We stand by Ed!

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 1:02 pm

IMO: Eddie has been in overall terms great for our club.

He's done a hell of a lot more right than he does done wrong that's for sure.

However as we are all well aware he can make gaffes (who can't). His gaffes however have mostly been when he is with the yobbo's & boys of MMM or similar blokey media - he loses judgement & perspective. He sees Sam Newman as a friend which I have no doubt he is however the same Sam is a knob, a backward dinosaur of a different age who is a creep and a sexist bully - this doesn't help Ed anywhere except amongst a few idiots who belong in a distant age.

Ed has done a lot not just for Collingwood but for a range of social causes & I love him for all of that. His judgment however becomes clouded when he loses insight into the company he keeps (in the media) It's become an unfortunate spectacle when he demeans himself by keeping the broadcast company he does.

Eddie doesn't deserve derision.

I've previously & early on expressed compassion for his family in these tough times & continue to do so.

I wish him the best & hope to see him come bouncing back.

What tough times!!!!!!
The guy is rich and healthy.
He has had a political run in, that is all!
Friggin toughen up.
It really is pathetic modern man's responses to trivial matters.
If you run for political office then get use to the frying pan.
For god sake I just cannot believe the friggin concern about nothing.

That's true to a point but to simply say his rich & healthy does trivialize the things he's been going through.

It is a fall from grace & the higher one is the bigger the fall so to speak. Of course it's not a first world order issue but still recognize that beyond money & power their are falls & hurt.

It doesn't take too much to empathise.

"Modern man" indeed - that's a tad grandiose ol' son.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 1:10 pm

Good response WPT.
Yes "Modern Man" was a little over the top.
To be honest ... I think he is a bit of a sook.

Al Swearengen 

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 4:48 pm

Kwah-LeBaire wrote:
5 from the wing on debut wrote:
I have never understood the traditional football situation of Presidents of football clubs being oft quoted public figures in their clubs when the CEO's are normally in the background.

Ed's quoted because he's a star in his own right.

There are eighteen clubs, eighteen club Presidents.
How many of them can you name?

Eddie.
The flog from the Swans.

That's it.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 4:59 pm

Kwah-LeBaire wrote:
5 from the wing on debut wrote:
I have never understood the traditional football situation of Presidents of football clubs being oft quoted public figures in their clubs when the CEO's are normally in the background.

Ed's quoted because he's a star in his own right.

There are eighteen clubs, eighteen club Presidents.
How many of them can you name?

Without looking it up on Google.

1. Collingwood - Eddie McGuire
2. Carlton - Mark Logiudice
3. Richmond - Peggy O'Neal
4. Western Bulldogs - Peter Gordon
5. North Melbourne - James Brayshaw
6. Sydney - Andrew Pridham
7. Essendon - Lindsay Tanner
8. Port Adelaide - David Koch
9. Hawthorn - Andrew Newbold

Don't know the other half of the competition.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:48 pm

Song for Eddie.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5pECaW-VMI

Redlight 

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 8:25 pm

They are not full of envy and anger.
A lot think he is a wanker.
I have been told that numerous times by other opposition supporters.
The guy has no more power or influence than any other prez.
Collingwood supporters always over inflate everything.

Let me get this straight...you actually form your opinions of key Collingwood people based on what opposition supporters tell you?

OK then. You know, that actually explains a lot.

Pro tip - opposition supporters generally harbour a genuine dislike of Collingwood and most, if not all, of its personnel.

That's why I couldn't give a damn what opposition supporters think. Generally it's those people that are the 'wankers'.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 8:40 pm

That's a very good point^.I really couldn't care less what other supporters think about us.They hate everything about us,so who cares what they think?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 9:17 pm

I'm sick of the Collingwood Football Club being in the news for all the wrong reasons. I am totally over this crap and if Ed and Pert along with the rest of the board cannot focus on football then they should go. We used to be hated, now we are merely the club everyone laughs at.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 9:47 pm

18 years ... that is long enough for anybody whether good bad or indifferent.
Someone told me that norf has a use by date of 10 years for any president.
If true then we should do the same.
One of the problems with ed is ed.
I want the focus to be on collingwood not the prez like it as day after day.
And please don't use the slogan "side by side" to put down any different opinions.

I tend to agree, ed has had a pretty long and good run, a new broom sweeps clean, might be best all round if he moved on at seasons end, or come out and say early, that next year is his last at the helm. Thatd be best, gives the club plenty of notice to groom a new aspirant for the job of President. Idea

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:03 pm

Redlight wrote:
They are not full of envy and anger.
A lot think he is a wanker.
I have been told that numerous times by other opposition supporters.
The guy has no more power or influence than any other prez.
Collingwood supporters always over inflate everything.

Let me get this straight...you actually form your opinions of key Collingwood people based on what opposition supporters tell you?

OK then. You know, that actually explains a lot.

Pro tip - opposition supporters generally harbour a genuine dislike of Collingwood and most, if not all, of its personnel.

That's why I couldn't give a damn what opposition supporters think. Generally it's those people that are the 'wankers'.

First of all I would like to thankyou Redlight for your continual dialogue with me.
Even though I really give you a hard time.
So I thankyou for that.
But Redlight about 90% of the football population are anti collingwood
so does mean that they are all wankers!

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3