Social club?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 6:37 pm

September Zeros wrote:
So, Jez07, what do you actually like about Collingwood? Don't give a smartalec (well, an alec, anyway) answer to the question. What do you like?

From reading your posts, it obviously isn't:
- the games;
- the players;
- the coaching staff;
- the support staff;
- the administration; or
- the social club.

Perhaps there's something about Collingwood that attracts you that isn't in that list but I can't quite imagine what it might be.

Seriously, what do you actually like about Collingwood?

Did we get an answer to this?

Not sure he's interested in responding to anything that challenges his agenda.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 6:59 pm

And Jackcass you never have an agenda?
We are all innocent on Nicks instead of the Newbie...
Boy it is getting boring with the angst.
So what do you think of the social club?
Pity you can't go to Saturday nights club function.
It is not a sell out but a lock out!
The Plebs have been given a rogering on this!
Rumour has it that there is a Corporate function happening.
Good to see the members fees going to the Corporates.
I tell you what Jackcass.
I reckon you and Daz can set up a Bendigo chapter of the Collingwood social club.
Take down a few foldable chairs to the Mall,
grab yourself a Gillies pie and find a shop with a tv in the window.
Make sure that you have a sign with no sad saack agendas allowed!

Last edited by thompsoc on Thu May 12, 2016 7:08 pm; edited 2 times in total
Jez07 

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 7:06 pm

I don't know how one Collingwood member can defend the current setup at the Social Club.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 7:09 pm

Jez07 wrote:
I don't know.........

Edited to sum up your posts.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 7:09 pm

the glasshouse is a multi-purpose venue. it has a function room that sometimes operates as the social club. at other times it hosts corporate and other functions.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 7:17 pm

the glasshouse is a multi-purpose venue. it has a function room that sometimes operates as the social club. at other times it hosts corporate and other functions.

I know JW.
I don't care about having a corporate space.
I just reckon there should be a good happy space for the social club members.
And another space for the 1000's of pleb supporters.
These spaces should reflect the tradition and culture of collingwood.
At the moment the glashouse doesn't fill this multi role.

Jez07 

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 7:21 pm

It's much bigger than that. It's about forgetting and shunning your roots. The same group of people that funded the facility.

I remember in 2005 being a bit peeved at paying extra in my MCC membership subs to fund the new facility. But I soon forgot that when I started using the new facilities as the value for my money was enhanced, infact it was better than what I got before the new facilities.

It's not just the Social Club. I hear and speak to Legends members who pay $800 plus every year but have to share their area with opposition supporters. It's about respect of your members because if you show them no respect, they won't join up again when you need them.

And that time is about or has come.

Last edited by Jez07 on Thu May 12, 2016 7:21 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 7:21 pm

Your defence of the club on all issues is embarrassing.
If you are thinking of defending the club on the current state of social club facilities than that would disgust me.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 7:26 pm

I know JW.
I don't care about having a corporate space.
I just reckon there should be a good happy space for the social club members.
And another space for the 1000's of pleb supporters.
These spaces should reflect the tradition and culture of collingwood.
At the moment the glashouse doesn't fill this multi role.

i get what you're wanting. what has happened to the space where they had the small bar and outdoor area? is it a matter of the current design catering to the numbers they calculated or should it have been a "build it and they will come" proposition. given that it was funded by government money as much as anything else how do you appease the needs of everyone? damned if they do, damned of they don't. afaik, the club leases the holden centre space from the olympic park trust. i'm not sure whether that hamstrings them with what they can do.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 7:27 pm

CarringbushCigar wrote:

Your defence of the club on all issues is embarrassing.
If you are thinking of defending the club on the current state of social club facilities than that would disgust me.

it's not a defence. merely stating the facts. remove your bias when reading what i write.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 7:39 pm

I get what you are saying JW.
The fault doesn't just lie with Eddie.
Maybe we should not have gone to the Westpac centre years ago.
We have something now that has no soul
It does not have any inviting air about it.
I go to Edens fisherman club every holidays
That has more soul more spirit.
And on Saturday nights they put on a band for the old farts!

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 7:42 pm

^ i remember going to the clubs on the sapphire coast when younger. they certainly catered for everything and were the good old days.

i often thought the area that where the reception is was a let down for the supposedly biggest club in australia. they improved it by pilitting on display the cups and other memorabilia but is still understated.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 8:06 pm

Objects in the mirror are closer than they appear, and memories of the good old days are always better than they actually were.

The old Social Club at Vic Park was a derelict shithole. Like a 1950's style pub, it is obsolete and superseded.

If I want to go out to watch a Pies game and drink with other supporters, we own a few pubs where you can do that, or I can walk to my local RSL.

It's all well and good to sook about not having a facility where you can go to drink, play pokies and talk shit to others that has Collingwood stuff everywhere but realistically, if enough people were going to use it, we would have.

They won't, so we don't.

Jez07 

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 8:19 pm

Another bug bear of mine regarding the Social Club is Eddie promised the members that our memorabilia would be housed and on display in the new facility.

Instead it sits in a locked house in Collingwood for no one to see.

I had a look at Hawthorn's setup recently and they have a dedicated museum housing all their memorabila in their complex.

Another promise that Eddie has failed to deliver.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 8:28 pm

Jez07 wrote:
Another bug bear of mine regarding the Social Club is Eddie promised the members that our memorabilia would be housed and on display in the new facility.

Instead it sits in a locked house in Collingwood for no one to see.

I had a look at Hawthorn's setup recently and they have a dedicated museum housing all their memorabila in their complex.

Another promise that Eddie has failed to deliver.

Exactly - this is the area that I thought would be the priority in the new development. Not some overpriced corporate function room outsourced to his Toorak mates.
Anyway I'll reserve full judgement until I get to see what's available with my own eyes.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 7 of 9