Post match. Pies down to Bulldogs. All comments please.

matrix10 

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 9:02 pm

bally12 wrote:
Some thoughts on players' efforts:

Jordy De Goey - fumbly, bad choices, looks tired, and needs a spell.
Fas - 20m out on your left..just bang it through mate. What's with right-foot banana crap. You have a left foot I hope? Geez we are lacking some class in the forward line. There's a Daicos coming through next yr..we can only hope.
Brody - liked what you have brought the last few weeks, although seem to suffer from ruckman-brain-fade disease. Tempted to have another look at Witts, as he had a good game in the 2's last week.
Maynard - you have similar gait to Stuart Dew. You have a powerful leg. Get a tape and watch how he used his left hand to guide the ball onto his boot and time his kicks. At the moment kicking is very wobbly. Make it a weapon.
Oxley - pretty poor again. Needs a lot more development. I guess we don't have anything better in the 2's at the moment.
Jesse White - 45m out...we needed that goal. You didn't make the distance. What to say? Outside of this, was good.
Treloar - 55m goal on the run. Yessss!!!! Boy have we missed this type of player. Will be a beauty for us.
Pendles - couple of bad errors. Forgive and forget.
Sidey - our most important player. Was a steal at pick 11 (pun intended).
Howe, Reid and Frost were great.
Coxy had some important touches. Gets involved. 1 more preseason working on agility and power, and he/we will be an unstoppable force.
Crocker - tracking nicely, lots to like.

Overall, gutsy performance today. We had the game on our terms until injuries hit. In truth, we should have been 5 goals up if we had some class in the forward half, and nailed our chances. Finals are gone I'm afraid, but at least we can go to the footy and be proud of this team.

agreed 100%

Also- huge effort by Levi to quell Bont.

Massive effort by the boys today- shame they couldn't get over the line- and bugger those injuries.

Doggy's are weasely buggers- throws, ducking, slipping out back for cheap kicks- not to mention umpires having different HTB interpretation for them.

A little sad, but very proud.

Go pies

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 9:07 pm

Can't be disappointed with the effort at all
4 weeks ago this side would have been beaten badly today we won 3 qtrs but just run out of steam
Some real positives today in Moore Reid Howe Pendles Smith were very good
A couple of negatives
Maynard looks like he needs a spell in the seconds to get some confidence up
Cox just was a bit off today but I'll cut him some slack
Varcoe wasn't his normal self today he needed to step up in the 4th as he had been quiet most of the day as a experienced player we needed more output from him
Sidey had 19 til half time but only 7 in the second half and only 1 in the last needed more from him
Overall we can't win a game when you only have 57 interchanges for a game
Injuries just unravelled our best efforts
We move on to next week knowing the players showed courage and guys today and that's a huge tick
Hope the injuries aren't to bad and we don't have to make wholesale changes

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 9:09 pm

bally12 wrote:
Some thoughts on players' efforts:

Jordy De Goey - fumbly, bad choices, looks tired, and needs a spell.
Fas - 20m out on your left..just bang it through mate. What's with right-foot banana crap. You have a left foot I hope? Geez we are lacking some class in the forward line. There's a Daicos coming through next yr..we can only hope.
Brody - liked what you have brought the last few weeks, although seem to suffer from ruckman-brain-fade disease. Tempted to have another look at Witts, as he had a good game in the 2's last week.
Maynard - you have similar gait to Stuart Dew. You have a powerful leg. Get a tape and watch how he used his left hand to guide the ball onto his boot and time his kicks. At the moment kicking is very wobbly. Make it a weapon.
Oxley - pretty poor again. Needs a lot more development. I guess we don't have anything better in the 2's at the moment.
Jesse White - 45m out...we needed that goal. You didn't make the distance. What to say? Outside of this, was good.
Treloar - 55m goal on the run. Yessss!!!! Boy have we missed this type of player. Will be a beauty for us.
Pendles - couple of bad errors. Forgive and forget.
Sidey - our most important player. Was a steal at pick 11 (pun intended).
Howe, Reid and Frost were great.
Coxy had some important touches. Gets involved. 1 more preseason working on agility and power, and he/we will be an unstoppable force.
Crocker - tracking nicely, lots to like.

Overall, gutsy performance today. We had the game on our terms until injuries hit. In truth, we should have been 5 goals up if we had some class in the forward half, and nailed our chances. Finals are gone I'm afraid, but at least we can go to the footy and be proud of this team.

Yes, some good observations there. The decline of Oxley has been surprising, as he looked the goods a few weeks ago. Now he looks slow, fumbly, amd as though he has lost his confidence in the air. Sinclair will be back soon, hopefully.
De goey is hopefully just having second/third year blues. He just doesn't seem the player he was, amd promised to be, last year.
I don't see it with Maynard. He looks a turnover specialist to me, amd just to lack the required smarts at this level.

While Oxley was likely the defender who had the least impact, thought he was okay, he's never been quick in terms of pace but generally uses the footy really well.

Maynard had more than 20 possies, 8-9 marks, 8-9 tackles... That was easily his best game in 2016. Poise and execution will come with experience. His willingness to take the game on today was important.

De Goey is a tough one. If we'd had a full list you'd imagine he'd have been back in the VFL by now. Given the injuries today he'll likely hold his spot.

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 9:14 pm

Woods wrote:
The game was lost by poor accuracy on goal.
Buckley post game:

“Forty-four insides for six goals in first three quarters and not taking advantage of our domination of the play for the most part of that was – we couldn’t put a gap in them and that cost us the game ultimately.”

And:

“We were right in it until we missed a couple of opportunities going inside fifty, gilt edged opportunities, which had been happening for most of the game, so we just needded to take those chances a couple of times. The Skipper, and the Fas on one occaision that was in the second quarter. No, we just missed some opportunities to take full toll while we had the chance."

He also said team effort was OK but of minimum standard required.

Said to Laz at 1/2 time missed opportunities would come back to haunt us, losing players just compounded that.

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 9:18 pm

Adams, Moore, Faz & Tooves in the stands in the last 1/4 might of had a bit to do with the result Smile

What a fantastic game, unlucky boys, great effort!

themonk 

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 9:23 pm

Adams, Moore, Faz & Tooves in the stands in the last 1/4 might of had a bit to do with the result Smile

Dido

Unfortunately todays injuries may have a huge impact on the season.
MightyMagpie 

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 9:34 pm

themonk wrote:

Dido

Unfortunately todays injuries may have a huge impact on the season.

Here you go: http://www.didomusic.com

jatsad 

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 9:36 pm

I said in the game day thread, you learn more from a loss, sometimes, than from a win.

Crocker is a player
Maynard tries hard, but he probably doesn't have it. He needs to give way to Sinclair or Williams next week
Cox will probably be a star, but he still has a lot to learn. Trav might get his chance next week.
Sidebottom may win the Brownlow this year under disqualification. He has become one of the 2-3 most important players in the league.

Were you watching the same game? Maynard played well and hit all his targets today, something Sinclair will never do. And he's a beast who takes them on. Leave him alone.

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 9:55 pm

A pretty good effort before and after the injuries. The first two and a half 1/4 was a good brand of footy which created plenty of opportunity for goals. We held on to the ball and denied them possession for long periods and I thought it was a worthy ploy but unfortunately those goals didn't come after good chains of general play.
It's good to see what we're doing out there now and with a bit of luck with injuries in the future and a forward line with some continuity and important ins, we're going to be alright.
Grundy is tracking along beautiful but now is the time we need him to also mark around the ground, it's our get out of jail card we need.
Same with cox. Those marks are important and if there not taking them a ground ball is a 50/50 contest we shouldn't have to be in.
Great tackle pressure gave us control of the game for long periods without the ball. They lost there structures because of it.
Oxley, he looks out of place in the afl atm but Langdon isn't much better fwiw. To slow and gets caught with ball and can turn it over. Will need to be replaced when the next is ready.

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 9:58 pm

jatsad wrote:
I said in the game day thread, you learn more from a loss, sometimes, than from a win.

Crocker is a player
Maynard tries hard, but he probably doesn't have it. He needs to give way to Sinclair or Williams next week
Cox will probably be a star, but he still has a lot to learn. Trav might get his chance next week.
Sidebottom may win the Brownlow this year under disqualification. He has become one of the 2-3 most important players in the league.

Were you watching the same game? Maynard played well and hit all his targets today, something Sinclair will never do. And he's a beast who takes them on. Leave him alone.

What he said.

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 10:18 pm

Eduardo clarified our injuries on MMM apparently if it hasn't already been posted.

Toovey - hospital concussion
Adams - hammie/knee
Fassy boy - shoulder /arm
Betty Crocker - ankle
Moore - broken collarbone

Sad ain't that a kick in the guts

Well we are F**ked Crying or Very sad

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 10:54 pm

jatsad wrote:

Crocker is a player

What he said.

What he said as well.

Neil Appleby wrote:
I'm not sure why all the doomsayer posters are here again saying we can't make finals. We were never going to make finals after our terrible start and really didn't deserve to. What we should be talking about, and thank goodness a lot of people can see this, is Collingwood's great effort today. Terribly undermanned, we kept at it and were not blown away. The young blokes are getting valuable time and games under their belts and they are playing with real aggression, passion and ability. I like the look of what's happening.

In any case, making finals was always a 50-50 in my book. I didn't think we'd be far off the mark and I reckon that might still be the case. It's all about finishing the season well and getting as many games as possible into Moore, DeGoey, Smith, Phillips, Cox and Maynard. Getting Sharenberg, Swanny and Ramsay back on the park won't hurt us either.

2017 and the next couple will see us in precisely the right position, provided Bucks's injury curse is put to rest.

Because we had 4 Injuries to 4 Important Players. Which weakens our Side quite a Bit.

Kids are good but Can't Expect them to Carry a Team

The Boy Who Cried Wolf wrote:
Why do we keep having injuries? Good effort and obviously things are slowly changing for the better, but regardless a loss is a loss anyway you look at it. But no cigar...

Thought you'd be back today, Jack. You were quiet last week.

And in one sense,yes, " a loss is a loss, any way you look at it". Of course. But some losses are like the loss to Carlton - weak, clueless and caused by factors within your control. Others are tough, hard-fought and caused by things you cannot control. Today was the latter. Not that I expect you see that, because it would require you to say something positive about Collingwood, when you can lift your eyes from the Hawks.

Brothers name is Jack, he's not here... in Europe, so I doubt he'll see your post.

But moving on... we are still a pretty average team with plenty of injuries but also plenty of excuses, we are still going to miss the finals this year (a 3peat, just like the Hawks... kinda...) and I personally still feel Bucks ain't good enough to win us a flag ever but besides that.. what's your point?

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 10:58 pm

The other takeaway is that, as expected, Cox is virtually useless against a good team defense. He doesn't clunk tough marks and also struggles to hold anything up the ground on the long lead.

We badly need Cloke playing to be a serious team. Unfortunately it looks as if his return will be too late for any finals chance.

The is when he is Putting in the Effort to do it

Page 7 of 10