Unbelievable!

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:42 pm
Post subject: Unbelievable!Reply with quote

So the Health Minister has been caught with her fingers in the cookie jar. So what? She's just another corrupt minister, just the latest in a long, long line. The Liberal Government is corrupt? Yeah, yeah, we all know that. Tell us something new.

So she's had to "step down". This is code for "been caught out big-time, and so flagrantly that we will have to get her out of the spotlight for a while until the dust settles". That's not the news.

The news is her replacement: Arthur Seenodonors. WTF? Of all the possible replacements for a corrupt minister, of the entire Parliamentary Liberal Party, they had to choose THE most corrupt minister of them all - the man who plotted to flog 20 million dollars, yes, you heard that right, twenty million dollars out of the NSW taxpayers pocket. The man who had to front ICAC and give sworn evidence of his own guilt, but "couldn't remember" the brown paper bags, "didn't recall" what he banked all that money for, "couldn't remember his own bloody name most likely.

Out: a venal small-time crook.

In: a seriously big-time crook.

WTF? Have they no shame at all?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:59 am

^^You can't make this stuff up. Now Bronnie blames the socialists. Joe Hackney said, "The days of entitlement are over", unless of course you are a politician. What annoys me more about Ley is she has so much money if she paid out of her pocket it would have been loose change. She won't be back as more and more claims she has put in have been exposed and the damage is done. As for the replacement, it's just pure gold for Shorten and I am waiting for the LNP to find an ALP Politician rorting the system.

The rules need to change, if the worker cannot claim it then the Politician cannot either. If I did the same thing using my Defence card, I could not say sorry and pay it back. I would be sacked and charged with fraud.

Will they change the system? No!!

Last edited by Culprit on Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:05 am; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:04 am

I have never heard about The replacement it's pure gold for Shorten . Do you think it will take a long time?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:06 am

HAL wrote:
I have never heard about The replacement it's pure gold for Shorten . Do you think it will take a long time?
01000110 01010101 01000011 01001011 01011001 01001111 01010101 00100001

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:01 am

I love the fact she purchased the apartment or whatever it was supposedly on a whim.

Oh to have that amount of spare cash just lying around.

What next she pops out for a litre of milk and drives home in a new BMW.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:25 pm

Pollies are supposed to catch ordinary commercial flights to go from Canberra to Sydney or Albury to Melbourne. For shorter trips, they have all-expenses-paid luxury Commenwealth cars and uniformed chauffeurs/

For a hobby, she has a commercial pilot's licence. To keep her licence current, she has to fly at least once a month. A typical single-engined light aircraft costs upwards of $400 per hour, much more for a twin.

Not a problem: this scumbag just charters aeroplanes at taxpayer expense so she can keep her hobby licence current.

Where is Mal? Leadership? What leadership?

regan is true fullback 

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:02 pm

I heard her early last year on Albury radio. She seemed like a normal hard working member, with the problems of a large electorate. Then she said she worked closely with Sophie Mirabella, who at the time was no longer the local member across the border in Victoria. Given Sophie's Bronny-like tendencies as an MP, alarm bells rang in my head.

I do not care what side of the fence MPs come from, as long as they behave themselves. I have lived and worked in Canberra too long not to be surprised by what they get up to.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:20 pm

Pollies are supposed to catch ordinary commercial flights to go from Canberra to Sydney or Albury to Melbourne. For shorter trips, they have all-expenses-paid luxury Commenwealth cars and uniformed chauffeurs/

For a hobby, she has a commercial pilot's licence. To keep her licence current, she has to fly at least once a month. A typical single-engined light aircraft costs upwards of $400 per hour, much more for a twin.

Not a problem: this scumbag just charters aeroplanes at taxpayer expense so she can keep her hobby licence current.

Where is Mal? Leadership? What leadership?

keep in mind Albury Airport isn't exactly large and the timing of flights is limited. eg i flight per day in the arvo from Albury to Brisbane.

Not disagreeing in principle but just saying sometimes, particularly when going to or coming from regional centres, a chartered light plan is more cost effective than the accumulated expense of the alternatives.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:04 pm

They all do it.

They are only in Parliement for themselves/Family/Mates and no one else

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:48 pm

A politician using taxpayers money for their own interests!

Who would have thought?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:28 am

keep in mind Albury Airport isn't exactly large and the timing of flights is limited. eg i flight per day in the arvo from Albury to Brisbane.

Stui, genuine question. Did you hunt that one-flight number up just to make her behaviour seem excusable? Or do you honestly not know much about air transport in Australia?

No-one would expect much in the way of direct flights Albury-Brisbane. Hell, I'm surprised that there is even one. I wouldn't have thought it would be economic. It's a very long way for a light aircraft (customers don't like long, slow flights and it is difficult to carry an economic load when you have to also take a lot of fuel), and Brisbane is in any case not a prime pair city for Albury. (Prime city pairs have a natural commercial connection: for Albury, you'd expect regular flights to Sydney and Melbourne, plus maybe Dubbo and Canberra, places like that.)

It turns out that the Albury-Brisbane service is actually a small jet (it pretty much needs to be a jet given the long distance) and only runs four times a week. I'll lay you three to one that it loses money and/or relies on a subsidy.

Anyway, the point here is (a) that the slightly weird Albury-Brisbane flight tells you nothing at all about service frequency from Albury - Albury could be three times the size it is and you still wouldn't expect much traffic to Brisbane, and (b) any normal person wanting to go from Albury to Brisbane would do the normal thing, which is to start by catching one of the many flights each day to Sydney. Albury is in fact well-served by regional aviation.

Of course, if you are the sort of venal scumbags who would use a taxpayer-funded helicopter to go from Geelong to Melbourne's western suburbs, well, why not hire a bloody jumbo jet?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:37 am

Meanwhile, Immigration Minister Peter Dutton ate his lunch in the USA.

Why do we care? Was it an important lunch? No. Was he meeting with any US officials? No. Was there an agenda of business to be dealt with? No. Just Dutton and some mates grabbing a bite to eat at your expense.

The bill? $4000.

Yes, you read that right: Dutton just blew $4000 worth of your money on a pointless, non-business lunch.

Meanwhile, the Centrelink telephone and counter staff have been instructed not to assist people facing the deluge of incorrect "overpayment" letters. Staff cost money, so they are are now being instructed to send people who have been screwed over by the dysfunctional government computer system away and tell them to try going go on-line, where they can try to get some sense out of ... wait for it ... the dysfunctional government computer system.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 6:34 pm

Stui, genuine question. Did you hunt that one-flight number up just to make her behaviour seem excusable? Or do you honestly not know much about air transport in Australia?

No-one would expect much in the way of direct flights Albury-Brisbane. Hell, I'm surprised that there is even one. I wouldn't have thought it would be economic. It's a very long way for a light aircraft (customers don't like long, slow flights and it is difficult to carry an economic load when you have to also take a lot of fuel), and Brisbane is in any case not a prime pair city for Albury. (Prime city pairs have a natural commercial connection: for Albury, you'd expect regular flights to Sydney and Melbourne, plus maybe Dubbo and Canberra, places like that.)

It turns out that the Albury-Brisbane service is actually a small jet (it pretty much needs to be a jet given the long distance) and only runs four times a week. I'll lay you three to one that it loses money and/or relies on a subsidy.

Anyway, the point here is (a) that the slightly weird Albury-Brisbane flight tells you nothing at all about service frequency from Albury - Albury could be three times the size it is and you still wouldn't expect much traffic to Brisbane, and (b) any normal person wanting to go from Albury to Brisbane would do the normal thing, which is to start by catching one of the many flights each day to Sydney. Albury is in fact well-served by regional aviation.

Of course, if you are the sort of venal scumbags who would use a taxpayer-funded helicopter to go from Geelong to Melbourne's western suburbs, well, why not hire a bloody jumbo jet?

No intention to excuse her behaviour, I grew up 90 miles from Albury and I didn't know it had a real airport. I googles to look at what options someone from that area who travelled a lot would have as it's a 4 hour drive to Tulla and was genuinely surprised to see they had an airport with small jetliners flying to Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane.

i think there is a reasonable argument that someone with a geographically large rural electorate is going to incur a lot more in travel costs than someone in a suburban electorate if we expect them to maximise their time.

Then there's just basic rorting the system because you think you're important which justifies the expense (See brown one Bishop)

I don't really have an opinion on whether she was a self absorbed rorter or not but she's resigned and Mal has put in place a watchdog for expenses which I dare say will piss off plenty on both sides of the house.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:32 pm

Mr Turnbull announced the national anti-corruption watchdog would be launched shortly after Ms Ley sent out her statement.
The independent parliamentary expenses authority would monitor and adjudicate all claims by MPs, senators and ministers to ensure taxpayer funds were properly spent, he said.
The system that manages entitlements would also be modernised to allow for monthly disclosure of parliamentarians’ expenses.

“Australians are entitled to expect that politicians spend taxpayers’ money carefully, ensuring at all times that their work expenditure represents an efficient, effective and ethical use of public resources,” Mr Turnbull said.
“As politicians, backbenchers and ministers, we should be as careful and as accountable with taxpayers’ money as we possibly can be.
“We are dealing with other people’s money.
“And the Australian people are entitled to see that we are spending it wisely, appropriately, in accordance with the rules, but also in a manner that gets value for money.”

http://www.news.com.au/national/politics/sussan-ley-resigns-as-malcolm-turnbull-announces-new-watchdog-to-oversee-mp-expense-claims/news-story/8f718f6f7c1970c7dc179ad30ae11f6f

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:35 pm

Fair enough Stui.

I agree with your point about large electorates as a generality. However, the former Health Minister was very clearly rorting, no question about her guilt. Hell, even Turnbull, who is so blind to naked venality that he has re-elevated the disgusting Arthur Seenodonors to the ministry, felt he had to get rid of her. Being sacked for having your snout in the trough my Cayman Mal is like being tried for being unlovable and found guilty by your mother.

I have to pick you up on your 'both sides" comment though. Yep, there have been dishonest Labor members. But very few of them by comparison with the Liberals, and nearly always their sins are lesser ones. I'd love to see the numbers on this, if anyone has collated them. Would it be 3 to 1? Five to one? Seven to one? My guess, about 4:1` corrupt Liberals vs corrupt Labor MHRs and senators. Noe also that corrupt Liberals are much, much more likely to be helping themselves to public money, which is a worse crime than ordinary graft.

How many Greens have been guilty of travel and other rorts? They have been in parliament for decades now and off the top of my head I can't think of a single bad one. (There are ones I don't like because of their policy views, but I can't recall a single corrupt one.)