Feminism

Users browsing this topic:0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 2 Guests

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 12, 13, 14  Next

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 6:59 pm

Well, this is going well already!

Hmm. I rode motor bikes as a kid, first cos I liked a guy who did, then I ditched him, bought a bike, then I did an apprenticeship so I could fix it and meet Peter Brock. Sold the bike, bought a rescue horse, had a cup of coffee and a good old chat with Brocky when he came into GMH one day (still a highlight of my life! My boss arranged it, he was awesome, he used to run the HDT)

Now, well I've been scrubbing walls and tiles all day, went to Bunnings today, looking like something the cat threw up, accidentally bought myself a really cool hammock swing thing that was on special! The dilemma, do I go home and get the ute? Hmm, no lovely guy from Bunnings gets a trolley, loads the 40kg box, waits while I go to the loo, shows me where the things I was meant to get from Bunnings for hubby were, pushed the trolley to the checkout, scans the stuff for me, I pay, he pushes the trolley to my car in the far corner of the car park, where no one else parks, waits while I put the roof down, and very carefully, loads the box into my car without scratching anything! And then he waves and takes the trolley back inside for me!

Hmm.

You can stick this feminist thing where the sun don't shine! Just call me mam!

Nice rant but is not connected to the thread title.

Mate if you think that's a rant, your missus must be the quiet type!

No rant, it was pure bliss! Now open the door for me, I'll say thankyou!

Women Rolling Eyes

Seriously though, look at the definition I've posted & tell me what is wrong, bad or something you disagree with there.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 7:00 pm

I've never had a problem with it!

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 7:10 pm

I'm sure every fanatical hate group has a nice, comfy sounding definition. Thing is none of that is what feminism actually does. You need to educate yourself, I suggest you start with Karen Straughn, she's posted many videos about feminism and shows a rationality and civility that I find it very hard to maintain in the face of shrill criticism when this issue comes up.

Not supportive Article about her: http://theflounce.com/anti-feminist-karen-straughan-give-shit/

Youtube video launching point: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vp8tToFv-bA&index=1&list=PLbA7X2U_AzlKZhRkaHH-cJgRq9azNygpV

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 7:27 pm

Well I can tell you one thing is hasn't reached Uganda that's for sure!!! Everything here except standing around doing nothing is " women's work"

And the mainly yank God botherers are over here creating havoc - did you know circumcision will prevent AIDS Shocked

That is what they are " teaching" Ugandans - and as a consequence the circumcision rates for men of all ages has skyrocketed!!

Strangely enough HIV infection rates have not decreased Rolling Eyes

They should just buggar off back to la la land Twisted Evil

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 7:45 pm

Wokko, as you're aware, I do have some reservations about certain aspects of certain strains of feminist thought and activism. But to call feminists en masse a "hate group" is terribly jaundiced and misguided, I feel.

The fact is, we live in a gendered society. Even Skids' experience demonstrates that. I don't think anyone could say that men and women are treated equally in every respect in our society, even if equality has been achieved in many areas. That inequality reduces opportunities, perpetuates gender roles and stereotypes and leads to conditions in which, for instance, teenage girls are fed the idea that their worth is based on their appearance, or males are shamed for expressing emotions.

There are two common responses to that inequality: one is to say that it's not that much of a big deal or that it's just the natural way of things; the other is to work to reduce it. Feminists simply belong to the latter camp. For all the stupid things done in their name, they don't all deserve to be tarred with the same brush.

The majority of feminists are intelligent and thoughtful people. If there was no feminism, our society would be in a much worse place than it is now.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 7:59 pm

Wokko wrote:
I'm sure every fanatical hate group has a nice, comfy sounding definition. ........

Not supportive Article about her: http://theflounce.com/anti-feminist-karen-straughan-give-shit/

Youtube video launching point: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vp8tToFv-bA&index=1&list=PLbA7X2U_AzlKZhRkaHH-cJgRq9azNygpV

If you start with an opening sentence like that then your view point is tainted & prejudiced. If that's your premise then it logically follows your conclusion will be wrong too.

Too much listening to 3AW & reading the Herald Sun reading can make you deaf & blind.

http://www.redletterpress.org/feminism101.html

"...As with every social movement, feminism encompasses a variety of political tendencies. There are three main types of feminism: socialist, reformist, and radical/separatist...."

There are different forms of feminism & the one label that feminism is toxic just doesn't make sense - it's far too generalist. What is toxic are the many mens groups who deny the reality of positions of women like you did perhaps inadvertently & earlier when saying that the murder of women & children has nothing to do with feminism.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 8:03 pm

Morrigu wrote:
Well I can tell you one thing is hasn't reached Uganda that's for sure!!! Everything here except standing around doing nothing is " women's work"

......:

Yeah well us men have a lot to do: we need to think, talk, smoke, drink coffee, gossip, like what's your problem here Wink

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 8:38 pm

feminism. A movement that achieved a lot way back when. Is it still relevant now and what do you do with someone who describes themselves as a feminist in a day and age when male and female have legislated equal rights?

Meh.

For me, I don't call myself a feminist. I threatened to break the jaw of a 15 year old boy who was being a smartarse toward a female telling to to "make me a sandwich" on pure principle. (The threat was enough to focus his attention, I didn't need to follow through much as I wanted to)

I raised my daughter to believe the only limits she had were the ones she set herself. She was raised with a male doing the cooking cleaning and housework, me. She played with dolls because she liked them. She also played cricket and roller hockey against the boys in the street and played footy against men in a Nicks game at Vic Park a few years back and asked for no quarter. She doesn't have any hangups, she goes forward believing she and men are equal and different and that's how it should work.

So for me feminism is a non issue unless I run into some dickwad who thinks that women are less than men. Happens rarely.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 9:05 pm

What is toxic are the many mens groups who deny the reality of positions of women like you did perhaps inadvertently & earlier when saying that the murder of women & children has nothing to do with feminism.

It's a fair discussion to have, though.

Let me offer an analogy: the recent church shootings in America were clearly racially motivated. Like Jon Stewart, you could say that they occurred primarily as a function of cultural racism. But what if a white man kills a black man in the street and steals his wallet? What if a white man kills his black wife in a fit of rage after discovering that she has been unfaithful? What if a white gangster kills a black rival? Are these racial crimes?

By the same token, I don't think that you could necessarily say that a given incident of male-on-female domestic violence (or murder) is a function of cultural misogyny. I don't think the majority of perpetrators are motivated by a general hatred of women or belief in the superiority of men. That being the case, are these phenomena feminist issues per se? Is advocating for women's rights going to reduce the incidence of these crimes, or do they more or less occur independent of the cultural zeitgeist, in the same way all prohibited violent acts occur?

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 11:02 pm

Fat ungrateful lesbians.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 11:56 pm

Fat ungrateful lesbians.

Hahahahaha

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 11:59 pm

What's your sign?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 1:27 am

Fat ungrateful lesbians.

Every comment like that just goes to show why we still need feminism.

Nick - Pie Man 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 9:20 am

I cannot understand why we get such ridiculously shrill & emotive responses from people - mystifying.

Insecurity's a funny thing.

Men - don't rape women ok?

OH MY GOD NOT ALL MEN ARE RAPISTS AND DONT FORGET MEN ARE RAPED AS WELL SOMETIMES BY WOMEN YOU DONT WANT EQUAL RIGHTS YOU JUST HATE MEN WHAT ABOUT THOSE MEN THAT ARE HURT SOMETIMES BY WOMEN THAT DO VARIOUS THINGS YOU MAN HATER WHY CANT I GET A GIRLFRIEND

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 9:59 am

Nick - Pie Man wrote:

I cannot understand why we get such ridiculously shrill & emotive responses from people - mystifying.

Insecurity's a funny thing.

Men - don't rape women ok?

OH MY GOD NOT ALL MEN ARE RAPISTS AND DONT FORGET MEN ARE RAPED AS WELL SOMETIMES BY WOMEN YOU DONT WANT EQUAL RIGHTS YOU JUST HATE MEN WHAT ABOUT THOSE MEN THAT ARE HURT SOMETIMES BY WOMEN THAT DO VARIOUS THINGS YOU MAN HATER WHY CANT I GET A GIRLFRIEND

Early morning angry pill?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 12, 13, 14  Next
Page 2 of 14