Bold trade: Jack Frost & Paul Seedsman for Aish!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:02 pm

Inxs you bold one you.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:18 pm

Inxs you bold one you.

Yes! Not a lot of love here for this trade. I wonder if anyone regrets the:

* Adams for Shaw (plus salary cap contribution) deal?
* Broomhead/Ramsay for Dawes deal?
* Varcoe for Lumumba
* De Goey, Greenwood, Crisp for Beams deal?
* Scharenberg for Daisy deal?

Reckon a lot of the bloggers here would have been doubtful on the worthiness of some of the above trades before they happened!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:47 pm

inxs88 wrote:
Inxs you bold one you.

* Varcoe for Lumumba

Reckon a lot of the bloggers here would have been doubtful on the worthiness of some of the above trades before they happened!

My only issue with your point is that all of the above ( except Dawes ) are flankers or running types and are easier to replace. I wouldn't be letting go a young KPD who has played virtually every game in last two years for James Aish.
I don't see much difference between broomhead and Aish. They are both tidy players but do we need another one at the expense of Frost.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 12:04 am

So one of the most promising KPDs in the league, and a player who presents on exposed form as a better player both bundled together for Aish. Do you think we might need to sweeten the deal with a draft pick?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 12:12 am

inxs88 wrote:
Inxs you bold one you.

* Varcoe for Lumumba

I was positive or neutral about all of those deals, but just because some deals worked out doesn't mean that all would be good.

We're looking to improve our team. If we are trading for Aish the best outcome would be to do so without giving up any best 22 players. That's what is important to us at this stage of development, draft picks are less important. Trading two players for one is also something you always want to be careful about. Even more careful when one of those has been a fixture of the side for two years and is a young key position player.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 12:16 am

So one of the most promising KPDs in the league, and a player who presents on exposed form as a better player both bundled together for Aish. Do you think we might need to sweeten the deal with a draft pick?

You're becoming a "cliché of contrary"!

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 12:26 am

^^ shucks, thanx!

Just curious which foot we should shoot ourselves in?

Last edited by jackcass on Fri Sep 04, 2015 12:28 am; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 12:28 am

inxs88 wrote:
Inxs you bold one you.

* Varcoe for Lumumba

Not sure of you were around at the time of those deals, but there was, as you would imagine, a lot of talk about the merits of each. The only contentious one was the Heath Shaw trade. Many Collingwood people saw Shaw as untouchable. He was also undermining the group on field and had to go. Beams for his own reasons left. KPD are a rare commodity just now; hell every club is trying to find one. Why would we give them out most reliable defender for an outside, albeit talented, mid? Makes no sense at all.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 1:12 am

No. Daft idea. Why not offer them Cloke and Brown as well?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:15 am
Post subject: Re: Bold trade: Jack Frost & Paul Seedsman for Aish!Reply with quote

inxs88 wrote:
Lets take away that initial Pies hubris and emotion. The Lions are a revolving door of player discontent for years namely:

* Yeo
* Karnezis (ok slight exaggeration)
* Docherty
* Polec
* Patfull
* Longer
* Crisp
* Brennan
* Ritschichelli
* Bradshaw
* Corrie (yes that's a stretch)

plus soon to be:

* Redden
* Leuenberger
* Aish etc...

So they need to win a PR battle in the "player attraction stakes" and as such players like Seedsman and J Frost would fit an age, structural and culture profile with the Brisbane Lions.

Frost: let's be really really honest. Is there room for 4 low ball getters and awkward disposers of the pill (Marley, Brown, Toovey) in one backline? He would command a solid second round draft pick.
With Reid , Marsh and Brown available Frost may be surplus to genuine requirements and he won't get any better in terms of skills and ball usage.

Seedsman:: his good is good and his poor is horrible. As I say to my mates he was pick 76 for a reason. His speed, long range kicking and passion for the Pies is undoubted however his handball, fumbling tendencies and poor ball usage when in close is a major hindrance. Like a good share he would easily command a solid second round draft pick based on "outside list manager assessment".

The above saves our draft picks for Treloar, another player or a good draft selection Ultimately we need talent with sure foot skills.

LIKE!!!

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:21 am

Neil Appleby wrote:
Why so little respect for Frosty? He's been our most consistent defender over the last two years. He's a complete team player who sacrifices his own game for his team mates. There are those here on Nick's who are critical of his kicking; sure he doesn't get a lot of it and when he does he's more likely to dish off, but he is a reasonably good user of the ball in my opinion. Yep, just checked that and rather surprisingly, he ranks at number 6 in the AFL for av. disposal effectiveness per game at 87.33%.

There's no way this boy is going to be traded away.

Neil.Seriously mate. Frost needs to learn that footy is about getting the ball and disposing of it to some one ,in your OWN team who is in a position "Somewhere"down field,closer to goal.NOT the other way round.Ineffectively TRYING to punch the ball does not count as "Sacrificing" his game.
He is slow,cumbersome and as scary with the ball as Keefe ever was. Marsh will take his place and there will be no permanent place in the team.Get what we can for him.
Cuthbert Collingwood Aquarius

Once was on fire, now all at sea

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:44 am

I think this young backman deserves a contract. Did brilliantly in the first half of the year and tired under the second half onslaught. Remember Brown and Reid are very brittle....

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:17 am

inxs88 wrote:
Inxs you bold one you.

* Varcoe for Lumumba

We can't trade frost anyway, he's a rookie.

dalyc Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:52 am

mudlark wrote:
Neil Appleby wrote:
Why so little respect for Frosty? He's been our most consistent defender over the last two years. He's a complete team player who sacrifices his own game for his team mates. There are those here on Nick's who are critical of his kicking; sure he doesn't get a lot of it and when he does he's more likely to dish off, but he is a reasonably good user of the ball in my opinion. Yep, just checked that and rather surprisingly, he ranks at number 6 in the AFL for av. disposal effectiveness per game at 87.33%.

There's no way this boy is going to be traded away.

Neil.Seriously mate. Frost needs to learn that footy is about getting the ball and disposing of it to some one ,in your OWN team who is in a position "Somewhere"down field,closer to goal.NOT the other way round.Ineffectively TRYING to punch the ball does not count as "Sacrificing" his game.
He is slow,cumbersome and as scary with the ball as Keefe ever was. Marsh will take his place and there will be no permanent place in the team.Get what we can for him.

Is this the same slow and cumbersome player that eluded and then ran away from Buddy Franklin in one of his first games?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 11:27 am

neil wrote:
Why the **** would Frost and Seedsman want to go to Brisbane if it is as bad as you suggest

Laughing Laughing Never a truer statement spoken!