Post Match: Pies unseat the Blues - All comments

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 7:30 pm

FrankieGoesToCollingwood wrote:
A win is a win. I think the most exciting thing about last night was the 2 warm doughnuts I scoffed down during the walk back to the car.

Stop it - donut envy at a threshold at present...
I suppose they were covered in sugar, and dripping jam down your chin as you walked and ate, huh? Mad

Mate, they were caked in sugar and oozing jam, I could feel my arteries clogging with every bite Cool

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 7:38 pm

Amazing how quiet Nicks is after any win. lol

Ordinary game as a whole, despite the win and people are preoccupied with the federal election.

Ya reckon?

Picked up my mate on the way to the game and he asks if I voted.. I'm like "Oh shit, the Election?!" Shocked Laughing

Wondering if that same reaction will save me the $20 fine when asked for a please explain?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 7:46 pm

Like how our Backline Stopped some Blues goals just with Desperation
STOKA35 Capricorn

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 8:59 pm

Nota great spectacle probably should have won by more. Why did jack silvagninpass of 20m out

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 11:20 pm

Great to get the win over the filth, don't care if its ugly really happy with Grundy , Pendles, Sinclair and Maynard. Our backs were really good. I thought the Sack showed he still offers something to our 22.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:28 am

john b wrote:
I think the players from both teams should get together and refund everyone's money that went last night. That was plain and simple the worst game of footy I've seen in my life (local footy included).

I'll take the win though. But a nil all draw would have been a perfect result for that crap.

You clearly didn't endure the 1st 3 quarters of the Richmond game earlier this season...

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 8:11 am

There were times in recent season's where we leaked goals but with an A grade defender on the park all the time has made an improvement as our
backs were our strength Saturday night.

If that continue's and we speed up our transition once clear of backline we
will be more competitive

Slow ball movement into forward half had opponents with more time to cover
forwards

Think it's something to work on in 2017

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 8:11 am

There were times in recent season's where we leaked goals but with an A grade defender on the park all the time has made an improvement as our
backs were our strength Saturday night.

If that continue's and we speed up our transition once clear of backline we
will be more competitive

Slow ball movement into forward half had opponents with more time to cover
forwards

Think it's something to work on in 2017

didick 

didick

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 8:45 am

STOKA35 wrote:
Nota great spectacle probably should have won by more. Why did jack silvagninpass of 20m out

Probably because he thought he probably had to pass inboard to his senior Squibbs, who himself thought he had a chance for an easy goal. One that he ended up shanking. LOL

Asclepius 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 10:38 am

What did I see that I really liked:
1. Goldsack helping to make the back line into a potent force
2. Sinclair having a breakout game. piercing lines at will
3. Reid dropping off his man into the goal square to stop the soul destroying dribble finding its way through the goals

What didn't I like:
1. We attack from defense up the flank - but there is no one making a dash to the boundary line to engineer an overlap. Opportunity completely wasted - a failure of coaching
2. A number of times we get a turn over and we stream to the middle of the ground - then nothing - there is not one Collingwood player standing innocently by himself 40 meters away ready to receive the ball and stroll into goal. Another coaching failure.

Incidentally: note in the last quarter Cloke decides to pass to Varcoe - the pass is centimeter perfect. He can kick straight if there are no goal posts nearby.
5 from the wing on debut 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 2:47 pm

john b wrote:
I think the players from both teams should get together and refund everyone's money that went last night. That was plain and simple the worst game of footy I've seen in my life (local footy included).

I'll take the win though. But a nil all draw would have been a perfect result for that crap.

You clearly didn't endure the 1st 3 quarters of the Richmond game earlier this season...

Good point.

During the Richmond game the crowd were laughing. On Saturday night they were just grumbling and moaning.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 4:55 pm

A win is a win. I think the most exciting thing about last night was the 2 warm doughnuts I scoffed down during the walk back to the car.

Stop it - donut envy at a threshold at present...
I suppose they were covered in sugar, and dripping jam down your chin as you walked and ate, huh? Mad

Mate, they were caked in sugar and oozing jam, I could feel my arteries clogging with every bite Cool

BAH!! I want clogged arteries too dammit! Confused

Black and White Reviews 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 5:37 pm

Check out my review of the game guys by following the link below!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3-kQabFcGvY

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVoXrk-SeVZpGvDLzif8IyQ
dalyc Scorpio

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 5:40 pm

GREAT night all round really, Truffles Turnbull nearly our on his arse, and we take the Bluescum in a close and dour game. What I saw of the match, it was no great spectacle, just a gutsy win over a hated and despised rival. I reckon the media went a bit over board over Silvagni, I don't recall Moore getting all that family hype when he played his first game ?

WE bank four precious points, and move on, can we slay the Giants, that is the question now.

Agreed, but I suppose, three generations playing for the same team is a bit special. Good luck to the kid. Did't look out of place at all and should have had 2 goals next to his name.

If I had a choice between Moore and Silvagni, I'd take Moore without a moment of thought.

Unbelievably I agree with whatsetc- 3 generations playing for a club. Very special for the family. Plus seeing Jo Bailey in the stands isn't bad.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 7:18 pm

The big positive change since the round 7 debacle is how much better the defence looked with Nathan Brown and Ben Reid back together and controlling the space back there. Thus, even though Collingwood only managed 8 goals, they kept Carlton to 6 (as compared to 15 in round 7). Casboult starred against us in the previous game but he only had 4 kicks last night. Indeed, he and Everitt kicked 6 goals between them in round 7 but only managed one point last night and they were barely sighted.

Good Observation Both of these lads showed a heap on friday. Really amazed how quickly people put Brown under the bus.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Page 5 of 5