Another debutant soon?

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 7:00 pm
Post subject: Another debutant soon?Reply with quote

I realise we've already used more players by far than any other team, and hopefully we can soon begin to field a settled side.....but......does anyone else think Wills looks to have the skills and the physique to make an immediate impact at senior level? While Langdon and Sinclair are the obvious inclusions for this week, perhaps sometime over the next 2-3 weeks Wills might be given a chance to debut. He's built like a beast and I reckon we could do with some more size and fair dinkum grunt around the packs, given that Treloar, Adams, Sinclair, Blair, Smith and Aish are all smallish.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 7:06 pm

What's happened to Phillips? I had high hopes for him when he beat Sidders in the time trial, looking at the VFL stats he only had 6 or 7 touches on the weekend, maybe he's looking for love in the all the wrong places?

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 7:13 pm

Well Ive only caught two VFL games so far this season and in both he certainly caught my eye, particularly vs the borough.

Has some good size and seems to compete well in the air.

Given who we have debuted this season so far....I don't see why he shouldn't be looked at. I guess you would want him to outperform Gault consistently for a time first and then pull the trigger.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 7:37 pm

Ben Crocker will be the best of the lot of them.

Has an amazing leap and mark for his size.

He will be the Jamie Elliott replacement long term should Billy never get fully over his injuries.

He will take time though, but would love to see him get a few senior games this year.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 7:43 pm

mattys123 wrote:

He will be the Jamie Elliott replacement long term should Billy never get fully over his injuries.

He will take time though, but would love to see him get a few senior games this year.

l
My oath, get him in now, he has something alright.

Flags out of reach this year, lets blood some young 'uns

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 8:10 pm

mattys123 wrote:

I like him too Matty. In fact I had him penciled in to replace Howe, but Howe played a reasonable game on Monday, so he may have to wait a bit longer.
Rick Taurus

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:20 pm

I hope Wills comes in against the Blues.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:44 pm

Phillips,Crocker and Wills all look good at VFL Level. I can see all 3 at least getting 1 Game
Dangles 

Balmey Army

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:46 pm

I liked the look of Crocker the other day. He looks like a good mover with silky skills. Once he adjusts to senior footy I reckon he'll be a classy player.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:54 pm

mattys123 wrote:

Well, Ben Crocker shouldn't have to wait too long for a senior player to put in a "Barry Crocker", to get his chance then...

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:59 pm

Crocker is the one who impresses me the most at training and watching him play in the VFL. Made the most of limited opportunities against Essendon reserves. Doesn't get a lot of kicks but is a solid mark and accurate kick at goals. Defends well by running both ways at the football. Still a very light footballer who need to put on a few kilos to his frame. Wills is the opposite. Needs to shed a few kilos if he wants to run out matches.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 10:19 pm

Haven't seen much of these guys but was very impressed with Rupert Wills on telly a few weeks ago against Port. Only the one game I've seen but he looked a class above.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:06 am

Bob Sugar wrote:
What's happened to Phillips? I had high hopes for him when he beat Sidders in the time trial, looking at the VFL stats he only had 6 or 7 touches on the weekend, maybe he's looking for love in the all the wrong places?

Only played a 1/2, held over as an emergency for Monday.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 1:26 am

FrankieGoesToCollingwood wrote:
Haven't seen much of these guys but was very impressed with Rupert Wills on telly a few weeks ago against Port. Only the one game I've seen but he looked a class above.

yeah, but you know where we are as a team when we are still thinking rookies have a real chance to make an impact. Long way to go before we threaten the best sides!

derkd 

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:48 am

Can anyone tell me how Sier is going? slow developer? I have not had a chace to see any VFL this year.