We can win the flag this year

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:45 pm
Post subject: We can win the flag this yearReply with quote

Having just lost the past two games, this may seem a strange post, but the way we have physically matched it with the current two best sides in the comp these past weeks has made me more optimistic than ever about our chances. Seriously we should have beaten the Hawks by 5 goals, such was our all round dominance, and we only lost to the Dockers because Grundy was unavailable. Prior to last night's game, I was worried our relative youth would render us uncompetitive physically against the biggest and the best. Not any more. We actually physically pulverised the Hawks last night. With Grundy, Seedsman, Goldsack, Scharenberg, Greenwood, Sinclair and even Kennedy, pushing for inclusions, we can only get better between now and September.

So I'm not saying we will win the flag, but fair dinkum, we're in with a real chance. Forget this bullsh@t about 2017-18 being our Premiership window. Our window is open right now, this year! So come on Pies, start lifting your expectations and as Bucks said, allow yourselves to play great football. we're no longer solid battlers, we're the real deal. so anyone who was planning holidays in September.....cancel them. Pies in 2015!

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:54 pm

I agree - not beyond the realms of possibility, although the younger crew will tire as the year continues.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:56 pm

Brucey, love the optimism mate, but even if we do land a spot in the eight, I reckon we can expect 2-3 weeks of interstate finals.
It seems like Mission Impossible this year, but stranger things have happened...
Can we get past a desperate Port Power next week, or have the players hit the wall already, is the immediate question.

Dyso

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:57 pm

Premiership teams beat the other contenders. Doesn't matter how close you get, you need to win.

We've been really good the past two weeks, but we need to find a way to beat the top 4 teams.

droversdog65 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 7:07 pm

Much and all as I'd love to snag a flag we are just probably 15 - 20 games short of experience for this young group.

It's coming if the injury gods are kind but not this year.
Dangles 

Balmey Army

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 7:13 pm

Can't do it from outside the top four. No one can this year because the comp is too even for any team to win four finals in a row. But if we can sneak into the top four we're a chance.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 7:17 pm

Dangles wrote:
Can't do it from outside the top four. No one can this year because the comp is too even for any team to win four finals in a row. But if we can sneak into the top four we're a chance.

surely that's as good a case as any for a team to win from outside the top four.

Dangles 

Balmey Army

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 8:16 pm

Dangles wrote:

surely that's as good a case as any for a team to win from outside the top four.

No. Because when teams are so even having a week's rest and not having to travel while your opponent has to travel and play every week is a huge advantage. Although you might get lucky and make the GF against another team who had to play every week too. So there's always that.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 8:23 pm

Premiership teams beat the other contenders. Doesn't matter how close you get, you need to win.

We've been really good the past two weeks, but we need to find a way to beat the top 4 teams.

Well actually you only have to beat them once.
MightyMagpie 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 8:27 pm

No doubt there are home ground and travel advantages built into the AFL finals fixtures, but given the way we played vs Freo (at Subi) and vs Hawks we can give it a real shake if we can continue that form. Top 4 is possible, but very hard now. Top 8 we should make unless form drops off.

I'm not putting any limits on what we can achieve this season. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 8:30 pm

Dangles wrote:

No. Because when teams are so even having a week's rest and not having to travel while your opponent has to travel and play every week is a huge advantage. Although you might get lucky and make the GF against another team who had to play every week too. So there's always that.

A week off during finals is a bonus but not having 1 doesn't automatically mean it's impossible. Only reason we haven't seen it is that there has been clear differences in the quality of the top 4 relative to the bottom 4 in the 8 but as you've indicated, that gap is closing. It will happen that a team in the 5-8 group wins 1, it's just a matter of when.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 8:39 pm

WhyPhilWhy? wrote:
I agree - not beyond the realms of possibility, although the younger crew will tire as the year continues.

We have quite a few alternatives though that can come in, share the load and keep the side as competitive.

If we can keep our list healthy then we have some of the best depth in the league.

Sadly last night we mightn't have only just lost the game but lost our chance to make top 4.

We will basically need to gain 6 points on Hawthorn and 10 points on West Coast (should they beat Melbourne) before the end of the season to overtake them because of the percentage difference.

Both those sides have some difficult games to come and do at least play each other while we play West Coast in two weeks time.

Win the next 2 games and we're still in with a chance of top 4.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 8:41 pm

The four weeks from Freo to West Coast are like finals starting outside of the top 4.

To win the flag, you have to win four consecutive games against top 8 teams. Lose and your out.

So far, we'd have been eliminate week 1.

No chance of a flag this year as we can't beat four top 8 teams in consecutive weeks.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 8:43 pm

NO, we are not ready yet, too inexperienced, too raw, and i would loathe making a GF with these kids and losing badly to one of the big nasty, boys. However, at rate of our improvement, 2017 looms large and very promising, and swans and piss and poop would have dropped off by then too, thank god.!

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 10:38 pm

The four weeks from Freo to West Coast are like finals starting outside of the top 4.

To win the flag, you have to win four consecutive games against top 8 teams. Lose and your out.

So far, we'd have been eliminate week 1.

No chance of a flag this year as we can't beat four top 8 teams in consecutive weeks.

Only if you assume that the results from the last game guarantee the outcome of the next. Every new contest the scoreboard starts at 0.0 - 0.0

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4