Training Report No.1 (2015/16)

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 12:49 pm
Post subject: Training Report No.1 (2015/16)Reply with quote

The 1-4 year players returned from their holidays to a hot, sunny morning for the first training session of the year.

The Glasshouse restaurant was closed, apparently it opens tomorrow, so there was no brekkie or coffee for the die-hards who turned up this morning. I reckon there were 20 plus supporters waiting for a quite late start of 10am.

Jack Crisp was the first player to emerge through the new Glasshouse entrance, which was to be a consistent theme of the morning. Crisp led the sprints (with Taylor Adams also prominent) and easily won the 2 km time trial.

Jeremy Howe wasn’t in attendance, but a smiling James Aish was, as were Adam Treloar, GWS youngster, Tim Gold and new Rookie, Darrean Wyatt.

The players started off with the usual stretching and gentle jogs before splitting into two groups to run 50 metre jogs, building up to sprints. Jack Frost and Adam Treloar did not take part in these or any other drills and walked laps and did some gentle jogging.

Treloar will obviously be on a moderated programme for the early pre-season due to the 'secret surgery' in Hobart. Perhaps Frost has also had some surgery, but I’m not sure about this.

Jack Crisp has obviously worked hard over the break; he looks in great shape and led the first few running drills. Taylor Adams looks sharp too and he won one of the sprints easily.

Trainers were kept busy hydrating the players after the sprints, before the players moved the Glasshouse side to ready for the 2 km time trial.

Jack Crisp and Tim Gold were fast out of the blocks and led all the way through.

2km Time Trial - Finishing Order:
1. Jack Crisp (6:36)
2. Gold (6:39)
3. Elliott (6:44)
4. Broomhead (6:45)
5. Goodyear
6. Sharenberg
7. Witts
8. Williams (6:59)
9. Moore
10. Cox
11. Maynard
12. Oxley (7:09)
13. Grundy (7:17)

Adams, Aish, Gault, Treloar, Frost, Wyatt didn't run.

Next the players picked up the Sherrins and did kicking drills. I kept a close eye on James Aish here and his skills are elite.

I had to leave at this stage, but I do want to make a few final observations.

•Broomhead is in great shape - he’s obviously worked hard over the break. Let’s hope he stays injury free.

•Another player who looks in magnificent shape is Matty Sharenberg. For the first time he was able to begin a preseason with the rest of his young teammates. He really is a beautiful mover.

Training will be held again Wednesday and Friday at 9:30 a.m. according to Bill Davoren. Next week the players will be on a camp in Queensland.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:01 pm

Thanks for the first training report of the off-season Neil! Great report!

Great to hear Broomhead is in great shape after a season-ending injury and seeing Scharenberg train with the main guys would create great optimism for the players and supporters.

What were your early thoughts on Aish?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:12 pm

Thanks Neil. Always enjoy your pre season reports and hopefully the first of many.
I notice no mention of Jackson Ramsay, possibly also on a modified program for now ?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:15 pm

Thanks for the report Neil.

Interested to know what Tim Golds looks like with a football in his hands.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:16 pm

Thanks Neil. Always enjoy your pre season reports and hopefully the first of many.
I notice no mention of Jackson Ramsay, possibly also on a modified program for now ?
Hm. Alright then. OK I will tell them when I see 'em.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:24 pm

A very good friend of myself rates Aish very high.
I trust his opinion more than anyone.
So for Neil to talk about his elite skills is sweet music indeed.
I love Neil Appleby training reports - they are great.

uuuuu..... The LoneSTAR 

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:24 pm

Back into it again - Love these training reports - Thanks a HEAP!!!!!!!
Can I ask, do they run the 2ks just doing laps around the oval?.. And how do you know the times they ran?
winpies Scorpio

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:26 pm

Thanks Neil, always appreciate it for those of us not in Vic.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:29 pm

Great report as usual Neil. Much appreciated.
Harrysz 

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:32 pm

Thanks Neil.
Very much appreciated!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:46 pm

You are Keen to be there Day 1 of Pre-Season.

Thanks for it and Looking Forward to more that will come

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:48 pm

Intresting Aish did not run

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:52 pm

Simply brilliant reading, especially for us country folks who cant just "drop in" for a hour or so to watch Collingwood training. Very much appreciated Neil. Cool
GlovemanGayfer Taurus

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:12 pm
Post subject: Re: Training Report No.1 (2015/16)Reply with quote

Neil Appleby wrote:

7. Witts
8. Williams (6:59)
9. Moore
10. Cox
11. Maynard
12. Oxley (7:09)
13. Grundy (7:17)

Thanks Neil. Witts finishing in front of anyone other than another ruckman is very interesting (particularly a rebounding half back). Athletically he seems to have incredible potential.
Leggie Aries

Bucks for PM.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:14 pm

Thanks Mate.
Great read.
Bring on 2016.

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4