Social club?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Jez07 

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 8:29 pm

CarringbushCigar wrote:
Jez07 wrote:
Another bug bear of mine regarding the Social Club is Eddie promised the members that our memorabilia would be housed and on display in the new facility.

Instead it sits in a locked house in Collingwood for no one to see.

I had a look at Hawthorn's setup recently and they have a dedicated museum housing all their memorabila in their complex.

Another promise that Eddie has failed to deliver.

Exactly - this is the area that I thought would be the priority in the new development. Not some overpriced corporate function room outsourced to his Toorak mates.

If anyone defends the museum not being there, when it was promised, they simply aren't Collingwood supporters.

All our prized memorabilia sits in a house in Collingwood under lock and key for no one to see. It's one of the most shameful acts made by any Collingwood president in the history of this club.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 9:34 pm

Notice they are silent on that one Jez07.
The lollipopers are only interested in tripping you up.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 9:37 pm

more likely tired of his aggressive condemnation of anyone that has a different view to his. besides, for many it is probably not that big an issue. we don't need to go toe to toe on everything.

call it being uncollingwood but it's not something that's ever bothered me.

Jez07 

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 9:42 pm

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/magpie-fan-donates-15-million-memorabilia-collection-20140826-108t32.html

Collingwood is hoping to eventually have the Collingwood-specific donated items form part of a museum-like display at the club.

Eddie told us at the Members Forum that year that this museum would be the cornerstone of the new Glasshouse facility.

Instead the Glasshouse has been taken over by his Toorak mates.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 10:07 pm

IMHO if he isn't a troll he's an <snip, there is no need for this, cut it out - bbmods> pushing an agenda and not worth engaging with.

But that's just my opinion.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 10:11 pm

IMHO if he isn't a troll he's an <snip, there is no need for this, cut it out - bbmods> pushing an agenda and not worth engaging with.

fair point.
He may think the same about you.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 10:13 pm

Jez07 wrote:
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/magpie-fan-donates-15-million-memorabilia-collection-20140826-108t32.html

Collingwood is hoping to eventually have the Collingwood-specific donated items form part of a museum-like display at the club.

Eddie told us at the Members Forum that year that this museum would be the cornerstone of the new Glasshouse facility.

the words "looking" and "hoping" don't sound very definitive. there's still time to establish a museum over and above what's on display in the reception area.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 10:14 pm

fair point.

fair point. I don't care what anyone thinks of me, let alone him so play on.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 10:17 pm

fair point.

fair point. I don't care what anyone thinks of me, let alone him so play on.

Well we finally we agree on something.
We should crack a beer on that!

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 10:33 pm

No. Sorry, I won't until I feel like it. You can keep snipping or do something.

<Mod edit: Yes, you will. Consider this a warning - bbmods>

<Snip. You've already been carded once. Don't push your luck - bbmods>

Last edited by stui magpie on Thu May 12, 2016 10:51 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 10:38 pm

Mate, I'd happily have a beer with you, even though we tend to disagree a lot. Wink

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 10:40 pm

Mate, I'd happily have a beer with you, even though we tend to disagree a lot. Wink

thanks

nomadjack 

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 10:44 pm

Jez07 wrote:

the words "looking" and "hoping" don't sound very definitive. there's still time to establish a museum over and above what's on display in the reception area.

It's no big deal to me either, but it is for many people. Given the financial position of the club there is no excuse for the lack of delivery in these areas; the overpriced functions; and the crap merchandise quality etc. Its an area where the club needs to improve significantly.
STOKA35 Capricorn

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 10:47 pm

Objects in the mirror are closer than they appear, and memories of the good old days are always better than they actually were.

The old Social Club at Vic Park was a derelict shithole. Like a 1950's style pub, it is obsolete and superseded.

If I want to go out to watch a Pies game and drink with other supporters, we own a few pubs where you can do that, or I can walk to my local RSL.

It's all well and good to sook about not having a facility where you can go to drink, play pokies and talk shit to others that has Collingwood stuff everywhere but realistically, if enough people were going to use it, we would have.

They won't, so we don't.

First commonsense post on here. As I have mentioned as well what current AFL club has an old 1970's style social club none.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 11:16 pm

STOKA35 wrote:
Objects in the mirror are closer than they appear, and memories of the good old days are always better than they actually were.

The old Social Club at Vic Park was a derelict shithole. Like a 1950's style pub, it is obsolete and superseded.

If I want to go out to watch a Pies game and drink with other supporters, we own a few pubs where you can do that, or I can walk to my local RSL.

It's all well and good to sook about not having a facility where you can go to drink, play pokies and talk shit to others that has Collingwood stuff everywhere but realistically, if enough people were going to use it, we would have.

They won't, so we don't.

Well the

First commonsense post on here. As I have mentioned as well what current AFL club has an old 1970's style social club none.

Well the 2016 version of the social club is a bloody beauty.
No one there!!!!
That is so great because the big group can fit in another corporate gig.
Can't even get a crowd together for a saturday night gig.
So the social club and glasshouse are working fine for the supporters ?

Last edited by thompsoc on Fri May 13, 2016 11:05 am; edited 1 time in total

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 8 of 9