I'm back!

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 9, 10, 11  Next

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2023 8:20 pm

Thanks gents.

Just loading the flight out of here this arvo and saw one of the boys flying out a few days early. Quizzed him and found out he's going for bowel cancer surgery. They've caught it real early and the early indications are he'll be fine. Another Paul, a few years younger than me at 52.

Please, look after yourselves and take advantage of the early detection resources we have available... and don't put off going to the doc!

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2023 12:46 am

^Fabo news, Skids.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2023 12:46 pm

Great news, Skids – I can only imagine what a massive relief that must be. Hope all is well with the trachea and that you keep getting the all clear going forward.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2023 1:50 pm

Thanks again peeps Smile

Did a solid workout in the gym here on-site this morning and feeling pretty good. I finished off on the bike and started taking real notice of the breathing, turning my head to each side and going hard.
I guess it makes sense, they patched the trachea on the left side, so when my head is turned to the right is when I get the noise. Funny thing is, it's not noticeable to anyone else... must be echoing in all that vacant space in my skull Shocked

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2023 10:08 pm

Geez, doing a job this afternoon on a burst pipe and my boss stopped in for a look. I asked him if he knew when Paul's op was and a general chat and he says "You know Jokers just been diagnosed with bowel cancer too".
Joker is in his early 40's so no early detection, just symptoms (blood in the poo). Fingers crossed for the young fella, he's a hell of a nice bloke.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2023 11:19 pm

awful mate, its a horrible disease, best of luck to both of them, and im really glad your doing so well xxx

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2023 10:58 am

Well done on getting the word out to the lads and encouraging them along, Skids. Blokes being blokes and all that.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2024 12:38 pm

So Paul is back at work, his surgery went well. Very lucky he caught it early.

I had a CT scan Jan 2nd and some blood tests to check how the half a thyroid is going. I haven't had any news back yet, which is usually a good sign.
See the specialist again early next month. Hopefully get the scans pushed out to bi-annually from here.

Day 3 back on site, been to the gym every morning before work and feeling great. Watched the last 1/4 of the GF again whilst on the stationary bike this morning... never get sick of that!

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2024 1:53 pm

Who won? Laughing

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2024 4:18 pm

Who won? Laughing

Laughing

And no sooner did I post this and the results come through..... I think it sounds OK?

CT NECK

Clinical Details :L eft tracheal sarcoma resected early June 2023
indings. Post-contrast CT neck performed. Comparison with the preoperative imaging from 2023.

There has been interval left hemithyroidectomy and resection of the upper left posterolateral trachea and associated mass
No recurrent umour is identiffed. The right thyroid lobe has a normal appearance. No mass seen elsewhere within the upper
aerodigestive tract. No airways narrowing. The vocal cords are relatively symmetrical.

There are a few mildly prominent lymph nodes on the left at level 1V which are unchanged from the preoperative imaging. No new o
progressive lymph node enlargement is identified.
Vormal appearances of the major salivary glands. Normal enhancement of the major cervical vessels
The pulmonary apices are clear. No abnormality seen within the superior mediastinum.

Limited assessment of the visualised cranial compartments is unremarkable. Middle ear clefts are normally aerated. The paranasal
sinuses are clear. The temporomandibular joints are normaly aligned. No periapical dental lesion. Torus mandibular are noted.
There are degenerative changes of the cervical spine but no destructive bony lesion.

Comment:
1.S equela of interval left hemithyroidectomy and resection of the upper left posterolateral trachea and associated
mass . No recurrent tumour is identified.

2. There are a few mildly prominent lymph nodes on the left at level IV which are unchanged from the preoperative imaging. No new or progressive lymph node enlargement is identified.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2024 5:20 pm

^Great news by looks. So basically no recurrence and no concerning changes?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2024 6:34 am

Yes, Skids - that's about as good as a scan gets! Tremendous news.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2024 6:39 am

Great news Skids

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 12:38 pm

Cheers folks.

Somewhat of a relief. Looking forward to my next consult with the Doc, to hopefully push the scans and tests out to six monthly. I reckon I've had my share of needles and radiation for a while. Cool

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 12:38 pm

Doubla.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 10 of 11