Nanny state garbage

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 6:26 pm
Post subject: Nanny state garbageReply with quote

The latest new "toy" is a mini segway with no handles. Picture a mini skateboard that you stand on with your feet side by side, normal standing posture, with a wheel on each end powered by electric motors.

You steer, accelerate and brake using balance and they're very controllable. I saw some in Vegas, people using them on footpaths, even going in and out of plazas. People using them were able to easily match their pace to the walking pace of pedestrians around them, no issues.

I saw a kid using one at the local Sunday market last weekend, roaming along at walking pace with his parents, occasionally zooming off, then coming back.

The most expensive are capable of speeds up to 25kmh, slightly faster than the Pies players would have been running in the 2km time trial. Most top out at 12kmh, fast walking or slow jogging pace.

So our brain damaged officials have declared that because of the power rating of the motors it needs to be classified the same as a car or motor cycle, requiring a licence, registration etc, and can't be used on footpaths etc.

What an utter crock of shite. Rolling Eyes

Razor scooters and skateboards can go just as fast if not faster, have the same capacity for injury to the user and others, yet aren't restricted.

Cyclists can go a hell of a lot faster and cause a lot more damage to pedestrians because of it, yet are allowed in shared spaces.

FFS, can we lighten up a bit and tell the cotton wool warriors to climb back into their safe padded box?

Here's the article in the Herald Sun.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/law-order/hoverboards-face-tough-road-law-restrictions-in-victoria/news-story/6e2572d15a52d76b93f13e171b130931

Ignore the description of Hoverboard. It's not a fkn hoverboard, it has wheels. It doesn't hover, it rolls.

I deliberately titled this thread as a generic as I expect that I and others will be able to come up with lots more examples of nanny state bullshit. Mad

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 6:39 pm

I just watched that on the news, it looks like another money grab via license, rego and insurance.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 6:50 pm

The actual items are very cool. I was sorely tempted to buy one in the US but luckily although I was pretty drunk I wasn't totally magotted enough to fork over $1200 US

Wink

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 6:56 pm

I have no Interest in that at all.

Looks like it can be Dangourse on the Road or on the Footpath

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 7:05 pm

On the road, yep. On the footpath, no more than a scooter, skateboard or cycle.

Check out the video here http://myjyro.com/ I can see you hoovering along from the stations to the footy on one of these. Wink

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:15 pm

They're not hoverboards if they have wheels Razz

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:05 pm

Saw motorised skateboards being sold on the Gold Coast last year, from memory, the guy said they had a top speed of 30k and no restrictions on them.

12km/h .... a slow jog or fast walk you reckon Stui?
You'll be up for the GC marathon nrxt year and will smash the 4hr mark at your fast walk/slow jog pace, you'll be close to 3hrs 30 minutes 😉!!

Bucks5 Capricorn

Nicky D - Parting the red sea

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:08 pm

Victoria isn't the only nanny state to ban them:

http://www.skynews.com.au/culture/offbeat/2015/11/24/nsw-roads-minister-bans--hoverboards-.html

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:14 pm

Saw motorised skateboards being sold on the Gold Coast last year, from memory, the guy said they had a top speed of 30k and no restrictions on them.

12km/h .... a slow jog or fast walk you reckon Stui?
You'll be up for the GC marathon nrxt year and will smash the 4hr mark at your fast walk/slow jog pace, you'll be close to 3hrs 30 minutes 😉!!

Yeah, well I don't reckon the Pies boys could keep their 2km time trial pace up for 42k either. Razz Wink

King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:20 pm

Had to laugh at the "hoverboard" description.
Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."