Documentary on 2010 drawn GF tonight (Channel 7)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 9:47 pm

I can't watch that game ever again. Once was enough.
Collingwood 4 eternity 

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 10:01 pm

Channel 7's "Sunday Night" program iss doing a segment on Mason Cox right now , it will be on their website after the show.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/sunday-night/

T2 Sagittarius

T2

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 10:28 pm

Collingwood 4 eternity wrote:
Channel 7's "Sunday Night" program iss doing a segment on Mason Cox right now , it will be on their website after the show.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/sunday-night/

Link's up for those interested: https://au.news.yahoo.com/sunday-night/features/a/32720801/afls-new-international-game-changer/#stop

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 10:35 pm

My DVD of the drawn GF has never been opened, It's still in the plastic wrap.

Kinda like the steak-knives DVD in the box-set isn't it?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:08 pm

I can't watch that game ever again. Once was enough.

Being there was bad enough, I've never been able to watch it since.

I get the shakes just thinking about it. Don't know if I'll make it through the program.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:11 pm

My DVD of the drawn GF has never been opened, It's still in the plastic wrap.

Kinda like the steak-knives DVD in the box-set isn't it?

Mate, I left that game feeling hollow and shattered. Went to King St and got home sometime Sunday. I watched the GF replay the next week on TV, couldn't go to the game.

77 to 81 leaves some serious scar tissue.

stoliboy Cancer

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:19 pm

Tiprat still feels sick thinking about it... there's a positive Very Happy
Krakouer Magic 

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:53 pm

Ben Johnson is fantastic. Straight up. No bullshit. Great show so far.

That was awesome. Great interviews from both teams.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 12:35 am

Gut wrenching stuff. Made me feel sick all over again.

Eddie talking about Bob Rose's wife sitting alone and in tears at three quarter time.

Geez, the footy gods were with us that day when the ball bounced out of Milne's reach.

Fascinating though that Eddie was so insistent on still having the function because he believed that leaving the players to their own devices after the 1977 draw was the wrong decision. Also, very high praise for MM from Eddie. Mick's speech at the function was " Mick's finest hour".

With my DVD of that game still in its plastic wrapper like Stui said and having never watched the game again, I didn't realize how Clokey missed those two gettable shots. Some things never change!

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 12:38 am

Krakouer Magic wrote:
Ben Johnson is fantastic. Straight up. No bullshit. Great show so far.

That was awesome. Great interviews from both teams.

Agree absolutely!! Heartfelt comments from both sides. Interesting that Pendles was very honest in saying he thought we would probably have lost it, given extra time.
Redlight 

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 12:41 am

Fascinating insight, it a reminder of just how fickle footy can be, and how close we were to total disaster that day.

I almost felt sorry for the Saints, but we've been the victim of just as much bad luck, disappointment and heartbreak as anybody. And we've suffered it in a world where everyone thinks they have license to express glee at our suffering.

We earned 2010, and we did it the hard way.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 1:01 am

Johnno was brilliant. The show was far too oriented towards the saints loss. Phuck 'em I say.

We were by far the best team that year and only our inaccurate kicking for goal let them into the game in the drawn GF. We should have won by heaps....and that's what we did the following week.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 1:19 am

Unlike some of you, I've actually rewatched the drawn GF at least half a dozen times. It was nothing short of an incredible contest that could've - but didn't - go either way. Another minute or a few lucky bounces and some accurate kicking would've no doubt changed the outcomes but it wasn't to be. I remember watching the game with my dad at the rising sun hotel. They had tv screens of opposite sides of the wall so whenever someone kicked a goal it was like we were all shouting at each other. I walked out at one point because I was almost sick with nervous tension. We hadn't kicked a goal for ages only for leon to pull one out of nowhere. Then they mounted another challenge which we answered and the rest is history.

I thought it was a great retelling of an amazing yet bizarre day that will never be experienced in that form ever again. All the players reflected well on the day and were honest with their thoughts. We recovered better and that obviously showed the following week when we smashed them. I reckon they were emotionally and physically stuffed too. McGuire learned from past mistakes and kept things in order - hosting the club function while the aints went home to bed which is what our club did in 77.

Just think how different things would've been had Cloke nailed his two shots before half time or if those 5 points we kicked in the third could've been goals. We'll never know. Dawes running in to an open goal and bangs it home, daisy snaps one through and Blair's shot bends back to sneak home. That's three right there. We lost the plot in the third and it was a fight to the death in the fourth. But the draw meant I got a ticket the following week cos the corporates missed out. That was a true GF for the fans.
mgh3536 

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 1:34 am

Goddard is still a cock!

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 6:29 am

PyreneesPie wrote:
Gut wrenching stuff. Made me feel sick all over again.

Eddie talking about Bob Rose's wife sitting alone and in tears at three quarter time.

Geez, the footy gods were with us that day when the ball bounced out of Milne's reach.

Fascinating though that Eddie was so insistent on still having the function because he believed that leaving the players to their own devices after the 1977 draw was the wrong decision. Also, very high praise for MM from Eddie. Mick's speech at the function was " Mick's finest hour".

With my DVD of that game still in its plastic wrapper like Stui said and having never watched the game again, I didn't realize how Clokey missed those two gettable shots. Some things never change!

that function had such an odd feel to it. it was hardly an enjoyable affair but the messaging coming from the key people was brilliant. consistent and simple.

Page 2 of 6