Retro round

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:21 pm
Post subject: Retro roundReply with quote

So this is retro week. So what is actually happening? It's Tuesday night and Nothing on the club website. No celebration of the old players, traditions, Vic Park etc.. Do we wear a different jumper on the weekend? It's a total non-event as far as I'm concerned. Piss poor effort. I think OH&S and political correctness has eliminated any chance of celebrating some of the old footy traditions. Why not ask Yakka if they'd like to do a once off sponsorship for the week and run out in the old Yakka tracky tops.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:28 pm

We're going to play like it's 1999.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:32 pm

Just about every other signature round has been hijacked by some none football related interest group. Bring back the slab I say.
5150 Sagittarius

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:37 pm

Two weeks in a row Nathan Brown can play the retro 19th man role.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:41 pm

Yep, pretty ho hum. The same as every other garbage round they want to invent.

It's round 19.... that's it!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 12:59 am

Retro Round isn't an AFL themed round. It's just a Fox Footy marketing thing, like last year's Red Round or Lefty Round from a few years ago.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:00 am

What era are we celebrating?

Is there a specific jumper that clubs are wearing?

Or is it just a meaningless name for a round?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:00 am

Retro Round isn't an AFL themed round. It's just a Fox Footy marketing thing, like last year's Red Round or Lefty Round from a few years ago.

Well that says it all I guess.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:06 am

It does give them an excuse to give away some of those wallet-melting expensive woollen replica retro jumpers on AFL 360, though...

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:46 am

OH goodie, gives me a chance do dust off the old flairs, buffalo bill jacket, RM Williams boots, bodyshirt, and pretend its the seventies all over again, at dear old vic park, just hope we can buy full strength beer, fosters cans, drag in the old esky and get pissed as farts again. Yep, those were the days folks. !

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:50 am

Well, considering there's a game at Vic Park on Saturday, you could actually bring an esky full of grog along and relive the glory days...

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 8:24 am

When I look into my crystal ball I see the future.
And at the moment I can see Collingwood fans typing furiously about what what a debacle employing club champions as head coaches as been for this club................... Meanwhile Marley williams is heading to his 5th straight premiership tilt as head coach for st Kilda.

Mountains Magpie 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 9:09 am

We're going to play like it's 1999.

(in best Costanza voice) "we're not?" Laughing

MM

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 9:29 am

Well, considering there's a game at Vic Park on Saturday, you could actually bring an esky full of grog along and relive the glory days...

Mate, I have actually been wanting to do that for quite some time, LOL, but watching the games there on tele, I have trouble seeing exactly the spot where me and my band of brothers used to stand, all those years ago, they seem to have done away with it, that scoreboard end looks really small and weird now, what have they done. ???? LOL. Laughing

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 9:42 am

They are going to play like they are an under 10's group. The trouble is that they got the weeks wrong and did that last week against Nooorf.