they actually watched these kids play a few games? fwiw, I personally have no idea who we should go with but would prefer a kpp over any other type.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 2:35 pm

FrankieGoesToCollingwood wrote:
curious to know if people are basing their selections on highlight reels and / or other people's thoughts or have they actually watched these kids play a few games? fwiw, I personally have no idea who we should go with but would prefer a kpp over any other type.

Just from what other pundits have written based on their experience of watching juniors etc

eg: Snoopdog, Twomey, Knightmare, Balmer etc, and also the google searches re the players etc.

Also talking to a colleague at work who watches the Grammar school games & local games (he said a few years ago that Merrit of Esendon was by far one of the best of that draft well before he was selected), and other bits of info.

I aslo speak with my neigbour's aunt whose sister in law overheard while at the hairdressers some talk of who might be picked...

It's all a bit of fun in the end.

I still want Aiden Bonar despite him not being a KPP.

Shame we don't have a second round pick Wink

Last edited by watt price tully on Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:52 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:25 pm

Some Draft Combine results :
[position in parentheses: 1st = (1), etc.]

Goalkicking test (/30):
Naughton 25 (=5)
Bonar 25

Kicking test (/30):
all mentioned here outside top 10 (i.e. <28 )

20m sprint:
Bonar 2.90 (=2)
Coffield 2.91 (=4)

Agility test:
Naughton 8.22 (6)
Bonar 8.30 (=10)

Standing vertical jump:
Bonar 89cm (1)

Running vertical jump:
all mentioned here outside top 10 (i.e. <87cm)

Yo-yo test:
Naughton 21.8 (5)

2k time trial:
all mentioned here outside top 11 (i.e. >6:25)

Anyone notice anything really strange about these results??

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 19, 20, 21  Next
Page 2 of 21