Atmosphere at the footy

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 3:26 am

Just finished reading all the great replies....

Thank You!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 3:37 am

CarringbushCigar wrote:
It is a real tragedy.

I got told off twice at Ethiad on Sunday.

First time was for having my foot on a yellow line, seeking an inch of shade whilst having a smoke.
2nd time was for standing 2 seconds too long at the top of the aisle, waiting for a stoppage in play before walking down.

Lucky for the Blue Coat I had not been drinking, and it was just after half time.
It might have been ON.

I feel for the real fan who forks out full price.

I don't blame people for not going, except for PiesNChess.

I blame AFL revenue maximisation models, the litigious society we have become and corrupt catering deals.

The AFL Supporters Association should demand raw membership data and analyse/expose just how many people who attend are paying from their own pocket.

The game became overpriced for the fan a long time ago.
With increasing TV revenue and player payments, the AFL didn't even consider dropping general admission prices and real memberships for individuals.
They lauded themselves for keeping Finals Tickets steady at around the $120 mark.
What a joke.

It's a freaking disgrace.

The blame doesn't only fall at the AFL's feet.
What about the Collingwood FC and what it offers for the ordinary fan as a thank you for the years of loyal support, or embracing new comers.

How about a training BBQ for a gold coin donation.
Is it that hard? Is it that high cost/risk?
The good-will would reverberate thru the club.
I'll volunteer to shop, cook and clean once a month.
What have we become?

A training BBQ..well done

A couple of us were talking about the same thing just recently

Our convo went like this...

Up to three training sessions per season or the more the merrier you know at the old traditional time of 4.30pm...Have a BBQ and yes a gold coin donation get the players to cook the BBQ along with the fans, or simply cook a good old fashioned winter time stew Smile

Can we do something no one else does ?

Get the players to mingle with the fans, bring back that old time feeling as though we belong to the club as well, i think thats what is missing..due to the corporate and media sanitisation of the game..we sadly feel and believe we are no longer are part of it..except of course when we get our membership renewal notice in the mail every twelve months and the end result of that is where some hundreds of dollars poorer.

We need to re-invent ourselves

We need to bring the magic back maybe if we do that the magic will return to the terraces.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 3:40 am

5 from the wing on debut wrote:
King Monkey wrote:
The modern game, the quality of football, winning/losing, all that contributes to lower crowd numbers which in turn can lead to a less than exciting atmosphere. Agree "to an extent" with all that.
Although, the atmosphere at our games in the mid and late 90's was still good even though we were no good on the field.
(Not talking raw numbers, you can have half the crowd but double the atmosphere.)

The main thing I'm worried about is that every time you raise your voice to address something that just happened on the field you get sideways glances from everywhere and are worried about how many of these people have texted the anti-social line. Whether it's to mildly abuse an opposition player, disagree with an umpire's decision, express frustration with one of our players' actions, or whatever.
(I'm not talking about abusive tirades littered with the F and C words, they are quite clearly out of bounds.)

Not only are people quiet, they are disapproving of others making noise.
Like I said, what has happened to us?!!!!!!!

Are we at the footy anymore?? Or is it just an extension of day-to-day life now rather than an escape??
The magic is gone.......

YES...The magic has gone and it may never return.

The Theatre is dying long live the Theatre of Football. People stay home and watch it on TV because thay can no longer afford to attend.

Some of those who do attend pretend to be offended by those who support sing and or scream for their club or for simply becoming involved in the theatre of the terraces, Crazy isn't it!

We're more concerned about the half time bullshit on the big screen kiss cam wave cam etc etc.

We're more concerned about trying to see if the latest tweet we sent ...you know...'Go Pies' with some stupid selfie pic, makes it to the big screen during the game..when we should be focused on the game!

When football clubs really believe we need to be otherwise entertained at the football you know something has gone horribly astray

Clubs dont care anymore its all about the television now..empty seats who gives a crap they've already been purchased with memberships....

Some guy in the next bay yelled out during the last quarter..what are you cheering for we are getting beat....

To conclude....

Sit down Shut Up.....dont embarrass yourself or the club...and we really hope to see you next week, side by side!

WOW.

PS. A certain well known Herald Sun employee finds it offensive that adults actually from time to time like to wear a footy jumper.

A secret agenda ( yes paranoia has set in ) to silence the theatre because it is no longer a needed part of the product..it is something from a byegone era..it is offensive apparantly to be genuinely upset whilst barracking and or supporting your club at the football.

These people who pretend to get upset (for the sole reason of not feeling as though they belong) ring radio stations and contact newspapers to vent their frustrations.

So you see folks we have apparantly evolved, Gone are the Victoria Park days..we are now at the MCG seated in comfort, entertained by a bloke who screams into the loiud speaker system stopping us from socialising whilst talking footy at each break.

FAST FOWARD TO THE YEAR 2037

Cardboard cutouts will replace the ever diminishing crowd giving the appearance that the game is still well loved by the masses.

Crowd noises at selected moments during the game will roar from the sophisticated loud speaker system giving the viewer at home the feeling that the masses are euphorically supporting the moment.

Children will watch replays of the days when this wasn't the case and become confused...their parents will reply...Those were the days when the bogans and ruffians and no-hopers occupied the terraces with their vile and passion upsetting the the 3 game membershippers, the theatre goers and blockbusterers....

Thank You please remember not to be too loud the bloke next to you is trying to calculate stats in his footy record.

Cheerio!

Joffa,

That has really struck a chord with me.

My grandfather grew up in depression era Collingwood. He married and remained there. My father as a young boy lived in Hoddle Street but the houses there were demolished to make way for a two lane each way road, so a move to a neighbouring suburb was required. That was the end to the link to the suburb, but not to the footy club.

My grandfather and father were at Vic Park every second week. As was I for many years. Junior footy in the morning. Almost all boys played footy then. Off to watch the Pies in the afternoon, paper season ticket in hand. Later on I became an AFL club support member. Every Friday night I went to the game at the G, as well as our game on the weekend.

Things changed though. The game became bland. The crowd became bland. I would come home from a game and try to recall what the big highlight was. There wasn't one. We won. It didn't excite me as much as it used to. We lost. It didn't upset me like it used to.

Why was I paying for an AFL membership? I wasn't using it. I can just pay at the gate when I want to go. The trouble though is that I never want to go anymore. I have Foxtel. It's much easier to watch on TV. Almost the only time I go to the AFL now is when I am invited to a client's corporate box and even then I am going for business reasons as I would rather not attend.

During the Hafey years I slept out at Vic Park to get the golden ticket to the Grand Final. Later on I went to the GF every year regardless of which teams we were playing. My last GF was 4 years ago when a client (a club sponsor) invited me. There was no early kids match or reserves match to watch. There was a countdown clock though, BS on the scoreboard and so much noise coming through the speakers that it was impossible to talk. The same client asked me whether I wanted to go the next year. I suggested that he invite someone else as I was busy.

The Collingwood link in my family has ended with me. I took my two sons to see us play when they were young but they were bored senseless by the game. They are now mid teens, well over 6 feet tall, strong and athletic, with no interest in the game. They have no idea whether Collingwood is winning or losing or whether Buckley can coach or not is even an issue. They have their sport which they and their friends are addicted to. They have been asked many times to play for local footy teams but dismiss that straight away.

The tribal aspect of football has gone. My kids know that I hate Carlton (70, 79, 81, Harmes, Harris), St Kilda (Greening incident) and North (77 and 7Cool but just don't understand why.

Collingwood used to be hated by other supporters. That may be the case amongst the older ones, but for those a bit younger, we are either irrelevant or just another club.

As the game has become more of a TV game than an attendance game it loses its point of difference. It now competes not just with other sports, but with Master Chef, Married at First Sight and reruns of Seinfeld. Seinfeld is holding up really well over the years.

Every word is so very true and i thank you for taking the time to reply with an accurate and honest assesment.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:34 am

Dobber text is anti Australian. It can and has been used to denegrate people for no other reason than they don't like you. They claim amongst other things
it for childrens protection. Well I find it hard to swallow that one when they play games at times that are far from condicive to kids. Weekday night games, late Sunday nights or early saturdaya meaning kids plying junior footy can't go. On top of that they allow a coupleof security goons to turn turn a 12-13 year old girl into a social pariah and hold her without parental help over a fairly lame excuse at abuse.

As an aside and I don't know if it is possible but how many of those texts each week contact reference to Joffa and if so will the authorities release them so we can really see how many of those gutless keyboard warriors are fair dinkum and what percentage are bullshit. I suspect Eddie McGuire is in a few as well.

They disallow full strength beer but can buy spirits and wine (at usuary cost).

Every year without fail a party of parasites jets off to the superbowl and FA cup and have yet to bring a single innovation that makes sense.

They are not going to bring in dancing girls and cheerleaders which may be one the few things people might actually like.

Its like the Olympics. I just don't watch opening and closing ceremonies as I find them jingoistic and cringeworthy. I do however like to watch the events, something the games are about.

And when we talk about GF time being on a Saturday afternoon Gil is a hero. I will bet London to brick a few of his mates at Ammo house had a word to him. The revenue made by the amateur, suburban and country clubs is enormous (to them), Having it at night will kill it due to a number of reasons, one being drink driving and the other the need to hit a nightclub with the missus after a long season and you won't get babysitters.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:34 am

Dobber text is anti Australian. It can and has been used to denegrate people for no other reason than they don't like you. They claim amongst other things
it for childrens protection. Well I find it hard to swallow that one when they play games at times that are far from condicive to kids. Weekday night games, late Sunday nights or early saturdaya meaning kids plying junior footy can't go. On top of that they allow a coupleof security goons to turn turn a 12-13 year old girl into a social pariah and hold her without parental help over a fairly lame excuse at abuse.

As an aside and I don't know if it is possible but how many of those texts each week contact reference to Joffa and if so will the authorities release them so we can really see how many of those gutless keyboard warriors are fair dinkum and what percentage are bullshit. I suspect Eddie McGuire is in a few as well.

Every year without fail a party of parasites jets off to the superbowl and FA cup and have yet to bring a single innovation that makes sense.

They are not going to bring in dancing girls and cheerleaders which may be one the few things people might actually like.

Its like the Olympics. I just don't watch opening and closing ceremonies as I find them jingoistic and cringeworthy. I do however like to watch the events, something the games are about.

And when we talk about GF time being on a Saturday afternoon Gil is a hero. I will bet London to brick a few of his mates at Ammo house had a word to him. The revenue made by the amateur, suburban and country clubs is enormous (to them), Having it at night will kill it due to a number of reasons, one being drink driving and the other the need to hit a nightclub with the missus after a long season and you won't get babysitters.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:59 am

ronrat wrote:

I found myself one day last year at the MCG surrounded by three security guards responding to a text via the dob in anti social behaviour...apparantly i yelled out a racist remark.....I am not a racist person and im not about to bore people with what i do away from the football within the indigenous community...but here i was defending myself from this scurrilous accusation like a child at school surrounded by teachers for a serious infraction in the school yard....i was defending myself to quickly save myself from being humiliatingly exited from the ground...It was embarrassing and hurtful...but this is the society we live in today, the dob in anti social behaviour at the footy is at times something i think that is needed but overall i think it is petty and like you say it gives the gutless keyboard type warrior the satisfaction to cause havoc!
Cheers ronrat.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:19 am

I sit next bay to you Joffa and I've seen the guards come to you a couple of times. I reckon a lot of the problems around our bays is from the odd pair of opposition fans that always seem to get in the middle of one of the bays and make absolute tossers of themselves. Mind you, that only works when your losing Sad

Ronrat, they tried the dancing troupe and the cheer leaders, and they failed miserably. I really don't think people want the US style entertainment, they just want to talk footy like the old days. Mind you I'd like to see the peanut man come back!

I've been to Heat stadium and watched lebron when he was no.1, and I've been to a couple of baseball games, and I loved all the entertainment, (singing take me back to the ballgame with the entire crowd at a Rockies game in Denver was pretty amazing) but I wasn't there to watch 'my' team.

As for the alcohol, I think it was necessary to bring in the regulations. We had a whole row of little kids behind us on Sunday, three families with a tribe of 3-5 year olds! I noticed most around tried to limit the swear words, but we were in the cheap seats (mcg legends) so no ferals that high up! It's about common decency, and unfortunately a lot of young idiots with a skin full don't know how to behave.

As for the cheer squad area, I find the security guards marching up and down the aisle every goal, for either team, really annoying for some reason. We should be allowed to cheer our team as loudly as we want. And boo the opposing goals too. I've seen enough incidents though to realise why they are there, and a lot of those incidents are caused by alcohol fuelled morons stirring shit for no reason.

Personally I hate the bloody kiss cam! I don't mind the music as long as it's not too loud, other than that, just let the little league kids do their stuff!

5 from the wing on debut 

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:05 am

ronrat wrote:

I found myself one day last year at the MCG surrounded by three security guards responding to a text via the dob in anti social behaviour...apparantly i yelled out a racist remark.....I am not a racist person and im not about to bore people with what i do away from the football within the indigenous community...but here i was defending myself from this scurrilous accusation like a child at school surrounded by teachers for a serious infraction in the school yard....i was defending myself to quickly save myself from being humiliatingly exited from the ground...It was embarrassing and hurtful...but this is the society we live in today, the dob in anti social behaviour at the footy is at times something i think that is needed but overall i think it is petty and like you say it gives the gutless keyboard type warrior the satisfaction to cause havoc!
Cheers ronrat.

There is not much that is new in this world. During the Cultural Revolution in Mao's China they had the equivalent of a text dob in line. If you didn't like someone you reported them as being a "capitalist roader" or as "anti party". The result was that the victim was beaten, kidnapped, exiled, imprisoned or killed. The text dob in will be great value during the game in China. I can see Koch dobbing in Auld.
pieboy 

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:53 am
Post subject: Re: Atmosphere at the footyReply with quote

doriswilgus wrote:
King Monkey wrote:
There is seriously something amiss when you're sitting in a Collingwood member area and the most noise made for the afternoon is when everyone wants a free $1 chocolate thrown at them by the ground announcer during half time.

What has happened to us?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad

I reckon it's the style of play we play.It puts people to sleep.There's nothing exciting about it.

People are sick of Buckley. He took over a premiership team yet for the 4th year in a row we are going to miss finals yet they still haven't got rid of him!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:17 pm
Post subject: Re: Atmosphere at the footyReply with quote

pieboy wrote:
doriswilgus wrote:
King Monkey wrote:
There is seriously something amiss when you're sitting in a Collingwood member area and the most noise made for the afternoon is when everyone wants a free $1 chocolate thrown at them by the ground announcer during half time.

What has happened to us?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad

I reckon it's the style of play we play.It puts people to sleep.There's nothing exciting about it.

People are sick of Buckley. He took over a premiership team yet for the 4th year in a row we are going to miss finals yet they still haven't got rid of him!

Rolling Eyes Looks like EVERY thread on here eventually turns into a Bash Bucks moment, cant help themselves, can they. Question

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4