Collingwood & Gambling: if I were a betting man then....

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 7:28 am

I don't give a stuff where our money comes from so long as it is legal.

It's your opinion & your welcome to it.

I believe we ought not be making money on the exploitation & misfortune of others. You do.

Each to their own.

Should places not sell alcohol because a minority have issues with it?

I was raised in NSW on the border and the local golf club was basically funded by Victorians coming up by the bus load to play pokies when they were illegal in Victoria.

I also remember one particular woman who's husband had the Finley RSL club ban her as she would go there on pension day and put the lot through. It worked until he became unwell and went to hospital and then she was back.

Las Vegas wouldn't exist without casinos.

I'm not a major fan of pokies or gambling in general, but I have a bit every now and then.

Removing the pokies won't cure the ills of the people who are addicted to them, it'll just manifest itself in other ways unless the root cause gets addressed. The Pokies are just an outlet. Address the illness not the symptoms.

I agree with you. Send all the pokies back to NSW Wink

I would ban all advertising of alcohol & gambling (everywhere) & at sports stadia. Mind you I would also ban the PA at Collingwood games - sooo effen intrusive - I loved the game (even though we lost) to the Hawks at the Phil Walsh game last year. No noise through the PA

I wouldn't ban the serving of alcohol just the advertising.

matrix10 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 11:13 am

Worked in pokies for a few years- horrible, horrible things.

I think I was the only person working there that didnt go and piss my money away on pokies after their shift finished.

I could tell someone they'd had too much ro drink- yet, couldnt tell someone bawling their eyes out telling me that tehy had just sold their apartment to pay off gambling debts- that they had gambled enough.

They should be abolished.

Of bigger concern for mine, is the AFL shoving gambling down the throats of supporters- gambling advertising before games- during every ad break- covering the ground- flashing up on the screen- it is the greatest blight on the AFL and society.

But, of course- 'if we stop regulated gambling we will push it underground'- GOOD.

I am sick of my 8 year old son telling me about the odds for each game.

I am sick of watching my 16 year old nephew sit gambling on his phone during family do's.

The AFL plays a significant role in normalising gambling.

Gambling is NOT NORMAL!

The McLachlan brothers are balls deep in this also-promoting the hell out of- Fanshake/Last man standing/Draft stars- all just lining the pockets of the big boys while exploiting the dumb and poor.

rant over
(PS I am not Nick Xenophon Wink

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:32 pm

The advertising drives me bonkers. Especially ones that portray gambling as something glamorous. PLLLEASE! Rolling Eyes
Bucks5 Capricorn

Nicky D - Parting the red sea

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:45 pm

A lot of iPad 'in game' advertising is for slot machine and poker games which are targetted at kids. I find this worrying for the next generation.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:14 pm

Making gambling or the pokies illegal won't address the problem. People will always find ways to gamble if they're desperate enough and the so-called professionals always know which places to go to regardless of advertising or not.

Although, I'm worried about the rampant advertising of gambling in Australia, and this point was reaffirmed to me recently when a mate of mine went overseas to Europe and attended the French Open and now currently Wimbledon, and he cannot believe how little betting advertising European countries have in contrast to Australia which is rampant in comparison, yet we think it's normal because we've become so used to it. He said it was a real eye opener for him.

Gambling is also a massive issue for young people. I remember in year 12 on Friday afternoons when the school day was over, some fellow students I knew would sometimes ask me my thoughts on the upcoming footy weekend about certain matches, with me initially believing that it was just a chat about footy amongst mates until they told me they were heading down to the TAB to bet on multis and etc after school. One of those guys from what I've last heard is a gambling addict now and he's the same age as myself (22 years old).

I do worry about young kids analysing football through betting odds rather than through the actual form guide and referring to win-loss records, injuries and various other factors that will go some way to being able to predict the outcome of a match, and this is where the issue of advertising needs to be aimed towards

Personally, I've never betted on the footy and only betted once in the Melbourne Cup a few years back, but apart from that I've never been interested in it nor do I intend to pursue as an interest in the future.

The question of whether the club should be accumulating revenue through the pokies is a question of ethics and morals. Since it's legal at the moment, I don't really have a massive issue with it but I'd like to think long-term the club can find other ways to accumulate revenue that won't hurt the club's current hip-pocket in any shape or form.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:14 pm

matrix10 wrote:

Gambling is NOT NORMAL!

Actually I'd argue that gambling is innate to everyone in different levels. Risk/reward behaviour is part of being human.

matrix10 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 7:51 pm

matrix10 wrote:

Gambling is NOT NORMAL!

Actually I'd argue that gambling is innate to everyone in different levels. Risk/reward behaviour is part of being human.

Touch!
But ya know what I mean- an odd flutter on the cup or brownlow versus youngsters growing up thinking that betting on every match is normal.

@Jezza

Re: making it illegal and you (and many others) that make the long of saying it will just push it underground- people who want to will find a way.

Let them.

My issue is with my children and others growing up in a world that is saturated with BET NOW BET NOW advertising everywhere we turn.

I'm not necessarily for banning gambling- it serves a purpose to a part of society-

I want gambling advertising banned- from television and from sports arenas.

And from sponsoring sports teams!

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 8:00 pm

Ban gambling advertising? Agreed.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 2:22 am

No issue with banning or at the very least significantly reducing gambling advertising.

Sick of it being shoved in my face 24/7, especially when it comes to the footy.

blackmissionary Cancer

Lurker King

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:54 pm

Aside from the ethical issues, it's concerning that one of the biggest and wealthiest sporting clubs in the country doesn't seem to think that it can achieve adequate profitability without pokie revenue.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3