Atmosphere at the footy

BBHS Cancer

bbhs

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:41 am

Been like this for a while now. The magic is definitely gone from the ground. Sad state of affairs for sure.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 12:24 pm

Yes Joffa

it is apart from the Buckley saga one of the great issues of our life.
I am an older anglo saxon white male whose natural home was the standing area under the Vic Park scoreboard.
It was heaven just pure bliss.
You were part of the action and when that horse's head that masqueraded as Don's Scott's pimple on top of his shoulders came into view, you and all your mates let him know that that head was unacceptable.
And when the umpire paid a free kick to the opposition in front of members then all hell broke loose.
Even when the poor opposition player had a gash on his head from an accidental elbow to his head.
That too was unacceptable.
Having a kick straight after the game and trying to torp a goal from where a goal had been scored previously in the game.
Well, that was magical.
Australia is the most self obedient, sanitized, regulated and political correct country on the planet.
This new culture has spilled over into our national game.
We have sold our soul for order.
The game is now most useful as a background vision with turned down volume on the TV.
I don't see many kids wearing the colours of any footy team on the street.
I don't hear the roar of a crowd when turning up late to a game.
Nothing beats the excitement of a roar when outside and you are left wondering ...was that a goal to us!!!!
The glory days are gone.
But then again the white anglo saxon male days are also gone.

5 from the wing on debut 

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:01 pm

King Monkey wrote:
The modern game, the quality of football, winning/losing, all that contributes to lower crowd numbers which in turn can lead to a less than exciting atmosphere. Agree "to an extent" with all that.
Although, the atmosphere at our games in the mid and late 90's was still good even though we were no good on the field.
(Not talking raw numbers, you can have half the crowd but double the atmosphere.)

The main thing I'm worried about is that every time you raise your voice to address something that just happened on the field you get sideways glances from everywhere and are worried about how many of these people have texted the anti-social line. Whether it's to mildly abuse an opposition player, disagree with an umpire's decision, express frustration with one of our players' actions, or whatever.
(I'm not talking about abusive tirades littered with the F and C words, they are quite clearly out of bounds.)

Not only are people quiet, they are disapproving of others making noise.
Like I said, what has happened to us?!!!!!!!

Are we at the footy anymore?? Or is it just an extension of day-to-day life now rather than an escape??
The magic is gone.......

YES...The magic has gone and it may never return.

The Theatre is dying long live the Theatre of Football. People stay home and watch it on TV because thay can no longer afford to attend.

Some of those who do attend pretend to be offended by those who support sing and or scream for their club or for simply becoming involved in the theatre of the terraces, Crazy isn't it!

We're more concerned about the half time bullshit on the big screen kiss cam wave cam etc etc.

We're more concerned about trying to see if the latest tweet we sent ...you know...'Go Pies' with some stupid selfie pic, makes it to the big screen during the game..when we should be focused on the game!

When football clubs really believe we need to be otherwise entertained at the football you know something has gone horribly astray

Clubs dont care anymore its all about the television now..empty seats who gives a crap they've already been purchased with memberships....

Some guy in the next bay yelled out during the last quarter..what are you cheering for we are getting beat....

To conclude....

Sit down Shut Up.....dont embarrass yourself or the club...and we really hope to see you next week, side by side!

WOW.

PS. A certain well known Herald Sun employee finds it offensive that adults actually from time to time like to wear a footy jumper.

A secret agenda ( yes paranoia has set in ) to silence the theatre because it is no longer a needed part of the product..it is something from a byegone era..it is offensive apparantly to be genuinely upset whilst barracking and or supporting your club at the football.

These people who pretend to get upset (for the sole reason of not feeling as though they belong) ring radio stations and contact newspapers to vent their frustrations.

So you see folks we have apparantly evolved, Gone are the Victoria Park days..we are now at the MCG seated in comfort, entertained by a bloke who screams into the loiud speaker system stopping us from socialising whilst talking footy at each break.

FAST FOWARD TO THE YEAR 2037

Cardboard cutouts will replace the ever diminishing crowd giving the appearance that the game is still well loved by the masses.

Crowd noises at selected moments during the game will roar from the sophisticated loud speaker system giving the viewer at home the feeling that the masses are euphorically supporting the moment.

Children will watch replays of the days when this wasn't the case and become confused...their parents will reply...Those were the days when the bogans and ruffians and no-hopers occupied the terraces with their vile and passion upsetting the the 3 game membershippers, the theatre goers and blockbusterers....

Thank You please remember not to be too loud the bloke next to you is trying to calculate stats in his footy record.

Cheerio!

Joffa,

That has really struck a chord with me.

My grandfather grew up in depression era Collingwood. He married and remained there. My father as a young boy lived in Hoddle Street but the houses there were demolished to make way for a two lane each way road, so a move to a neighbouring suburb was required. That was the end to the link to the suburb, but not to the footy club.

My grandfather and father were at Vic Park every second week. As was I for many years. Junior footy in the morning. Almost all boys played footy then. Off to watch the Pies in the afternoon, paper season ticket in hand. Later on I became an AFL club support member. Every Friday night I went to the game at the G, as well as our game on the weekend.

Things changed though. The game became bland. The crowd became bland. I would come home from a game and try to recall what the big highlight was. There wasn't one. We won. It didn't excite me as much as it used to. We lost. It didn't upset me like it used to.

Why was I paying for an AFL membership? I wasn't using it. I can just pay at the gate when I want to go. The trouble though is that I never want to go anymore. I have Foxtel. It's much easier to watch on TV. Almost the only time I go to the AFL now is when I am invited to a client's corporate box and even then I am going for business reasons as I would rather not attend.

During the Hafey years I slept out at Vic Park to get the golden ticket to the Grand Final. Later on I went to the GF every year regardless of which teams we were playing. My last GF was 4 years ago when a client (a club sponsor) invited me. There was no early kids match or reserves match to watch. There was a countdown clock though, BS on the scoreboard and so much noise coming through the speakers that it was impossible to talk. The same client asked me whether I wanted to go the next year. I suggested that he invite someone else as I was busy.

The Collingwood link in my family has ended with me. I took my two sons to see us play when they were young but they were bored senseless by the game. They are now mid teens, well over 6 feet tall, strong and athletic, with no interest in the game. They have no idea whether Collingwood is winning or losing or whether Buckley can coach or not is even an issue. They have their sport which they and their friends are addicted to. They have been asked many times to play for local footy teams but dismiss that straight away.

The tribal aspect of football has gone. My kids know that I hate Carlton (70, 79, 81, Harmes, Harris), St Kilda (Greening incident) and North (77 and 7Cool but just don't understand why.

Collingwood used to be hated by other supporters. That may be the case amongst the older ones, but for those a bit younger, we are either irrelevant or just another club.

As the game has become more of a TV game than an attendance game it loses its point of difference. It now competes not just with other sports, but with Master Chef, Married at First Sight and reruns of Seinfeld. Seinfeld is holding up really well over the years.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:26 pm

It is a real tragedy.

I got told off twice at Ethiad on Sunday.

First time was for having my foot on a yellow line, seeking an inch of shade whilst having a smoke.
2nd time was for standing 2 seconds too long at the top of the aisle, waiting for a stoppage in play before walking down.

Lucky for the Blue Coat I had not been drinking, and it was just after half time.
It might have been ON.

I feel for the real fan who forks out full price.

I don't blame people for not going, except for PiesNChess.

I blame AFL revenue maximisation models, the litigious society we have become and corrupt catering deals.

The AFL Supporters Association should demand raw membership data and analyse/expose just how many people who attend are paying from their own pocket.

The game became overpriced for the fan a long time ago.
With increasing TV revenue and player payments, the AFL didn't even consider dropping general admission prices and real memberships for individuals.
They lauded themselves for keeping Finals Tickets steady at around the $120 mark.
What a joke.

It's a freaking disgrace.

The blame doesn't only fall at the AFL's feet.
What about the Collingwood FC and what it offers for the ordinary fan as a thank you for the years of loyal support, or embracing new comers.

How about a training BBQ for a gold coin donation.
Is it that hard? Is it that high cost/risk?
The good-will would reverberate thru the club.
I'll volunteer to shop, cook and clean once a month.
What have we become?

Last edited by CarringbushCigar on Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:35 pm; edited 2 times in total
Rush Stand Wing 

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:27 pm

Someone please tell me that we wont have to endure that clown pre-game and at half time again. Fair dinkum, his voice was noise pollution through the loudspeakers. I couldn't even here my mate next to me and I have perfect hearing. He was trying to get people to dance. I had a level 3 birds-eye view and only saw 5-6 kids dancing for 20 seconds total. Its this type of tacky 'entertainment' that really makes me want stay at home.

Give me kids footy played on the big screen any day of the year. We don't need to reinvent the wheel here.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:10 pm

First and foremost the game is snorefest. 36 players congested in one end to get a slingshot goal out the back? That's not football, it's soccer and basketball (two sports of which I follow more so than AFL these days, so why would I want to watch a terrible hybrid?) The game used to be pretty fun and exciting. One on one contests, leading full forwards, players who could both kick on both sides of their body as well as execute a proper handball). Watching games from the '90s is simply awesome. I can't imagine taking a child to the football these days. I'm bored when I'm there. I've left st 3/4 time the two games I've been to this year. I've been told off by security for yelling when Zclokecwas lining up for his first goal in Bulldogs colours. No thanks.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:32 pm

I come from 4 generations born and bread in Collingwood, though I now live in a nearby leafy suburb. Sadly, the tribalism has all gone. what we have now are franchises and products, and supporters are simply customers. I well remember a Liberal student at Monash Uni - back in my radical student days - wearing a badge which said 'Socialism sucks'. Well I've got news for him...'Capitalism kills'. Money, commercialisation and the commodification of the game has just about killed it off. I've long been a legends member (and still am), but last year I only attended half a dozen games and so far I've been to one this year. I'm not even sure I'll attend ANZAC day. One thing I can't stand is the moronic announcers, advertising and those phucking flashing neon signs around the ground. The experience is so vanilla now it's depressing. Sadly, it didn't have to be.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:37 pm

I come from 4 generations born and bread in Collingwood, though I now live in a nearby leafy suburb. Sadly, the tribalism has all gone. what we have now are franchises and products, and supporters are simply customers. I well remember a Liberal student at Monash Uni - back in my radical student days - wearing a badge which said 'Socialism sucks'. Well I've got news for him...'Capitalism kills'. Money, commercialisation and the commodification of the game has just about killed it off. I've long been a legends member (and still am), but last year I only attended half a dozen games and so far I've been to one this year. I'm not even sure I'll attend ANZAC day. One thing I can't stand is the moronic announcers, advertising and those phucking flashing neon signs around the ground. The experience is so vanilla now it's depressing. Sadly, it didn't have to be.

The flashing signs are terrible.
Remember the giant banners.
I liked them.
Those flashing lights completely and utterly distract your attention.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:12 pm

King Monkey wrote:
The modern game, the quality of football, winning/losing, all that contributes to lower crowd numbers which in turn can lead to a less than exciting atmosphere. Agree "to an extent" with all that.
Although, the atmosphere at our games in the mid and late 90's was still good even though we were no good on the field.
(Not talking raw numbers, you can have half the crowd but double the atmosphere.)

The main thing I'm worried about is that every time you raise your voice to address something that just happened on the field you get sideways glances from everywhere and are worried about how many of these people have texted the anti-social line. Whether it's to mildly abuse an opposition player, disagree with an umpire's decision, express frustration with one of our players' actions, or whatever.
(I'm not talking about abusive tirades littered with the F and C words, they are quite clearly out of bounds.)

Not only are people quiet, they are disapproving of others making noise.
Like I said, what has happened to us?!!!!!!!

Are we at the footy anymore?? Or is it just an extension of day-to-day life now rather than an escape??
The magic is gone.......

YES...The magic has gone and it may never return.

The Theatre is dying long live the Theatre of Football. People stay home and watch it on TV because thay can no longer afford to attend.

Some of those who do attend pretend to be offended by those who support sing and or scream for their club or for simply becoming involved in the theatre of the terraces, Crazy isn't it!

We're more concerned about the half time bullshit on the big screen kiss cam wave cam etc etc.

We're more concerned about trying to see if the latest tweet we sent ...you know...'Go Pies' with some stupid selfie pic, makes it to the big screen during the game..when we should be focused on the game!

When football clubs really believe we need to be otherwise entertained at the football you know something has gone horribly astray

Clubs dont care anymore its all about the television now..empty seats who gives a crap they've already been purchased with memberships....

Some guy in the next bay yelled out during the last quarter..what are you cheering for we are getting beat....

To conclude....

Sit down Shut Up.....dont embarrass yourself or the club...and we really hope to see you next week, side by side!

WOW.

PS. A certain well known Herald Sun employee finds it offensive that adults actually from time to time like to wear a footy jumper.

A secret agenda ( yes paranoia has set in ) to silence the theatre because it is no longer a needed part of the product..it is something from a byegone era..it is offensive apparantly to be genuinely upset whilst barracking and or supporting your club at the football.

These people who pretend to get upset (for the sole reason of not feeling as though they belong) ring radio stations and contact newspapers to vent their frustrations.

So you see folks we have apparantly evolved, Gone are the Victoria Park days..we are now at the MCG seated in comfort, entertained by a bloke who screams into the loiud speaker system stopping us from socialising whilst talking footy at each break.

FAST FOWARD TO THE YEAR 2037

Cardboard cutouts will replace the ever diminishing crowd giving the appearance that the game is still well loved by the masses.

Crowd noises at selected moments during the game will roar from the sophisticated loud speaker system giving the viewer at home the feeling that the masses are euphorically supporting the moment.

Children will watch replays of the days when this wasn't the case and become confused...their parents will reply...Those were the days when the bogans and ruffians and no-hopers occupied the terraces with their vile and passion upsetting the the 3 game membershippers, the theatre goers and blockbusterers....

Thank You please remember not to be too loud the bloke next to you is trying to calculate stats in his footy record.

Cheerio!

Joffa does not post much these days, but when he does its always a great and sobering read. ! Well written, with many home truths in it too. My own thoughts are the game began to change from a fair while back, when the League got rid of the Under 19s and the Reserves games, pre game. I used to love to go to Vic park, or Waverley, and see the last half of the Magoos, how certain players were going, how others recovered from injuries, any long term prospects, how our kids are faring. Many fans used to roll up very early, to catch the kids and the Magoos, and it was a big build up to the main game, back in those halcyon days, usually a Saturday arvo, or sunday. Now its nothing pre game, nothing, just some moron yelling out over the PA system, lound shocking music, so called, and mass advertising. And you sit there watching grass grow on the oval, reading a costly Footy Record, full of more ads and utter garbage. Ah, for the good ol days at Vic Park, the roar of the crowd, the colour, the duffel coats, covered in badges and numbers, the floggers, confetti, the chants, that was the REAL footy for me, now its sanitized and for the theatre crowd, the Corporates, with the roof shut at Docklands, the game of the working class is gone forever, mores the pity, now its all Foxtel, Facebook, selfies, and wannabees. I still love watching the Pies, but the game has lost a lot of its once great charm for me, and I reckon many others of my vintage, too. Surprised Sad

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:26 pm

Raw Hammer wrote:
First and foremost the game is snorefest. 36 players congested in one end to get a slingshot goal out the back? That's not football, it's soccer and basketball (two sports of which I follow more so than AFL these days, so why would I want to watch a terrible hybrid?) The game used to be pretty fun and exciting. One on one contests, leading full forwards, players who could both kick on both sides of their body as well as execute a proper handball). Watching games from the '90s is simply awesome. I can't imagine taking a child to the football these days. I'm bored when I'm there. I've left st 3/4 time the two games I've been to this year. I've been told off by security for yelling when Zclokecwas lining up for his first goal in Bulldogs colours. No thanks.

I only get to about two games a year because I live overseas, and I guess it's such a treat for me to be able to see the Pies when .I can, that I don't really notice the game day experience one way or another. While I miss Victoria Park, I don't miss Windy Hill or Princes Park or (worse) the Western Oval. Not having to go to those houses of vileness is an improvement. Not spending cold afternoons watching blokes sprawl around in a mud hole around the centre square is an improvement, too - ground condition is far better.

But I completely agree that the game itself, the actual sport, is a shadow of what it was. Flooding and congestion have killed the flow, reduced the scope for individual brilliance, and the one on one contests that used to make it so absorbing. I still believe that the time has come to reduce the number of players to 16, to see if that can start to bring it back to what it was.

The game needs space and man-on-man contests. It needs gun full forwards who can beat a man and kick a bag of ten. I would also like to see a game that less injurious to young men's bodies. The rate and duration of injury is way higher than it used to be, and while it should be a contact sport, it does not have to be one where players come out of every game bruised all over through being gang tackled and smashed into the dirt for 100 minutes. With 15 or 16 on the ground, tackles - a great feature of the game as Ty Goldsack showed last Sunday - would become a man on man act again, rather than the most common act of the game. It's time to blend the best of modern with the best of the old, and the only way I can see us doing that is by reducing the players on the field until flooding and zoning is impossible.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:16 pm

AND, where is the WIT, the funny, biting comments from the crowd these days, I have not heard a funny snide comment at the game in years. I recall one cold day at Waverley, years ago, playing the Hawks, getting smashed by them -what else is new,- cold, wet and miserable, sitting with my then young son behind the goals. Dunstall is on fire, killing us, has eight on the board, suddenly a Piesman to Piggy Dunstall, "Hey Piggy, the colour of yer jumper matches what comes outa me arse each mornin" Even Dunstall turned around with a wry smile. !

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:34 pm

King Monkey wrote:
(I'm not talking about abusive tirades littered with the F and C words, they are quite clearly out of bounds.).

I never say the C word and I try not to say the F Word.

But as People know that I can get quite Loud in a Good Close Game

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:52 pm

Footy is a Business Now and just about Making $$$$$$$

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:34 pm

CarringbushCigar wrote:
It is a real tragedy.

I got told off twice at Ethiad on Sunday.

First time was for having my foot on a yellow line, seeking an inch of shade whilst having a smoke.
2nd time was for standing 2 seconds too long at the top of the aisle, waiting for a stoppage in play before walking down.

Lucky for the Blue Coat I had not been drinking, and it was just after half time.
It might have been ON.

I feel for the real fan who forks out full price.

I don't blame people for not going, except for PiesNChess.

I blame AFL revenue maximisation models, the litigious society we have become and corrupt catering deals.

The AFL Supporters Association should demand raw membership data and analyse/expose just how many people who attend are paying from their own pocket.

The game became overpriced for the fan a long time ago.
With increasing TV revenue and player payments, the AFL didn't even consider dropping general admission prices and real memberships for individuals.
They lauded themselves for keeping Finals Tickets steady at around the $120 mark.
What a joke.

It's a freaking disgrace.

The blame doesn't only fall at the AFL's feet.
What about the Collingwood FC and what it offers for the ordinary fan as a thank you for the years of loyal support, or embracing new comers.

How about a training BBQ for a gold coin donation.
Is it that hard? Is it that high cost/risk?
The good-will would reverberate thru the club.
I'll volunteer to shop, cook and clean once a month.
What have we become?

Docklands is a ShitHole of a Ground.

I don't blame people not going there.

RipOff and place has no Soul

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:53 pm
Post subject: StrikeReply with quote

I call on Pies fans to strike. Don't go until they get the message they have destroyed our great club.