Atmosphere at the footy

The_Staunton Virgo

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:16 pm

I'd suggest its AFL footy. It's like stale chess now, more like watching soccer or hockey with the endless backwards, sidewards play. Frankly its boring, and even if you put in the effort you will still lose by under 5 goals if you are inaccurate. Its not just us, every team has their whole 18 in a quarter of the ground to defend, so its only a matter of time before we have a joe the goose. It's little league, follow the ball stuff. The internet generation will not come to this in the future, the golden age is ending.

Yeah that's a huge part of it

It's become a sport you can watch in the background now, on TV

And don't forget the ridiculous rules

50 buck ticket to watch 2 hours of Shane McInerney running around going "Do you nowwimate Bwodie? Where are you Hickey"

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:49 pm

Different code, different part of the world....

But I was at a Newcastle United match 2 days ago and it was electric. This is a club that was relegated.

I havnt been to an AFL match for 2 years now, but I dont think I'm missing out on much.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:51 pm

Adelaide still play an exciting brand of football,but they're probably the exception to the rule.It's true that modern footy is pretty boring,and we play the most boring style of football of all.

Last edited by doriswilgus on Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
The_Staunton Virgo

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:56 pm

Presti35 wrote:
Different code, different part of the world....

But I was at a Newcastle United match 2 days ago and it was electric. This is a club that was relegated.

I havnt been to an AFL match for 2 years now, but I dont think I'm missing out on much.

I just got back from America and Canada

That's what the "atmosphere" at AFL is supposed to be

But I went to a Maple Leafs game in Canada and the game prevailed, in spite of the video packages etc. The atmosphere was amazing.

What do we get at an AFL game? James Sherry banging on?

Big Dan 

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:00 pm

The atmosphere's crap because Collingwood play crap footy.

I don't know about you, but at the moment it feels more and more like a chore each week.

Frustratingly stupid decisions topped with below par skills - thank the lord for Jeremy Howe because apart from him there is no other spark in the side.

If we played like the Crows, Bulldogs, Giants, Eagles atmosphere would be great.

Look back on last 15 odd years:

Buckley destroying teams from the centre
Taz's screamers
Rocca's bombs
Lonie launching on the run from 60 out
Leon and Dids weekly highlight reels
Daisy tearing down the wing, dancing on peoples heads
Heater and O'Brien dashing from half back - heart in mouth as you never knew if would be a disaster or a miracle
Cloke's brute strength - taking down key backs week in week out
Krakeour lighting up the sky like a fire cracker (bright and brief)
Swan powering along like the scruffy tank - nothing stopping him
And more, and more....

And look at what we have now.
We get excited when Reid is finally given kick out duties and hits a target on the chest.

Not saying that the past teams were the best but they did contain players who made the turnstiles spin.

Right now, the only spin being created appears to be coming from the footy department. Hopefully this changes and I'll be gladly eating humble pie.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:00 pm

The_Staunton wrote:

Amazing.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:01 pm

Because we Playing Boring Footy.

Going Backwards and Sideways and going no where

The_Staunton Virgo

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:18 pm

Presti35 wrote:
The_Staunton wrote:

Amazing.

You get a definite thumbs up for that one...

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:24 pm
Post subject: Re: Atmosphere at the footyReply with quote

King Monkey wrote:
There is seriously something amiss when you're sitting in a Collingwood member area and the most noise made for the afternoon is when everyone wants a free $1 chocolate thrown at them by the ground announcer during half time.

What has happened to us?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad

Welcome to the politically correct 21st century.
A polite clap is all that is needed.
No cheer squad, no rabbits in the crowd and only rabbits on the field.
We need some good ferrets i reckon.

I had a Go for the Guy Next to Me because I was too loud in saying what I think Evil or Very Mad

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:28 pm

Wheres Joffa when we need him ??

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:30 pm
Post subject: Re: Atmosphere at the footyReply with quote

King Monkey wrote:
There is seriously something amiss when you're sitting in a Collingwood member area and the most noise made for the afternoon is when everyone wants a free $1 chocolate thrown at them by the ground announcer during half time.

What has happened to us?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad

Welcome to the politically correct 21st century.
A polite clap is all that is needed.
No cheer squad, no rabbits in the crowd and only rabbits on the field.
We need some good ferrets i reckon.

I had a Go for the Guy Next to Me because I was too loud in saying what I think Evil or Very Mad

Yep ...not allowed to yell at the footy.
In particular....if it is not positive.
Only positive yelling is allowed ...like go pies!!!
But even this must be only stated a few times every quarter..
Good family atmoshere.
Going to the footy or going to church...not much difference.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 1:10 am

I don't know whether it was just a situation of playing poorly, but I was literally bored out of my brains watching today's match.

There was no excitement or exhilaration despite the relative closeness of the scoreline. It was just plain dull.

King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 1:58 pm

The modern game, the quality of football, winning/losing, all that contributes to lower crowd numbers which in turn can lead to a less than exciting atmosphere. Agree "to an extent" with all that.
Although, the atmosphere at our games in the mid and late 90's was still good even though we were no good on the field.
(Not talking raw numbers, you can have half the crowd but double the atmosphere.)

The main thing I'm worried about is that every time you raise your voice to address something that just happened on the field you get sideways glances from everywhere and are worried about how many of these people have texted the anti-social line. Whether it's to mildly abuse an opposition player, disagree with an umpire's decision, express frustration with one of our players' actions, or whatever.
(I'm not talking about abusive tirades littered with the F and C words, they are quite clearly out of bounds.)

Not only are people quiet, they are disapproving of others making noise.
Like I said, what has happened to us?!!!!!!!

Are we at the footy anymore?? Or is it just an extension of day-to-day life now rather than an escape??
The magic is gone.......

Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:20 am

King Monkey wrote:
The modern game, the quality of football, winning/losing, all that contributes to lower crowd numbers which in turn can lead to a less than exciting atmosphere. Agree "to an extent" with all that.
Although, the atmosphere at our games in the mid and late 90's was still good even though we were no good on the field.
(Not talking raw numbers, you can have half the crowd but double the atmosphere.)

The main thing I'm worried about is that every time you raise your voice to address something that just happened on the field you get sideways glances from everywhere and are worried about how many of these people have texted the anti-social line. Whether it's to mildly abuse an opposition player, disagree with an umpire's decision, express frustration with one of our players' actions, or whatever.
(I'm not talking about abusive tirades littered with the F and C words, they are quite clearly out of bounds.)

Not only are people quiet, they are disapproving of others making noise.
Like I said, what has happened to us?!!!!!!!

Are we at the footy anymore?? Or is it just an extension of day-to-day life now rather than an escape??
The magic is gone.......

YES...The magic has gone and it may never return.

The Theatre is dying long live the Theatre of Football. People stay home and watch it on TV because thay can no longer afford to attend.

Some of those who do attend pretend to be offended by those who support sing and or scream for their club or for simply becoming involved in the theatre of the terraces, Crazy isn't it!

We're more concerned about the half time bullshit on the big screen kiss cam wave cam etc etc.

We're more concerned about trying to see if the latest tweet we sent ...you know...'Go Pies' with some stupid selfie pic, makes it to the big screen during the game..when we should be focused on the game!

When football clubs really believe we need to be otherwise entertained at the football you know something has gone horribly astray

Clubs dont care anymore its all about the television now..empty seats who gives a crap they've already been purchased with memberships....

Some guy in the next bay yelled out during the last quarter..what are you cheering for we are getting beat....

To conclude....

Sit down Shut Up.....dont embarrass yourself or the club...and we really hope to see you next week, side by side!

WOW.

PS. A certain well known Herald Sun employee finds it offensive that adults actually from time to time like to wear a footy jumper.

A secret agenda ( yes paranoia has set in ) to silence the theatre because it is no longer a needed part of the product..it is something from a byegone era..it is offensive apparantly to be genuinely upset whilst barracking and or supporting your club at the football.

These people who pretend to get upset (for the sole reason of not feeling as though they belong) ring radio stations and contact newspapers to vent their frustrations.

So you see folks we have apparantly evolved, Gone are the Victoria Park days..we are now at the MCG seated in comfort, entertained by a bloke who screams into the loiud speaker system stopping us from socialising whilst talking footy at each break.

FAST FOWARD TO THE YEAR 2037

Cardboard cutouts will replace the ever diminishing crowd giving the appearance that the game is still well loved by the masses.

Crowd noises at selected moments during the game will roar from the sophisticated loud speaker system giving the viewer at home the feeling that the masses are euphorically supporting the moment.

Children will watch replays of the days when this wasn't the case and become confused...their parents will reply...Those were the days when the bogans and ruffians and no-hopers occupied the terraces with their vile and passion upsetting the the 3 game membershippers, the theatre goers and blockbusterers....

Thank You please remember not to be too loud the bloke next to you is trying to calculate stats in his footy record.

Cheerio!

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:32 am

Hehehe great read, unfortunately too much truth in it.