Pre Match. Pies v. Bulldogs. All comments please.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 14, 15, 16  Next

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 11:32 am

^^^^ We kicked 13.8 against them last time and that wasn't good enough. On that occasion, our 3 best mids had 95 disposals between them (Swan 33, Sidey 33 and Pendles 29) and Moore kicked 5 goals. With those fine contributions - and very good goal-kicking, we still never looked like winning.
BBHS Cancer

bbhs

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 11:35 am

I think their mids still had more ball than ours last time. They have great ball winning in the middle of the ground and are super hard at the clearance. We have to be better than last week around the ball.

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 11:38 am

Why?
69 years a MAGPIE Libra

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 12:08 pm

We are good enough to beat the Doggies, particularly at the G. They play THAT covered-in place very well but the G is another matter. Should be hard and close but I am confident (tipping for 3 in a row). Interesting that they want to play us Rd 1 every year - I'd be happy with that but only at the G.

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 12:10 pm

^^^^^

Hearty congratulations for being a Collingwood supporter for 69 years. Laughing

Wow... Cool

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 12:12 pm

I will be watching the game from Baseball Heaven. Can you believe it, there is actually a place on Long Island New York called Baseball Heaven!

Oooooohhhh, what you doing in Yaphank mate?
Some sort of Memorial Day tournament I gather?
I know the joint you're talking about.

We're in full mode trials/training for u16 State Winter Champs here & all we get is a 2-day tourney trip up to Wangaratta in July...

69 years a MAGPIE Libra

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 12:52 pm

Thanks Lazza, heading towards 70 now. Seen all the bad times and the good ones. Always the optimist - have NEVER tipped against them in my life, even the days of The Weed and Cahill. I dream black and white, bleed black and white, only wear black and white, drink Guiness and live on a diet of licorice and icecream

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 1:13 pm

only one change: sinkers in, crocker/smith out.

pies by 15.

Reckon they'll be very conservative with Sinkers given his concussions this year.

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 1:25 pm

yin-YANG wrote:
Not sure when they are playing you should know you have a softie for them Smile so you are probably biased in your elevated opinion of them! I thought they played pretty boring footy against the Giants - maybe they were chasing too much tail - but they certainly looked second rate against the Giants - maybe on their home ground the giants will be doing that to all teams. But dogs really looked like a second rate club - pretty much like last year and nicely highlighted in the thread by a previous poster with their poor record away from the shitbox docklands.

i just recall a year or two back Murphy writing a disrespectful article about the pies and I thought that was annoying and typical of the dog Evil or Very Mad

Happy for you to think otherwise.

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 1:34 pm

69 years a MAGPIE wrote:
Thanks Lazza, heading towards 70 now. Seen all the bad times and the good ones. Always the optimist - have NEVER tipped against them in my life, even the days of The Weed and Cahill. I dream black and white, bleed black and white, only wear black and white, drink Guiness and live on a diet of licorice and icecream

Please don't take this in a patronising way but geez, I truly admire you! I can only claim to be a crazy magpie supporter for a mere 46 years but I one day hope to reach your current status. Imagine some of the stories you would be able to recall, especially for the benefit of some newbies here who dont seem to have that much of a grasp on Collingwood's amazing history. You really are an amazing asset to have on a forum such as Nick's. Exclamation

69 years a MAGPIE Libra

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 1:59 pm

Yeah Lazza, maybe a few. Season seats in the old Ryder Stand, linament wafting from below, thermos full of hot coffee or chocolate, mum and dad smoking, nicking off to collect bottles, into the rooms after the game. Older and a member of the SC - beer before the game, sometimes lunch, casual walk to the seat, smile or cry 2 hours later.
Days when we couldn't go listening to the radio and hating it when Melbourne beat us. Cape Cod (the smoked orange fish) for lunch, tomato soup and cheese for dinner watching a replay (if we won) going hungry when we lost.
Mate it has been heaven and hell but I'm still at it. And I still don't eat when we lose. Drives my wife nuts. BTW the first word my daughter learnt to say - "magpies". I kid you not.

dalyc Scorpio

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 2:03 pm

https://g.co/kgs/9gK8yc

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 5:15 pm

Steve wrote:
mattys123′s Round 10 Collingwood vs Western Bulldogs Match Preview is up on the site

http://www.magpies.net/nick/?p=1787

thanks Matt.

Thanks again for the link.

Great preview matty's123.

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 7:22 pm

COLLINGWOOD v WESTERN BULLDOGS

Sunday May 29 at MCG, 3:20pm

MAGPIES

B: A.Toovey, J.Frost, J.Howe

HB: T.Adams, B.Reid, J.Smith

C: T.Varcoe, A.Treloar, S.Sidebottom

HF: J.De Goey, D.Moore, J.White

F: A.Fasolo, M.Cox, J.Blair

R: B.Grundy, S.Pendlebury, J.Crisp

I/C from: J.Witts, J.Marsh, L.Greenwood, B.Sinclair, B.Maynard, B.Crocker, A.Oxley

IN: B.Sinclair, J.Witts, J.Marsh

BULLDOGS

B: M.Boyd, F.Roberts, D.Morris

HB: S.Biggs, M.Adams, E.Wood

C: L.Hunter, T.Liberatore, T.Dickson

HF: L.Picken, J.Stringer, T.McLean

F: T.Campbell, J.Redpath, L.Dahlhaus

R: J.Roughead, J.Macrae, M.Bontempelli

I/C from: M.Suckling, M.Wallis, W.Minson, J.Dunkley, B.Williams, C.Daniel, J.Adcock

IN: M.Boyd, W.Minson, M.Suckling, J.Redpath, M.Adams, J.Dunkley

OUT: K.Stevens (Abdominal), L.Jong (Suspension), K.Collins (Omitted)

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 7:36 pm

Bulldogs have some good ins. Don't expect any changes to the Collingwood side. It's going to be a very tough game.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 11 of 16