Grandad Skids!

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 10:15 am

How'd you enjoy the Anzac Day experience?

Was our (me 'n Kel) 3rd ANZAC day game. The look on Dads face was priceless! Parents & Aunty 'n Uncle loved it.
Always good when you have a win Cool And how good was the weather!!??

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 10:17 am

^ nice pics, Skids. Wondered what you look like !

Cheers Mugwump.... there's heaps of pics on page 3 of this thread, thanks to Jo, the Daicos Bar, the Stang and the pooch too.

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 7:04 pm

Speaking of Grandads, i've had a day with Sharknado today. Geez I'm enjoying the beer now, he's hard work.

I agreed to babysit this morning before he broke his leg last week. Still had him for the morning. I'd forgotten how 2 year olds have the concentration span of a fruit fly. I hadn't forgotten how to change a shitty nappy.

He was good for the first few hours, but about half an hour before mum came back he started getting grizzly anbd tired. Didn't want lunch, wouldn't have a nap, just had the squirmy fidgets.

Once mum arrived back and dosed him with some neurofen cos his leg was clearly hurting him, he got his second wind and turned feral.

Then off to the hospital, I agreed to come with her for his check up. FMD, that's 3 hours I won't get back.

Long story short, drew on reserves of patience I didn't know I still had. Xray shows a clear crack in the shin bone, but not all the way through and not displaced. Other bone is fine.

Off with the plaster cast and on with a fibreglass one with a dinosaur pattern. Holding the little bugger still without hurting him while they took the xrays, cut off the old cast and put on the new one was fun. He's bloody strong for a 2 year old.

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 7:08 pm

Aww poor kid, how did he do it?

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 7:32 pm

Cleaned up by 2 pups apparently. border Collie and Bull Terrirer, bith around 4-6 months, running round playing over excited, kid got clean bowled.

Tough little shit, didn't take him to hospital until next day when he was having trouble putting weight on the leg. ( he wasn't at his mums when it happened, with 2 "aunties", mum would have got him back knackered and put him to bed, so not really seen symptoms til next day)

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 7:36 pm

Yes it can be tought.

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 8:59 pm

Speaking of Grandads, i've had a day with Sharknado today. Geez I'm enjoying the beer now, he's hard work.

I agreed to babysit this morning before he broke his leg last week. Still had him for the morning. I'd forgotten how 2 year olds have the concentration span of a fruit fly. I hadn't forgotten how to change a shitty nappy.

He was good for the first few hours, but about half an hour before mum came back he started getting grizzly anbd tired. Didn't want lunch, wouldn't have a nap, just had the squirmy fidgets.

Once mum arrived back and dosed him with some neurofen cos his leg was clearly hurting him, he got his second wind and turned feral.

Then off to the hospital, I agreed to come with her for his check up. FMD, that's 3 hours I won't get back.

Long story short, drew on reserves of patience I didn't know I still had. Xray shows a clear crack in the shin bone, but not all the way through and not displaced. Other bone is fine.

Off with the plaster cast and on with a fibreglass one with a dinosaur pattern. Holding the little bugger still without hurting him while they took the xrays, cut off the old cast and put on the new one was fun. He's bloody strong for a 2 year old.

That sounds like a pretty fair Grandad day mate Very Happy

I can't wait to get a boy around the place, it's been..... never!
3 daughters and a GD... the boys are here soon!!

I can't wait to kick a footy with ém in the park Cool

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 9:07 pm

... I'd forgotten how 2 year olds have the concentration span of a fruit fly. ...

But thankfully not the breeding powers of a fruit fly.
luvdids Sagittarius

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 1:41 pm

Girls can kick a footy in a park too you know.
I did with my Dad, and played golf, and cricket, probably more than my brother did with Dad.

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 4:54 pm

luvdids wrote:

Girls can kick a footy in a park too you know.
I did with my Dad, and played golf, and cricket, probably more than my brother did with Dad.

Yeah, nah... not the same. Sure, i kicked the footy with my 3 daughters a bit but, let's just say, they're better at other things hey Wink

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 5:31 pm

I used to kick the footy with my daughter. She was a tom boy, she'd compete against the boys in the street, all older, in footy, cricket, roller hockey, billycart races, whatever.

She just wouldn't do organised sport for some reason til she was about 15.

I'd take the son to Vic kick and she'd get bored watching so we'd do kick to kick . I offered to sign her up to Vickick as she was better than half the boys but no interest.

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 7:07 pm

I used to kick the footy with my daughter. She was a tom boy, she'd compete against the boys in the street, all older, in footy, cricket, roller hockey, billycart races, whatever.

She just wouldn't do organised sport for some reason til she was about 15.

I'd take the son to Vic kick and she'd get bored watching so we'd do kick to kick . I offered to sign her up to Vickick as she was better than half the boys but no interest.

my younger sister played for the bulldogs in one of the first half time games they had for vickick!

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 3:13 pm

And Jaxx is here!

Little fella was born yesterday at 1.30pm WST.

7lb 1oz.

Mum & bub doing fine.... have to chase up some pics Cool Very Happy

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 8:42 pm

Congrats mate.

Jaxx..... Confused Is that an old family name? Razz Rolling Eyes

partypie 

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 9:53 pm

Congrats Skids - I also have a grandson aged 5 weeks - its great!

Page 6 of 8