Best Collingwood players you have personally seen.

5 from the wing on debut 

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 1:33 pm

sixpoints wrote:
This is the last quarter of the Vic v SA State Game of 1973.
Len Thompson dominates the ruck, Wayne Richardson roves superbly & Phil Carman is all over it for SA kicking 4 goals.

If you have a spare 30 minutes you'll get to see how great those 3 were in their prime.

https://youtu.be/VTB_rc3ekU4

The good old days, when a Vic played for SA and a Sandgroper played for Vic

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 3:00 pm

Sir Alan of Didak wrote:
1st - P.Daicos
2nd - N.Buckley
3rd - B.Rose
4th - G.Coventry
5th - S.Pendlebury
6th - J.Reagan
7th - H.Collier
8th - D.Swan
9th - G.Brown
10th - D.Millane

Wow.....if you've seen that lot then you must be very long in the tooth Sir Alan.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 3:12 pm

1. Peter Daicos

2. Phil CarmAn

3. John Greening

4. Gavin Brown

5. Dane Swan

6. Nathan Buckley

7. Scott Pendlebury

8. Len Thompson

9. Peter Moore

10. Barry Price

King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 5:31 pm

WhyPhilWhy? wrote:
King Monkey wrote:
My favourite player in my lifetime - Gavin Brown.
You could almost use his style of play as a lesson on life; honest, hard, courageous, respectful, versatile, adaptable, talented.

Rowdy certainly played the best individual game I have ever seen when he was sent to full back (by Lethal?) to play on Garry Ablett Snr at the top of his game, and the latter hardly had a kick (from memory).

It was the equivalent of dropping Pendles back to play on Buddy.

Waverley. '92 or '93??
My memory is that Ablett was going berserk early, had 3 or 4 on the board and Geelong were 4 or 5 goals up by the time the great man was sent to him early in the second quarter.
Pies turned it around for a stirring victory, running away with it I reckon winning by 4 or 5 goals ourselves.

Please correct me if my memory of that one is skewed please....!!!! Laughing

Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."
uncanny 

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 10:43 pm

7 of the best...

Dane Swan Peter Daicos Peter McKenna Len Thompson Nathan Buckley Scott Pendlebury John Greening

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 12:52 am

Greening gold wrote:

Yeah - Greening for me too - poetry in motion. He was 20 years ahead of his time. Fast, agile, courageous, inventive, highly skilled in all facets and, because he really was perfect, a lovely bloke too. He was working at the Commonwealth Bank at Melb Uni in 1971 and gave me his autograph with a big smile.

I used to go into that same Commonwealth Bank branch at that time and walk out without making a transaction!! Laughing
Not only was he all those things you mention above, he was damn good looking too! Very Happy

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 12:57 am

Lone Ranger wrote:
droversdog65 wrote:
Google 'John Greening Collingwood' there is utube footage of the great man.

I humbly suggest that Greening was looking likely to be the greatest player ever to play Aussie rules.
Cut down by a mongrel.

Mad Absolutely. What did O'Dea get? 10 weeks? Would've got 22 weeks today.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:01 am

Neil Appleby wrote:
1. Peter Daicos

2. Phil CarmAn

3. John Greening

4. Gavin Brown

5. Dane Swan

6. Nathan Buckley

7. Scott Pendlebury

8. Len Thompson

9. Peter Moore

10. Barry Price

This is pretty spot on IMHO Neil. I would probably swap the middle order around a bit myself - put Swanny and Bucks ahead of Rowdy - and maybe put Darren Millane in at number 10.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:08 am

Lost Magpie comes home

Mike Sheahan
Herald Sun
June 30, 2007 12:00AM

HE WAS football's poster boy of the time, the forerunner to the generation that gave us Hird, Buckley and Harvey.

John Greening had played 94 games in a row for Collingwood when he was cut down mid-season in 1972 at the age of 21.

He debuted at 17 and didn't miss a game in five seasons, playing in the 1970 Grand Final at 19 in front of a record 121,696 people.

Greening's career was halted and effectively ended when he was knocked out behind play against St Kilda at Moorabbin in Round 14 of 1972.

He had polled 14 Brownlow Medal votes in 13 completed games in a team that included ultimate medal winner Len Thompson (25).

Greening was unconscious for 24 hours and St Kilda's Jim O'Dea subsequently was disqualified for 10 weeks.

Both of them victims of a bygone era, a period when the culture decreed the best players in the opposition were fair game.

But that story has been told often enough. This is about Greening in his mid-50s, a Gold Coast bookmaker who has finally agreed to come home to Collingwood.

He and wife Bev will be the club's special guests at a dinner before tomorrow night's huge encounter against Hawthorn at Telstra Dome.

He says it is at least 15 years since he has seen a Collingwood game in Melbourne.

"You must remember it's a very depressing place for me because of the incident, what happened years ago," Greening says.

"I find it very hard to cope sometimes down there. I love Melbourne, but just generally the environment . . .

"I work Saturdays at the races, but this one's a Sunday game.

"I thought I better go down and see one game; it won't hurt.

"With time, I suppose it waters down a bit.

"I haven't been to Melbourne for a long time. It'll be great. Great to be there."

Collingwood has persisted in vain for years to reclaim him.

Greening, 56, says he has moved on - "Yeah, I've moved on; I've got to move on. Geez, I'm bloody 56, and I was 21 when it happened."

Yet there is scarring.

Not only has he stayed away from Melbourne, there is the occasional hint of bitterness.

"I was hoping to play about 500 games at Collingwood," he says.

"I wanted to just be there: captain, coach, be there at the top of the tree, premierships forever and a day.

"Unfortunately, I wasn't born with eyes in the back of my head."

He loves the modern game, and for good reason.

"It's fabulous. I was trying to play it 30 years ago. Nearly cost me me bloody life," he says.

"You don't stand still. You move, you run. You must have possession, simple as that."

Thompson raved about the young Greening in a newspaper interview 12 months ago. "We hadn't seen anyone really play that way before," he said.

"I think Johnny was on that path to be a champion like (Robert) Harvey. He had magnificent balance, he used both sides of his body and he had this big ticker to run and cover ground."

Another former teammate, Wayne Richardson, termed him "the James Hird of his day".

Greening said this week: "Hirdy's a wonderful player. I don't think he's the same type of player, but it's a compliment.

"I went to Collingwood when I was 15 and I had more to give, but the incident just knocked the wind out of the sails, you know what I mean."

His world spun out of control in retirement, for a combination of reasons.

"I lived in the world of depression for a long time and didn't know it. I was having troubles in my private life. The publicity, everything, was hemming me in and I couldn't handle it. That's why I left Melbourne and went back to Tassie," he says.

"I lived a very nomadic life after the incident.

"First marriage down the drain, but that might have been inevitable anyway.

"Then I got remarried and got into the horses and settled down a bit."

He has been a bookmaker for 26 years and married a second time about 20 years ago.

Bev Greening is the former Bev Holman, a former Australian junior 100 and 200-yard record-holder.

Greening, who moved to the Gold Coast nine years ago, enjoys his life: the mild winters, the weekly battle with punters, bowls Tuesday and Thursday, football on the telly.

He describes himself as a run-of-the-mill bookie.

"I'm not the biggest bookie there, but there's a lot of big bookies in the graveyard, mate, that thought they were too good," he says.

"I don't go silly."

He handles more than $50,000 on Magic Millions day. "That's cash; I don't like credit punters."

He looks healthy and fit, although his weight has crept up to 97kg (from 87kg in his playing days).

There is an occasional hint of a slur in his speech, but he seems relaxed and cheerful.

He follows Collingwood from afar and cherishes the catch-ups with former teammates such as Richardson, Thompson and Des Tuddenham, who occasionally head north on the big racing days.

Ross Dunne also lived on the Gold Coast for a time, but has returned to Melbourne.

Greening says the highlight of his career was the 1970 Grand Final.

"That was fabulous. I know we got beaten, but I was only 19. I knew there was more in store, more to come for us," he says.

Greening made a comeback in 1974. Despite a triumphant first-up appearance against Richmond, he was never the same again.

"It was all right, OK. Lovely to stitch up Richmond. Played all right, but could have done better," he says.

"Then I lost the drive, the motivation. That was it, that was enough. I just wanted to prove I could still play."

Play, he could, but not at the level that had Collingwood people believing a year or two earlier there was more than the No. 22 guernsey in common between the legendary Bob Rose and the kid from Tasmania.

As we signed off, Greening had warmed to the prospect of seeing a game live in Melbourne.

"In actual fact, I might enjoy the game, it might be all right," he says.

He wants to run his eye over several players, particularly Hawk Lance Franklin.

"Nice player," he says keenly.

"If he can improve his right side, he might be a complete footballer."

You? "It didn't matter. I could do either hand, either foot. Didn't worry me."

Greening said he had never crossed paths with O'Dea since that fateful day 35 years ago. "No, and I don't want to," he says.

Two men's lives changed forever in a split second.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 12:02 am

I'm only 22 so my list is quite limited compared to others but the three obvious standouts are:

1. Nathan Buckley
2. Dane Swan
3. Scott Pendlebury

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:44 pm

B: Michael Taylor Greg Phillips James Clement

HB: Mick McGuane Billy Picken Shane Morwood

C: Darren Millane Scott Pendlebury Gavin Brown

HF: Peter Daicos Phil Carman Craig Davis

F: Ray Shaw Brian Taylor Alan Didak

F; Peter Moore Nathan Buckley Tony Shaw

ICH: David Cloke, Scott Russell, Dane Swan, Steele Sidebottom

EMERG: Chris Tarrant, Anthony Rocca, Dayne Beams

(Started watching the Pies "live" in 1977 and saw the end of Wayne Richardson, Len Thompson, Ross Dunne and Max Richardson. Just missed Peter McKenna. Scotty Burns and Crosisca very close too)

Last edited by inxs88 on Sun Sep 25, 2016 9:48 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:59 pm

Neil Appleby wrote:
1. Peter Daicos

2. Phil CarmAn

3. John Greening

4. Gavin Brown

5. Dane Swan

6. Nathan Buckley

7. Scott Pendlebury
7.5 Peter McKenna
8. Len Thompson

9. Peter Moore

10. Barry Price

Love this list - did you forget Boof? or u have him at 11 ?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 5:03 pm

inxs88 wrote:

(Started watching the Pies "live" in 1977 and saw the end of Wayne Richardson, Len Thompson, Ross Dunne and Max Richardson. Just missed Peter McKenna)

I like that team, I've been watching for a similar time frame.

I'd swap Taylor in the back pocket for Magro and I'd love to fit Ronnie Wearmouth in there somewhere but if you picked a team since 77 based on the best each one could produce on the day, not longevity or consistency, I'd say you've damn near nailed it. Maybe Sav in for BT at FF?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 5:11 pm

inxs88 wrote:

(Started watching the Pies "live" in 1977 and saw the end of Wayne Richardson, Len Thompson, Ross Dunne and Max Richardson. Just missed Peter McKenna)

I like that team, I've been watching for a similar time frame.

I'd swap Taylor in the back pocket for Magro and I'd love to fit Ronnie Wearmouth in there somewhere but if you picked a team since 77 based on the best each one could produce on the day, not longevity or consistency, I'd say you've damn near nailed it. Maybe Sav in for BT at FF?

I'd be doing some shuffling to get Jolly in as no.1 ruck and probably Luke Ball if they qualify for games played.

In the future I could see Treloar and Adams being in contention.
Jamie if he was back to his best and Maynard a future smokey.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 5:13 pm

inxs88 wrote:

Based on your time-frame I suggest Magro and Worthington in for Taylor and Phillips.

Page 7 of 8