Best Collingwood players you have personally seen.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 1:39 pm

Sir Alan of Didak wrote:
1st - P.Daicos
2nd - N.Buckley
3rd - B.Rose
4th - G.Coventry
5th - S.Pendlebury
6th - J.Reagan
7th - H.Collier
8th - D.Swan
9th - G.Brown
10th - D.Millane

Shocked You've seen all those players?
droversdog65 

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 2:24 pm

If you've seen Jack and Harry play ur older than me. Surprised
lihei Capricorn

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 2:25 pm

Sir Alan of Didak wrote:
1st - P.Daicos
2nd - N.Buckley
3rd - B.Rose
4th - G.Coventry
5th - S.Pendlebury
6th - J.Reagan
7th - H.Collier
8th - D.Swan
9th - G.Brown
10th - D.Millane

Good list, but no room for Len Thompson?

warburton lad 

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 2:46 pm

Greening

Buckley

Thompson

McKenna

Picken

Pendlebury

Carman

Swan

Brown

Tony Shaw

Millane

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 3:21 pm

The thread said "seen play" so for me it's as follows

Daicos saw him single handedly win a few games but for sheer brilliance v the caramello Bears he kicked 13-1 or 14-1 at Carrara one dark night was simply brilliant

Buckley best kick of a footy ever IMO

Millane no one tougher no one more dedicated to his team mates

Honourable mention to Brown and Pendles and Swanny
Cruisinwithdids 

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:17 am

Best I saw Carman 75-77, Daicos, Milane, McKenna

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:22 am

warburton lad wrote:
Greening

Buckley

Thompson

McKenna

Picken

Pendlebury

Carman

Swan

Brown

Tony Shaw

Millane

No Daicos? Oh my. My, oh my...

Fatui Attata 

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:45 am

I was searching for footage of Fabulous Phil and found this site....

http://safootballvideoarchive.webs.com/stategames.htm

Some ripper State of Origin matches throughout history. Watched 1973 Vic V SA and Carman shows a couple of scintillating moments. Jesaulenko with 10 straight goals! Thommo looked great and Wayne Richardson is in everything.

It may be an insight into who our greatest player may be. To rise to the top amongst the cream of the comp is a sign of out & out mastery I reckon. And the one Collingwood guy I remember doing that a few times was Gavin Brown.

Apologies to players who never have had State/State of Origin experience. Watching these games from it's history demands it be brought back...for me anyway. State of Origin....not that All Stars crap. I loved barracking for the BIG V!!

But yeah....Gavin Brown.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:31 am

Raw Hammer wrote:
warburton lad wrote:
Greening

Buckley

Thompson

McKenna

Picken

Pendlebury

Carman

Swan

Brown

Tony Shaw

Millane

No Daicos? Oh my. My, oh my...

Embarassed I missed Millane and Picken, surely warburton lad is allowed a mistake. I know what happened! He wrote his name 3 times on the list and when he realised he started rubbing the extra Daics off the list and didn't see he had rubbed them all off!!

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:54 am

Phil Carman.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:02 am

Top ten for me, in order :

1. Daicos
2. L.Thompson
3. N. Buckley
4. W.Richardson
5. S. Pendlebury
6. P. Moore
7. W Picken
8. P Carman
9. T Shaw
10. M Richardson

I think that Max Richardson is underrated ; he was a match-winner over many years. I probably should include Greening but I was too young to remember much of his prime, and have no clear memory of him at all. By the time I tuned in, Tuddy was at Essendon. I suspect he might be in the top 1 or 2 of my list, had he stayed. Anyone that can kick 7 off a half forward flank in a big final, while dishing out punishment rations, is a megastar. I think he kicked 9 one day in a similar position.

I also think that Pendlebury is underrated by many. In some respects, Collingwood's performance since about 2009 has been a function of Pendlebury's individual performance. I still think the reason for the 2010 GF1 was that he was sick and only got about 10 possessions. I also suspect much of our dismal 2016 first half related to his rib injury. His ability to hold slow time in a web is a gift that I have rarely seen on a football field, and every possession he gets counts as two because he is so visionary. A truly remarkable player.

I loved Peter McKenna, and as a Collingwood hero and legend he was right up there ; but as a footballer he was just ok, not a great.

Carman's stature depends on how you define "best". For me, it means making a decisive difference to games - being a matchwinner - over a long period, and being able to get your own ball. Carman does not qualify for the first, though he was freakish enough to make the lower end of my list. His last quarter at Moorabbin in 1975 or so, when he kicked about 5 goals, was the most inspirational quarter I've ever seen anyone play, anywhere.

Last edited by Mugwump on Thu Sep 22, 2016 1:58 am; edited 1 time in total
R_T_RUSH 

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 11:59 am

Top 5

Daics
Brown
Milane
Didak
Swannie

Special mention to:

Barham
Burns
Buckley
R_T_RUSH 

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 11:59 am

DP

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 1:10 pm

My late Grandma always told me Dick Lee was the greatest Pie ever.

droversdog65 

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:25 pm

My late Grandma always told me Dick Lee was the greatest Pie ever.

According to my dad the greatest 'group' ever to play for the Pies was the backline from 'The Machine' - highly talented and absolutely brutal.

Terry Waters is much underrated also, he was just getting into his stride as I started following the Pies in my boyhood. One of the finest marks we have had - they called him 'sticky fingers' - and with good reason.

I can remember dad walking me out onto Victoria Park oval just before the boys came off the ground. Dad had a word to them and the great man (Terry) hunkered down beside me and asked me my name. Signed my autograph book and solemnly shook my 10yo hand like I was a real grownup.

For those of you poor blighted young souls who have never experienced this great thrill, this was from a happier and less security conscious times when players used to be accessable to fans Sad

Page 5 of 8