We Easily win the Varcoe/Clark/Lumumba Trade

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 3:16 pm
Post subject: We Easily win the Varcoe/Clark/Lumumba TradeReply with quote

As Clark did not play much and Retired.

Lumumba has Retired because of Concussion.

Varcoe still playing good footy.

So I guess we win That Trade Very Happy

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 8:08 pm

We went hard for Clark and wanted him if memory serves but our due diligence and delay in making a decision say Geelong swoop in before us.

Lucky I guess as the bloke has issues that go beyond depression and injury.

In medical speak it's called being a c***.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 8:49 pm

We went hard for Clark and wanted him if memory serves but our due diligence and delay in making a decision say Geelong swoop in before us.

Sounds like how we Backed off Ben Cousins

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:26 pm

good call!

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:29 pm

Reckon the Dayne Beams trade is working nicely too:

* DeGoey tick
* Crisp tick
* Greenwood 1/2 tick

versus:

Dayne Beams 18 games out of 44 with chronic knee tendinitis. Turning 27 in February and shall be lucky to be playing after 30!

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:37 pm

Beams was a bullet we dodged. He'd be an 800-possession per season mid who served only to keep the ball off Pendlebury and Sidebottom. We'd have won that deal if they gave us an ornamental cactus as the trade.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:52 pm

Beams was a bullet we dodged. He'd be an 800-possession per season mid who served only to keep the ball off Pendlebury and Sidebottom. We'd have won that deal if they gave us an ornamental cactus as the trade.

Yep, sprayed him with a good dose of plodder-begone...

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:05 pm

Let's not be revisionists though: Beams was a gun player but 3 for 1 all with 2 having long careers ahead and Greenwood 1/2 a career left, we did well.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 12:16 am

Ouch that would cut him deep if he ever read it
Mate seriously his knees are shot now by the sounds of it so we've won on the trade. But taking the piss from a premiership player, copeland winner and a player who gave everything he had for the club is a little self serving
And to correct you he wouldnt keep possessions off Pendles he would give it to him often like he did not giving it to Sidey would only benefit the team and reduce our turnovers by around 150 a season by Sidey not getting the ball from Beams hard work winning it

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 12:20 am

Did us an ornamental cactus as the trade keep it?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 1:02 am

Clearly won the three-way trade. With the benefit of hindsight, we dodged a massive bullet with Clark.
Redlight 

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 1:02 am

Mate seriously his knees are shot now by the sounds of it so we've won on the trade. But taking the piss from a premiership player, copeland winner and a player who gave everything he had for the club is a little self serving
And to correct you he wouldnt keep possessions off Pendles he would give it to him often like he did not giving it to Sidey would only benefit the team and reduce our turnovers by around 150 a season by Sidey not getting the ball from Beams hard work winning it

I think that the way he left makes him fair game.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 6:42 am

Redlight wrote:

I think that the way he left makes him fair game.

Yeah I was about to say the same. We know he's a family friend qldpie67 mate, but I did laugh when I read that!

Yes he helped win that flag, and forever grateful, not happy about the scandal he was part of the same day though, and yeah, not sure we got the real story at the end. Club stood by him big time.

As for Varcoe, best deal for sure! Was down this season but last season he almost dragged us over the line on his own . Harder to recover from injury as you get older, but damn he looked really good at training last week!

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:17 am

it's been a while since we last had a reflective discussion on the merits of dayne beams' departure. am looking forward to reading some new material on it.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:29 am

inxs88 wrote:
Let's not be revisionists though: Beams was a gun player but 3 for 1 all with 2 having long careers ahead and Greenwood 1/2 a career left, we did well.

Agreed , I think we did well out of it , we got the most we could out of Beams was always a chance he would join the banana benders.

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4