Varcoe: I'm a convert

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 11:16 am
Post subject: Varcoe: I'm a convertReply with quote

Thought he was a downhill skier at Geelong. Wasn't happy at all with the trade preseason.

But now: getting his own ball, chasing, tackling, smothering, 1 percenters aplenty. Uses the ball well and adds a touch of class. Definitely reenergised by his move to the Pies and improving every week. Possibly playing the best footy of his career.

We are definitely ahead in the trade stakes this year.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 11:22 am

welcome aboard.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 11:22 am

Have always been happy with this trade. He was showing signs in pre-season of his potential leadership capabilities and it is now on show in the games.

When we get some more skills in the back half Varcoe could be even more dangerous nearer to goals - but his ability to read the game is top rate and now he is doing he little things it has brought his game up to new levels Smile

His class and poise is what we need more of to be a genuine challenger for the flag!

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 11:23 am

That's a good call. History says consistency isn't his strong suit but if we can have him more '' on '' than not, we are easily a better team.

I reckon he is finally accepting that he is a leader in this team and his actions influence a lot of what happens next out there. At the cats, he was surrounded by leaders and he was just dragged along for the ride.
dalyc Scorpio

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 12:21 pm

Credit to Bucks and the ass coaches. They've obviously raised the expectations of how he can play.

Last edited by dalyc on Sat Jul 04, 2015 12:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
themonk 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 12:23 pm

Shame he's reported, we gonna miss him against Port Crying or Very sad

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 12:28 pm

What kind of food do you like?
Albert Parker 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 12:38 pm

themonk wrote:

I'd be staggered if he got pinged. Compare it to what Tippett got one week for.
Rioli ducked his head, perhaps bracing for impact, but there was little Varcoe could do. I simply think the umpire reported him to justify paying a free kick that in my opinion wasn't justified.

Varcoe has been a really pleasant surprise for me too. One I'll stand up and say I was dead wrong about if he maintains this kind of intensity and form.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 12:42 pm

themonk wrote:

If Franklin and Tippett got a week, then Varcoe should get an apology.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 12:52 pm

I'm with the OP. Didn't see the sense in recruiting him. But he has been better than I thought he would be. Even inspiring some of the youngsters with his 2nd & 3rd efforts.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 1:30 pm

Always thought he was an elite talent, consistency of effort being his downfall. He's been very good for us

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 1:40 pm

I loved when he put his body on the line to smother last night and I think Ling said "I never saw him do THAT at Geelong".
skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 2:47 pm

Ripper bloke with a cheeky sense of humour. Spoke to him at the club not long ago. His mum is from Townsville (well Ingham to be precise, just up the road). His intensity at the ball and 1%s are really team lifting, hard at it and a great leader for the young guys. Great trade get.
Deja Vu 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 2:58 pm

When we got him I didn't think we'd be getting a hardnut, but he's one tough SOB

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 3:13 pm

I wasn't very pleased with our decision to recruit Varcoe to the club initially but he's proven me wrong immensely and surprised me for that matter.

His hardness at the contest and his poise and composure really stands out at the moment and he's embracing the opportunity that Collingwood has given him.

In regards to being reported it would be outrageous if he got rubbed out considering Rioli ducked his head for a free kick in the first place.