How a drinker trains for a marathon.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 15, 16, 17  Next

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:31 pm

Another good 10 days. On-site now and the 5 mids I had last night are the only beers I've had since Wednesday. I've done 55 k's and been really good with what I've been eating.
The trip to the Goldy is booked. Get there Thursday night the 30th of June, the marathon is the 3rd of July, my 49th birthday the day after. Couple of days on the goldy then its off to Nimbin for 1 night, Coffs Harbour for 2 nights on our way to Sydney. Get there for the Pies v GWS game and also a Doggies NRL game before heading back to Perth.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:40 pm

This is probably a really fkn stupid question, but why do you do it? Confused

You seem to be on a yo yo routine, you'll misbehave with the food and booze for a while, then go into training mode and work like a $2 hooker next to an army base for a while, then repeat the cycle.

Do you like running or do you like the self competition and buzz of doing the marathons or are you just a closet masochist?

I used to yo yo with trying to get fit but decided I CBF. If genetics works I've got 25 years min from here regardless of what i do, so I'm doing what I want.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 9:22 pm

Even when I'm hitting the piss hard, I still run. I have to or I'll blow out. I'm one of those body types that puts a kilo on just looking at a piece of cake.
I really do enjoy running, pushing myself. I get a buzz out of running with blokes 10 - 20 years younger than me.
I've always liked collecting medals (I have every Collingwood Social club badge from 1960) and I've got 18 half marathon ones (2 from the USA) and 2 Marathon ones. Really looking forward to this one, more so the next on the GC a few days after my 50th.

I have cut back quite a bit on the grog (as he swills a stubby) the last few months and I plan to keep it that way for this one. Really want to be closer to 3:45 than 4 hours this time, I know I can do it.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 9:47 pm

Dude, if you enjoy it more power to you. I get the competitive bit, I just can't maintain that mindset and I don't like running very much, even though I used to be half good at it.

Goodonya, keep at it and keep the updates coming.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 9:53 am

Fly out day today and it's been my biggest week on the track since recovering from my back injury.
Covered just over 57 k's this swing and apart from last night (about 10 Coopers milds & 1 Dark 'n Stormy) it's been a quiet week on the drink.
Haven't weighed in this week but I'm guessing the scales will have me around 95kg going by how the pants feel a bit looser.

I'll have a few tonight & really looking forward to packing the bong when I get home around 6 pm. I've been up since 2:15 so it'll be an early night.

Up early tomorrow for a 6-8k sift sand run along Mullaloo beach 👍

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 9:56 pm

So u like to gulp

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:00 pm

Interesting deduction. No I do not gulp. Do you? I spend all my time online.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:01 pm

Gilp

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:21 pm

Did the soft sand run on Saturday, all good.
Had a pretty big day on the turps & the billy yesterday, just about to set off on a 14k run. The way I'm feeling at the moment, I'd rather be cutting me knob off with a blunt hacksaw blade..... I'll see how it goes.... stay tuned.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:37 pm

Well, that was as horrible as I expected!

13.75k in 1:18:09 a pace of 5:41/km. Not bad considering. The sun was blazing and the humidity around 70% as I trudged West along Hepburn Ave. Sweating profusely, I steadily built up to a 5:30 pace, feeling uncomfortable for the first 4k. I leave some of last nights dinner behind some bushes, then start to climb the first hill.
At the 5k mark I turn South and at last, a slight cross/headwind starts to give me a bit of a cooling effect. I get a second wind and run the next 3k down Marmion Ave at around 5:20 pace.
That all changes when I get to Warwick Rd and start the uphill journey all the way home. My pace drops, heart rate picks up & I'm fangin' for a drink! There's a Shell servo about 3k up the road.
I stop at the tap out the front, run cold water over my head and gulp down about half a litre. there's about 4k to go.
The last few k's weren't pretty, but we're done Smile

Straight out the back and plunge into the pool.... noice!

Big thunderstorm going over now.

Hmmm..... almost beer o'clock Wink

King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 5:12 pm

Nothing much to add to this thread personally........

Your updates make me smile Skids. Smile
Keep 'em comin'!

Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:34 am

Thought I'd kick off OZ day with a quick run around the lake. 5.06km in 26:05, avg pace 5:09min/km. Pretty solid after running the long one yesterday.

Taking the dog down the beach now, then it'll be some Weet Bix for brekky and start organising the chops 'n beers Wink

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 2:32 pm

Well, it's been a tough last few days.
Back at work and did my first run since Australia Day (recovery time is getting longer & longer!) last night.
I've got a 7.5k loop through the scrub around the airport. Punched it out @ 5:19min/km pace and ferg, am I feeling it today Confused
Got demons in my head at the moment, the mind plays funny tricks on you when you're running. I only had 3 Coopers Milds and was asleep by 10pm.
Up at 4 this morning, it's usually 4:30 but I've got a fergen elephant in the donga next to me this swing Evil or Very Mad
It's guna be a real slow 6k tonight then a steady 14k tomorrow, hope this cloud hangs around. It's a touch humid but only mid 30's today.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 9:30 am

The last 2 days have been good Very Happy

Did the slow 6k on Sunday night at 5:55min/km pace. Was warm with a sprinkling of rain just to get that humidity right up there. Only gad 3 beers and a bit of salad for dinner.
Last night the 14k went pretty good too. Ran a new random route through the scrub, crossed Great Northern Hwy, then headed back to camp. 2 dumps, 1 at 5k, the other at 10k. Plenty of dunny roll in the hydration back pack this time so was able to keep my shorts on Smile .
Had a boiled egg & salad with just the 1 beer for dinner. Feeling pretty good today. Tonight will just be a 30min weights session. Runs on Wednesday & Thursday nights to round out the swing.

I really need to cut down on the all day drinking sessions at home, will give it a decent crack this week..... maybe

Wink

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:44 pm

Feeling fresh and ready for a fast 7.5k around the airport tonight!
Did some weights and went into the mess fir a feed, big mistake, the food was shit! WTF do they put in meatloaf?!?
Had 6 coopers mild while I made the Batman pinny sing in the wetty, geez I atill love pinball machines!

Food intake has been good this swing (except for that groul last nite ... yuk!)
Lotsa salads and plenty of water, only around a dozen beers this week too.

Feeling good Smile

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 7 of 17