CH10 not taking responsibility for their dying channel

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 6:29 pm
Post subject: CH10 not taking responsibility for their dying channelReply with quote

Just like everyone in the Entertainment Business. Just Blame Pirate for everything.

What Utter Fu**ing BullShit.

It's a Free-To-Air Channel.

So how the **** People Pirating Free Shows cost them Millions

https://torrentfreak.com/pirates-co...170616/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 6:56 pm

Goodbye The Project Smile
Bucks5 Capricorn

Nicky D - Parting the red sea

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 6:59 pm

You're link is no good, but I think you meant this one.

https://torrentfreak.com/pirates-cost-australias-ten-network-hundreds-of-millions-of-dollars-170616/

I agree that blaming piracy for their low ratings is a bit of a stretch. Movies on FTA are available for legal download/rent/streaming for at least 12 months. Chances are that most people who wanted to watched it, would have.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 7:10 pm

Piracy maybe, more like dumb business. They locked themselves into contracts with Hollywood studios to get those movies and paid way overs. then they didn't get enough advertising revenue to pay the cost of those contracts.

Was piracy a factor? yes but a small one. Their failure was to completely misunderstand current viewing habits, pay way overs for content and budget for revenue they were never likely to achieve.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 7:55 pm

Piracy maybe, more like dumb business. They locked themselves into contracts with Hollywood studios to get those movies and paid way overs. then they didn't get enough advertising revenue to pay the cost of those contracts.

Was piracy a factor? yes but a small one. Their failure was to completely misunderstand current viewing habits, pay way overs for content and budget for revenue they were never likely to achieve.

Spot On. It's more terrible Business Decisions they made. Piracy is tiny Reason.

They just use Piracy as a Scapegoat for being Crappy Business Men

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:09 pm

Channel 10 can just look at Trump for inspiration.

Multiple bankrupt now President.

I doubt they'll be going anywhere.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:24 pm

Another Reason why CH 10 gone down the Shitter.

My Dad love the Show Bull. Not sure if it's been 6-7 Shows Thru but you can download the Whole Series.

So lot of People will Download the Full Series and watch it all at once without Ads and when they want instead of when it comes on Sunday.

Need to keep Airing it close to the US Does so don't give people to Pirate a TV Show or Movie

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:39 pm

That is where FTA typically (mates with) up. The get a show, screen a few episodes, it doesn't rate as well as they want so they bury it.

meanwhile, the audience it did attract is pissed off and looks elsewhere

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 12:10 am

We live in a vastly different media landscape today than we did when there were only five channels on TV to choose from. Now there's Netflix, downloading (legal and illegal), YouTube and Facebook to contend with, as well as pay TV. Channel 10 has always been the weakest of the three commercial stations in terms of viewer numbers, so it's not surprising that they're the ones most struggling to adapt. A shame as their content was sometimes (emphasis on sometimes) not so bad by mainstream commercial standards.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 2:10 am

I remember the days when it would take a year for a movie to go from the cinema to the video store.

Hell I remember the days when personal video tape players weren't in every home and television stations would spruik what movies they had showing that year generally ending up on Sunday nights.

These days a good proportion of the best television shows are produced by pay tv and free to air stations either don't have the license to show them, can't afford to pay for it so they can or wouldn't have the balls to televise a lot of them because of the more adult themes and language often contained within.

The fact they "invest" in cheap reality television or family friendly programs instead of investing in more edgy, well scripted and well produced fictional series like we see on pay tv is also a problem.

Of course like stated above to often they piss off the viewers of a show they do have by changing the day and time a program is shown, not showing it at all during non ratings periods or dispensing with it entirely if it's not rating as they'd like.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 4:34 am

Pretty much spot on Swoop. If you go back 30-40 years Sunday nights were almost sacrosant. That is until one day cricket came along. There were 3 movies to watch, generally causing family friction until some consensense was reached (usually by my Grandmother feigning an angina attack and calling us all mean for not wanting to watch something she had seen 30 times.) Sunday roast meant sunday leftovers or sometimes fish and chips or BBQ chook. The family had school and work to go to next day and with sport or work on saturday was a family night.

So how has this eveolved. A shipload of amateur cooks going through simulated terror to create something none of us will ever eat. Or similar amateurs, all looking individual with the same 5 day growths or tattoos (not gender specific) singing some piece of crap to screaming teenagers.

In those days one, or maybe 2 tvs in the house. Now one in every room. 4 or 5 different shows being watched or someone glued to a phone or laptop. Elder ones are at a pub or club. Or even a supermarket.

Channel 10 instaed of having 5 or 6 watching a top notch movie now sees one watching some bullshit no talent tryhard trying to build a house that will in private be condemned until the station bails it out with qualified subbies. Channel 10 gets everything it and others deserve.

And DTM the reality if everything is pirated eventually there will be nothing. Why spend 100 million on a film so everyone can watch free. They will simply walk away.And one day they will start prosecuting people.If someone was pinching your food from the garden eventually you will fence, protect or prosecute.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:47 am

FTA like Newspapers are slowly dying off. I love how people say Piracy is to blame, seriously have a look at the shit content of offer that is released months even years elsewhere. Throw in shit realty TV shows that run the same same but different dribble year after year. CH 10 went for a target audience of 15 to 30 and that plan has failed. Even though we have a Government intent on slowing our broadband speeds, people are accessing what they want to watch and when they want to watch it.

But alas our Government will change the cross ownership laws and Ch 10 will become FOX SKY 10 and their mate Murdoch will be happy.
Mountains Magpie 

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 6:34 pm

^Top bloody post Ronrat.

Further, the ads were stunning then compared to the Coles/Woolies/Lawyers/Life Insurance drivel these days.

MM

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:17 pm

ronrat wrote:
If someone was pinching your food from the garden eventually you will fence, protect or prosecute.

That is not the Same as Piray.

When you steal something it's gone for Good and that is what NOT happens with Piracy

And DTM the reality if everything is pirated eventually there will be nothing. Why spend 100 million on a film so everyone can watch free. They will simply walk away.And one day they will start prosecuting people

So you Believe there Propaganda on how bad they say it is. When there is Nothing to Back It Up.

Most Pirates at least pay to see Movie or TV Show.

Outside of Sport I find there is nothing really worth watching on TV

It's not as bad they make it out to be and why does Blockbuster Movies always seem to set new Records on how much they Make?

I rather watch stuff on Youtube then on Normal TV

Mountains Magpie 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 11:30 am

Netflix has more subscribers than cable in the USA:

http://fortune.com/2017/06/15/netflix-more-subscribers-than-cable/

The future is now Cool

MM