How a drinker trains for a marathon.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17  Next

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 10:11 pm

16k in just under an hour and a half tonight. Had a tin if tuna for dinner and washing it down with a stubby of 150 lashes. Mmmmm beer is so bloody delicious!
Cold, dark and spooky out inthe bush tonight. That warm shower felt so good.

8 weeks until the marathon and I'm feeling pretty darn good 😊

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 9:27 pm

8k tonight and it was one of those runs that can't end quick enough. Ate too many peanuts during the day and my guts felt bloated, couldn't get into a rythm at all & just felt crappy in general. Had 8 beers and not much sleep last night which wouldn't have helped.

Last night was a good 14k.

Food intake was off today. I was working mainly in and around offices that have smoko rooms which are stocked with biscuits and all other sorts of crap. I'm a dead set sucker for shortbread creams, had 6 or 7 plus a couple of delicious apricot filled pastry things that were on top of the pie warmer in the main admin building.

AFD today and I'll be throwin' zzzz's around by 7.30 i reckon.

1 more day on site then I'm outa here for 5 weeks Smile , back for one then out for another 3. 1 week at work out of the next 9..... BOOM!

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 11:37 am

Slept like a log last night Smile
Feeling a million bucks today, AFD + 8hrs sleep and I'm ready for a good run tonight.
Will eat a lot better today. I've packed a rice dish, heaps of raw broccoli, some tuna and fruit for the day. Will be a 15k minimum run this arvo. Will get to the fly out bbq late so only have 2 or 3 mids.
Home by 9.30am tomorrow and take Kelly to the hospital for her op. Just me and the dog at home for a few nights.

Geez, the Pies better get up this week, I need a win.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 4:37 pm

Good luck to you the missus the dog and the pies!

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2016 1:56 am

Onya TP..... appreciated Smile

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 11:47 pm

Saturday morning was a 5am, 6k soft sand run in the pouring rain and howling wind. Pretty pissy day in the end.
Today was 12k road run, strong breeze around lunch time. 4 mid strengths only today.

Tomorrow it's a 30k slow pace (5.30 - 5.45min/km). 6am start, up about 4.30 eat and get organised. Pack 5 gels, 2 litres of water and 23 sheets of kleenex soft tissue in the pack.

150km Already this month. HBF half marathon next Sunday.

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 8:13 am

U count the toilet paper?!

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 11:32 am

U count the toilet paper?!

No Laughing Laughing And I didn't need it today anyway.

That, Nicksters, was my best training rune ever!

30k in 2:46:36, average pace of 5:33 min/km. My fastest k's in order were; 29th (5:11), 28th (5:15), 27th (5:22), 12th & 16th (5:22).

Negative split with the second 15k in 1:22:04 (first 15k 1:24:32).

Got up at 4.35am. Had a coffee and an energy bar plus 2 deposits to the loo. Was on the road at 5.23am. Had Gels at ; 5k, 11k, 17k & 24k.

Feeling strong! Smile

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 12:22 pm

Wow, well done, I don't know how u do it

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2016 8:34 pm

Funny yesterday. I must of had the 'runners high'. Felt like I could of run another 30k and everyone was asking me if I was on some pingas or something yesterday arvo.

Well it all came crashing down when I got out of bed this morning! Stiff as a board!

Done a couple of 2k walks with Pete today, 3hrs session at the tattoo shop.

The drinking has really slowed up the last month or so, well, except for a big one watching the Pies destroy Brisbane.

With only a bit over 6 weeks to go, having to do all this home duties stuff and running around dropping off, picking up kids etc, I think that'll be the norm until Marathon day.

Really pumped for a PB in this half on Sunday and then smashing the marathon.

12k soft sand run early tomorrow.

All I've eaten today is; the big bowl of Nutri Grain and A big bowl of Chicken n veg soup that Kellys mum made, with 2 bits of toast.

Sharnees cooking a spag and I've got a dozen oysters I just picked up to smash right now. BOOM!

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2016 9:21 pm

Oysters. YUCK.

fkn horrible little pus bags, can't stand them.

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2016 9:56 pm

Yum, love oysters!

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 1:37 pm

Yum, love oysters!

I ate 100 once on a Sydney harbour cruise all you can eat/drink deal.
My favourite food Cool

Just finished a 10k soft sand run from Mullaloo to Hillarys and back. I am dead set flying at the minute, fastest 2k's were the last 2 at 6min/k pace.
My average on the sand runs is usually 7:15 - 8:45 per k, depending on just how boggy it is.
The body, whilst a little stiff, is feeling great Cool

Now it's off shopping then housework. Foxtel man just put the extra point in our room for Kelly, it's all happening Exclamation

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 1:41 pm

But you can still communicate with me.

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 7:28 pm

Yum, love oysters!

I ate 100 once on a Sydney harbour cruise all you can eat/drink deal.
My favourite food Cool

Do you actually chew them though? I'm told you aren't supposed to chew them, just swallow them, but in that case I really don't get how people can like them.

I tried one around Xmas, cooked kilpatrick. Thought I'd give it a go to test if I still thought they were horrible, and they were. My stomach had involuntary heaves for about 30 minutes afterward while I fought the urge to vomit.

My son and daughter took one look at the bloke they know has cast iron guts and couldn't have been convinced to try them at gunpoint.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 13 of 17