Post match. Pies down Giants - All comments please.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:23 pm

Sir Alan of Didak wrote:
Nice write-up Boot, but I have to disagree with you on one point...Adam Treloar. I reckon he's the best of the GWS youngsters and the most Pendlebury-like player in the league...aside form the great man himself. A complete player, both inside and out. If we could land him, I for one would be very happy. No way in the world GWS will let this bloke walk...

Yes I too was very surprised at Boot's comments regarding Treloar. I thought he tried his guts out and accumilated decent figures. I also tend to agree with you that he will most probably remain with GWS.

bkelly123 

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:00 pm

Sir Alan of Didak wrote:
Nice write-up Boot, but I have to disagree with you on one point...Adam Treloar. I reckon he's the best of the GWS youngsters and the most Pendlebury-like player in the league...aside form the great man himself. A complete player, both inside and out. If we could land him, I for one would be very happy. No way in the world GWS will let this bloke walk...

Yes I too was very surprised at Boot's comments regarding Treloar. I thought he tried his guts out and accumilated decent figures. I also tend to agree with you that he will most probably remain with GWS.

Who do you think are the youngsters that we should aim to recruit this year?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:34 pm

Grundy crap game, hardly sighted. Didn't trouble the stats sheet.

Exactly, if the selectors are fair dinkum he won't be playing this weekend.

Same goes for Blair. Rolling Eyes
Bucks2014 

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:47 pm

Nice to see some praise for Varcoe, I was one against the recruitment of him but he has been fantastic all year. Happy to eat humble Pie, as when ever he gets the pill, I feel the same as when Pendles does, something good will happen, clever player.

Fas seems to be one of those like Blair where there isn't a lot of love for him, thought again he was really good. Was anyone actually there and seeing our delivery to the forwards especially in the first half?

Goldy gave up 8 goals give it a rest. They only kicked 11, yeah he was caught out a couple of times but never stopped trying. Important player for us.

Taylor I don't think I've been critical on here of his disposal but I have been in my head and it's clear he has been working hard on it. A couple of bad turnovers but a fantastic game from the kid.

Don't know why but i'm not surprised the way Crisp goes about it, this is where I think we have had a massive win, our recruiting last year has been great in our development as a team and we haven't even seen Greenwood as yet.

Brown made me smile all day, just really happy for him to be out there doing what he does best, shutting down the best forward. Played every game this year after only playing 3 last year. Don't undersell how important this guy is.

Marley always been one of my favorites, he was heavily criticised there for awhile and they were saying all he wanted to do was wrestle etc, imagine the sledging and where his head would've been after the assault and people calling for him to be sacked or worse to be locked away. That's gone now and we are seeing terrific footy from Marley this year.

Very rarely do we see that 15 metre kick sideways from our kick outs, we only do it when there is nothing else. Last year we were doing it from nearly every kick out. This was a part of our game that frustrated me the most last year.

Loving that other than the drug saga for us, nothing else seems to be a problem, obviously the culture at the club is very good. Bucks deserves a lot of praise in what he has done to our great club.

Only negative for me was Seedy, lucky to get a game yesterday and didn't show he deserved the recall. After watching the replay, wondering if it's because he really is just an outside player, does not appear to like getting the ball for himself, preferring to hang back, almost looking like giving up.

Injuries aside for the GWS, believe we still had their measure, I was only worried for the first part of the second quarter where we let them play uncontested fast footy.

Loved our last quarter, Clokey owes Jamie a beer or a coffee, fed him beautifully in that last.

We are still awhile away, but who knows get Reidy back, as well as Greenwood and Scharenberg to play we might after all play finals.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:31 pm

bkelly123 wrote:
Who do you think are the youngsters that we should aim to recruit this year?

My "young recruits" into the senior team would come from Abbott, Manteit, Goodyear, Maynard, Sharenberg, Freeman, Gault, Moore, Marsh and Cox. The next batch of youngsters I would like will have to come from the National draft.
Who we should recruit are 2-3 players in the 22 - 24 year range who have had some AFL/VFL experience and can add instant depth and replacement for injured players but who don't need player developing right from the start.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 3:17 pm

Yet another vexed selection quandry... but neither should play this weekend. Club needs to make a stand!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 3:41 pm

Yet another vexed selection quandry... but neither should play this weekend. Club needs to make a stand!

The whole damn team needs to take a good hard look at themselves. None of them should play this week!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 4:55 pm

think better wrote:

The whole damn team needs to take a good hard look at themselves. None of them should play this week!

i sure as hell won't be turning up.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 4:59 pm

think better wrote:

None of us turning up this weekend might be just the message the club needs.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:09 pm

And... in a show of solidarity... we should not post on this forum next week either. Give Donny and the Mods a spell.

Lol; Donny and the Mods - what a great name for a 60s band...

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:54 pm

Adams yesterday showed how important he is to our Side
SteveH67 

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:58 pm

I hope fans don't get too carried away with the win on the weekend.

The Giants were competitive for 3qtrs, but the number of injuries they had during the game caught up with them in the final qtr. Hence the score blew out.

We still make enough mistakes, that Bucks will know we have huge improvement to be made, if we hope to beat the Dockers and Hawks, in the first two games after the bye.

At least, we are in a good position to play finals this year.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 6:31 pm

Very Happy How good was Pendle's goal! Jumped out of my seat!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:05 pm

And... in a show of solidarity... we should not post on this forum next week either. Give Donny and the Mods a spell.

Lol; Donny and the Mods - what a great name for a 60s band...

Laughing Laughing

I've had enough of the selection committee, sure as hell I'm not going this week.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2015 3:21 pm

Only saw the replay yesterday, top win, fantastic!

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 9 of 11