Post Match. Pies dump Dockers - All comments please

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:13 pm

Did not watch the game live, but now watching replay. I am so impressed with De Goey. Great poise, great accuracy for goal.
mosig 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:21 pm

Magpietothemax wrote:
Did not watch the game live, but now watching replay. I am so impressed with De Goey. Great poise, great accuracy for goal.

He is a great set shot but pretty average at the moment from around the ground... the opposite of usual. Should have kicked 3 today which would have turned a very good match into a great match.
Duff Soviet Union 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:23 pm

Really good win, but I'm almost tempted to just tank the Melbourne game and give heaps of players 2 weeks off.
dalyc Scorpio

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:30 pm

Is Eliot the quietest footballer ever? I barely see him talk.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:32 pm

mooretreloar wrote:
^^
Yes Rudey, this is why I had the following in brackets, (BOG), after his name in my comments re his last 20 minutes of the game. He was sensational all game.

So you did. My apology. Just another dementia moment. Embarassed

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:33 pm

AFL site:

"Collingwood has pulled off a famous victory under injury duress at Subiaco, pulling away with the final four goals of the game.

The Magpie midfield was too strong, with five players recording more disposals than any individual Docker."

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:36 pm

Perhaps not quite this season, but in the next few seasons, we Pies fans and the club in general, have very much a lot too look forward too, I can only see this list getting better and better, with a great blend of youthful enthusiasm, and senior guys leading the way. The good times are a coming. !

mooretreloar 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:38 pm

mooretreloar wrote:
^^
Yes Rudey, this is why I had the following in brackets, (BOG), after his name in my comments re his last 20 minutes of the game. He was sensational all game.

So you did. My apology. Just another dementia moment. Embarassed

No worries.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:52 pm

My Thoughts:

Moore has been Fantastic as 2nd Ruck. Great Leap and Tap when he gets his hand to it. Took some Strong Marks Today. He Really good Field Kick

Adams even with his bad field Kicking did have a Impact

Grundy had a Shocking 1st 3 Qtrs but was okay in last qtr

Maynard is better up the Ground. Bit like Lonie with his Long Kicking

Howe was Fantastic and Deserved to kick the Winning Goal

Love Goldsack Playing Hurt.

WHE is very Classy Player. Love his Goal in the Last

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:03 pm

Duff Soviet Union wrote:
Really good win, but I'm almost tempted to just tank the Melbourne game and give heaps of players 2 weeks off.

Confused Why?

bally12 Aquarius

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:26 pm

Gutsy win. I liked how Fremantle levelled on the scorebaord a few times, but we never let them get ahead. We kicked a couple of goals clear every time. Again, kicking for goal is our bugbear. It's all well and good to practise goal kicking and have fun bets with the coaches, but is there actually anyone down there that is teaching technique? I hope so anwyay.

Our best players today:

Pendles - was great in the packs, where he has a knack for finding space and time to make the right decision.
Treloar - never let up. Fantastic game.
Jordy DeGoey - getting involved in the play more and more. He was important for us today. Kicked 2 goals and should have had 4.
Goldy - courage personified.
Howe - great game..again. Has turned into a super defender. I like the way he is dirty when a goal is kicked against us.
Dunn - solid. Is now a lock defender for us.
Adams - involved in everything, but there hasn't been a player that has me with my heart in my mouth more than when Tay is kicking.
Sidey - typical Sidey game. That banana goal attempt was a reminder that this guy knows where the goals are, and we should we playing him closer to goal.
Phillips - liked his game today. Kicked a goal and set up Pendles for what should have been another.
Smith - solid. Not flashy but dependable.
Greenwood - gave us good run and was important for us before getting injured. He is speedier that I had given him credit for. Like David King said, he doesn't have top-end speed, but goes at fair clip the whole game. Shaky kick, but we know that.
Elliott - super player. Loved the way he quickly played on and nailed that goal.

I thought these mid-tier players really stood up for us today:

WHE - wow what a goal, left them for dead..just when you thought his run as petering out, he kicked again. His best game for us I reckon.
Crisp - someone said he lacked pace? Nope, he has pace and gave us great run in a lot of passages. We'd all love him to have the class to finish from 45m when wheeling on his left. That's his challenge.
Maynard - awesome run-down tackle...one of the highlights of the match. Was super for us, and is improving all the time.
Broomy - liked his game today. Showing that his best position is in the guts under packs.

A couple of negatives in this game for me:

Ramsay - was pretty poor. Cannot have him in the side until he is stronger in the contest. His skills and pace are good but still finding his way in the game. Check Fremantle's last goal, he had about 5 seconds to be all over that player that kicked the snap goal, yet he was nowhere.
Crocker - kicked an important snap, but other than that gave us nothing and was not up to the level.

Potentially 5 changes for us next week with all of Goldy, Elliott, Wells, Ramsay, Crocker, missing.

Well done to the Pies supporters that turned up to Subiaco. The support was audible, even was mentioned by the Fox commentators.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:28 pm

Duff Soviet Union wrote:

Confused Why?

nah, no way do we tank, I want to beat the toffy bastards, we owe them big, last three losses to them, no Hogan and gawn helps too. I just want to beat em and send their toff fans up to the snowfields a tad early, range rovers, all pointing North to Mansfield and beyond. Razz

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:29 pm

We now play Melbourne who have had the bye and will be refreshed and we fly back from Perth but at least we have an 8 day break.
This game will be the first of a few interesting games in the next month or so.

jatsad 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:30 pm

Just adding my 2 bits.

The Positives:
Gutsy win, full of effort and never giving up.
Style of play

The Negatives:
Injuries
Field and goal kicking

Few things I noticed. If Grundy wants to be number one ruckman in the competition, he needs to start taking marks and learn to handpass properly. Handled it like a hot potato today.

If ever this team starts believing in their kicking skills, then look out. A lot of the players are very tentative when passing the ball therefore it ends up a turnover.

The goalkicking is still a huge concern. A better team would have made us pay.

All in all however, you have to be proud of that performance.

MightyMagpie 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:33 pm

OUT: Wells inj, Elliott inj, Goldsack inj,

IN: Brown, Kirby, Schade

Crocker may get a reprieve. If not Blair comes in for him to add some experience.

Page 6 of 10