Collingwood 2017 Review: Part 1: Player ratings

ad4eva Pisces

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:41 am

Nice summation, looking forward to part 2!

I agree with Wells - at the end of the day year 1 has been a fail as he simply didn't play enough. I can accept 17-18 games, but not less than half the season.

I do disagree with the Sidebottom trade bait idea. As much of a talent Lever may be, I've never agreed with selling your soul to achieve it.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 5:50 pm

Inxs88 great read mate only thing I would really add is about Sidey.
I though this season he actually had a better season than any previous.
His stats may not show it but I thought he learned how to really play team first footy more often than not.
I always thought those silly dinky kicks were a sign of him trying the impossible for personal glory when a better option was available
I thought he shelved the miraculous more often and went for the safer option
His leadership along side Adams for mine has been a highlight of the season.
He was able to take on responsibility and change his role for the betterment of the team in Pendles absence
Yes this will seem weird for some because I've been a Sidey critic but I also believe in credit where credit is due as well

Well argued QLDMagpies

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:46 pm

ad4eva wrote:

I agree with Wells - at the end of the day year 1 has been a fail as he simply didn't play enough. I can accept 17-18 games, but not less than half the season.

I do disagree with the Sidebottom trade bait idea. As much of a talent Lever may be, I've never agreed with selling your soul to achieve it.

In a perfect world it would be great to have Lever and Sidey and pick 6 Smile

ad4eva Pisces

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 11:29 am

inxs88 wrote:
ad4eva wrote:

In a perfect world it would be great to have Lever and Sidey and pick 6 Smile

We are allowed to dream!
DT 

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:25 pm

Very entertaining read INXS. Keep it up
DT 

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:26 pm

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:12 pm

DT wrote:

Thanks DT. I do my best work after midnight!! Smile

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:35 am

Great post Inxs. My major disagreement is about Wells. You are right to give him heaps of grief for turning up fat and unfit, but you don't give him the credit he deserves for transforming our delivery. Without Wells, this year we might have won 5 games.

Next year, exactly as you say, we want him F.I.T. fit from Round One. If this means hiring a security firm 24/7 over summer and giving them instructions to burn down any restaurant Wells goes within two city blocks of, then so be it.

His skills are sublime, and he makes our forwards look so, so good.

Good post Tannin, following on from Inxs' quality OP.

It can't be a coincidence that Wells played in seven of nine wins this year. It's a pity that he isn't five years younger as he still remains an elite ball user after all these years.

if only Wells played more Smile

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:44 pm

Quite good, a bit hard on some, but nobody here seems to like Collingwood players much. Several of them were unfairly dealt with by 'SuperCoach". Of course it’s a club which only suits "self-starters' as there's no coach to provide guidance, advice, or... a clue.

Bloody ridiculous that Keefe didn't get a run, having been excellent in the twos all year, and among our best in his one Pre-season game against Ess.. Then again its almost pointless having great young players in a side which won't be seeing finals for several years, and is firmly cemented as the No.1 laughing stock of the game. Still, we keep setting records which is good. I thought "first side in a hundred plus years to toss a 50 point lead in the third" was a highlight. Ah, why bother. The only way Buckley will get dumped is if we win the flag next year

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:44 pm

dp