Sinkers is no stinker

didick 

didick

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 2:03 pm

Woods wrote:
Another very worthy effort from Sinclair in an otherwise less than outstanding night against Richmond.

5 tackles
4 marks
4 one-percenters
18 disposals (9 kicks, 9 handballs)
disposal efficiency a whopping 94.4%.

Gave away one free for a high tackle in the Richmond goal square that resulted in a goal. But there is no doubt that it was a text book legal tackle. Very poor umpiring decision.

Clearly wasn't a high tackle though.

Woods Capricorn

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 2:10 pm

didick wrote:
Woods wrote:
Another very worthy effort from Sinclair in an otherwise less than outstanding night against Richmond.

5 tackles
4 marks
4 one-percenters
18 disposals (9 kicks, 9 handballs)
disposal efficiency a whopping 94.4%.

Gave away one free for a high tackle in the Richmond goal square that resulted in a goal. But there is no doubt that it was a text book legal tackle. Very poor umpiring decision.

Clearly wasn't a high tackle though.

??

Didn't I say it was "a text book legal tackle" ?
didick 

didick

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 5:20 pm

Sorry mate, I should not post after only skimming over others. We agree.
MightyMagpie 

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 5:27 pm

The thing that I noticed about Sinclair was that he is now taking overhead contested marks ... I don't remember that from previous years.

They are not there yet, but I can see the makings of a potent rebounding backline with Sinclair, Williams and Ramsay (smalls) and Reid, Langdon, Oxley (medium/talls). Even Frost made an aggressive foray forward last night.

Marsh and Maynard each have the potential to overtake the above as well, but they aren't there yet.

Woods Capricorn

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 5:47 pm

didick wrote:
Sorry mate, I should not post after only skimming over others. We agree.

No worries.
Woods Capricorn

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:31 pm

After Sinkers excellent performance against the Blues I thought this thread deserved a mid-season bump.

In top form at the moment - breaking lines, spearing passes inside 50, courageous smothers, intercept marks etc etc.

A great team lifter. Keep it up Sinkers.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:42 pm

Agreed timely bump.
Best game of his career in my opinion last week.

Great running and neat disposal.
Sensational smother.

We need him to pull the trigger more often with his feet and take risks, he is showing slight improvement.
His handball is not creative yet.
He is still a liability in the air more often than not.

For someone who usually picks up their least dangerous defender we need him to be doing it more often.
I'd have to be his harshest critic but credit where its due - he played a great 2nd half v Carlton.

Last edited by CarringbushCigar on Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:49 pm; edited 3 times in total
Benno Sagittarius

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:43 pm

First half, whilst finding the footy a fair bit, was absolutely woeful with disposal.

Second half was much better.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:49 pm

Second-best on the ground after Pendlebury, according to the aggregate votes of the two coaches.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 7:04 pm

The kid has plenty of skill, courage and football smarts. All he's ever needed was a decent run of injury-free football. Let's hope he continues his good form, as we desperately need players with pace and he has plenty of it.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 8:07 pm

Second-best on the ground after Pendlebury, according to the aggregate votes of the two coaches.

Had him in my 5-1 votes behind Pendles, Reid and Grundy. Think people overstate his less than perfect disposals while being overly tolerant on others. I can think of 1 pass that cleared the head of the lead up player (Cloke) and was marked out the back by Weitering, and 1 cross into the midfield that was more about the decision than the execution, was cut off by Kruz and Sinkers went back into defense, crashed a pack and orchestrated a follow up D50 clearance. Had 24 disposals, 19 considered effective so just under 80%DE. More than offset by the run and carry he offers.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 11:00 pm

Just forget DE already.
The clear problem with Sinclair is all he tries to do is hit blokes on the chest in shit positions. He is very good at it.
It's clowns like some supporters and probably our coach who think DE is it and a bit.
The elite kicks of the comp, Suckling and Walker for example don't go at 80% DE.
They will have their share of clangers but they will improve and they'll create more and more goals each year with their ever improving gifts.
Bkash 

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 11:51 pm

Got good line breaking pace ... Can't deny that. Needs more support from midfield clearances and needs to make good judgement calls when( kicking ) other than that .. Long term CFC players no doubt a

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 11:21 am

The kid has plenty of skill, courage and football smarts.

Well, one of the three anyway.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 4:45 pm

Looks great running of half back today.

Page 4 of 7